We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
446
74
25
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
74
25
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuspension bridgeprivate beachhorseback ridinghowler monkeysbeach barclamsboogie boardswaves crashingtortillasclose to natureplunge poolswinging bedrainy seasonfour seasonsopen airday bedcreepy crawlies
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

It's been a long time since I've been at resort I haven't wanted to leave. But it happened to me a Morgan's Rock.

The Good:
- The Staff - From booking, Andrea was incredibly helpful. Once we arrived, everything was set-up for our ease. And the staff was accommodating to anything we needed.

- The Location - Yes, it is a bit of trek to get to. But once you are there, you are completely cut off from the hustle & bustle of the world. We were truly able to to relax.

- The Bungalow & Villa's - They are completely designed to blend with the environment. Designed with a combination of wood and screens, you feel like you are in nature at all times, yet still amidst luxury. Sometime's it was hard to find a reason to leave our villa.

- The Beach - Morgan's Rock has a beautiful private beach complete with cabana's with hammocks and beach chairs. Along with the beach bar and grill, you are never wanting for anything
- The activities - you can really do anything at Morgan's rock. From surfing, to snorkeling, to horseback riding or learning about the nature or farm. And all activities are based around your schedule and when you want to go.

The Less Good
- It's Expensive. It is. This is not a cheap resort. but it's worth it. Perhaps consider it for an special get away, honeymoon, anniversary, bachelorette weekend. You will not regret it.
- Transportation. This is linked to the above. The resort charges a ridiculously high pick up fee from Granada or Managua. Private cars are less than half the price and if you're adventurous, the local chicken bus is mere dollars.

- The Food - the food was okay. But for the price and the fact that there is nothing else around. I needed it to be amazing.

All in all, I loved my time here and I would go back in an instant if the opportunity presented it self. I definitely recommend it if you're going to Nicaragua.

Room Tip: Beach View Room w/ Pool is a must
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JaceyRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

After a crazy busy six months, our family needed to get away. There couldn't have been a better spot for us. The grounds are pristine yet rugged, and the rooms are breathtakingly simple.
We surfed, did yoga, laid in hammocks, mountain biked and road horses. Our boys, 12 and 14 loved the freedom they had there, and as a family, we were able to disconnect to reconnect. Great food, great service, and an all around special place

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Casey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

For what they offer, it's far too expensive! The rooms are infested with bugs, scorpions especially. We've been to hotels in the area for much better prices that offer more luxury, more activities, more wellness for the same price. Everything is long walking, so if you are an elderly person or have some handicap, they are not equipped for that. They are so far away of everything, if you have a medical emergency, you're in trouble. The food they offer is mediocre at best, and they neither have a good selection of beer nor wine. This hotel is money badly spent. The staff was friendly, but all staff are nice in Nicaragua. Activities here are expensive, and walking to the beach is a hike. We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: don't bother,
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

We visited with two small kids and oh my, I had to be dragged away kicking and screaming. Private beach is stunning, with the best cabanas complete with both hammocks and lounge chairs. Pleasantly surprised the food and drinks onsite were so reasonably priced. Breakfast on the Farm was one of our favorite experiences of the trip - if you have small kids (or even if you don't!) this is a must do. Staff was exceptional. I can't say enough good things about our time at Morgan's Rock.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank JJJHHH444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

This is an incredibly beautiful resort, set on an extensive private reserve. It's definitely worth paying extra for a room with an ocean view. The beds are extremely comfortable, and to awake to waves crashing and the ocean stretching out before you is a wonderful experience. There is a general pool by the restaurant, that is clean and refreshing. The staff are very attentive and friendly, really tending to anything you could want. The tours are also great - we did the Monkey Quest and saw a sloth, howler monkeys, many birds, butterflies and iguana in a beautiful jungle setting. We also rode horses along the beach - the horses are very well cared for.
My only caveat is that it would be a shame if this was your only experience in Nicaragua. The resort is fairly removed, and by virtue of the high standard of the resort, offers a sanitized experience - you could be in Maui or such. Staying elsewhere in addition to the resort would enable you to see more of how local people really live, and expose you the warmth and diversity of this beautiful country and it's lovely people.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaAndKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews