We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other traveller has booked this property
A room with a view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A room with a view
Views to the north Dining to kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
A room with a view
Views to the north
Dining to kitchen
Kitchen to dining and lounge
A cosy fire
The front bedroom
Views to the north from 80 metres!
Where Stroudover sits...
Romantic piggies
Game terrine
White asparagus soup garnish
My favourite raviolo
...or perhaps yabby sausage?
The only way to eat venison
Pork main course
Broken egg
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bemboka, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
South-35
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 6 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Great day learning to make sausages. Patrick was very knowledgeable and did not hesitate to share tips and his experience. We came home with some very delicious sausages and a feeling of satisfaction. Looking forward to creating more. The workshop was excellent value.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2018
Thank you for your review and I'm pleased your sausages were delicious.
I hope I can share some more of my knowledge in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bungendor...
Queanbeyan, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, wonderful experience, excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Patrick is a wonderful host and teacher. We three had a great day learning the craft of sausage making right from the cutting of the meat and preparing the spices to filling the sausage cases. The cottage is surrounded by great mountain vistas and the working kitchen easy to access. Patrick is good at directing so it means that your hands do the work in the sausage making process with his guidance. Can't wait to get back for another workshop.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Allan it was a fun weekend...and you can link sausages. I look forward to teaching you more of the dark arts...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
55rrowe
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing dog-friendly stay, with excellent hosts and great food”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is set in beautiful surroundings with very friendly hosts. Our dogs loved being able to run in the securely-fenced paddock.

The skies were clear at night, showing lots of stars and the Milky Way. What better place for Patrick's soft cheese workshop, which is an excellent introduction to cheese making from an experienced trainer, who is funny, and very generous with his knowledge.

We also had the gourmet dinner, which was magnificent. Patrick created a great atmosphere as the backdrop to serving four delicious courses, providing our taste buds with surprise after culinary surprise—a delicious, exquisitely cooked meal.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do hope to see you all again...where your stools will await!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, awesome host and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I came here for a weekend away with another couple and our three dogs.

House: well-presented with a fully equipped kitchen, fantastic woodstove and comfortable beds. You get the feeling that everything has been thought of and the host, Patrick, had even prepared electric blankets for us.

Food: We ordered the breakfast hamper which was delightful and well worth the money. Each item was locally sourced and made on site, including award-winning jams. Stand-outs were the apple juice, speck bacon, quark and peach yoghurt.

We ordered the three course meal which was undoubtedly one of the best meals in our lifetimes - even better than a lot of hatted restaurants. Patrick served us so nicely and explained the ingredients and how certain dishes were made. Incredible attention to detail and divine flavours.

Dogs: there was plenty of space for our puppers to run around and the whole area was well fenced. They were allowed indoors and additionally got to play with Patrick’s friendly dogs too!

Thank you very much for your outstanding hospitality, Patrick. See you again for our next visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review Megan. I hope to see you all back here again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WENDY S
1 review
“Peaceful country getaway”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Nestled in dairy cattle country in the foothills of the NSW Southern Highlands, this is the perfect retreat for those who want to get away from the hustle-bustle of city living. Our host, Patrick, made us feel so welcome, we'd readily visit again. A bespoke dinner and cheese making mini-course were added extras that made our time complete.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you for your lovely review Wendy, we hope to see you at Stroudover again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanita_E...
Corlette, Australia
1 review
“Amazing country setting, very relaxing, pet-friendly and highly recommended!”
Reviewed 7 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Amazing setting, beautiful landscape, very comfortable and well-appointed cottage, and friendly hosts (including the dogs). And, did I mention the food? Excellent and highly recommended! A great location with a comfortable drive to the coast, nature walks, country shops and beautiful scenery driving through the hills and valleys. We look forward to our return visit to learn more about cheese making from Patrick and Heike.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2018
Thank you Juanita for your review. We look forward to your return...start making a to do cheese list!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R
1 review
“A Euphoric Experience”
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I shouted my husband and I and 2 great friends a 7 course dinner late last year for our Christmas party. We all decided afterwards that it was the greatestl excursion into gastronomic pleasure that any of us have ever experienced.
It was wonderful to be able to fall into our comfortable beds which were conveniently situated at a very short distance from the table, and then to wake the next morning to the gorgeous view, already reminiscing about The Meal while we somehow managed to devour the delectable contents in the breakfast hamper. All the while our dogs played outside in complete safety and so everybody was content!
Patrick is a wizard of a chef, engaging all of your senses, building anticipation and then playing with your expectations before exceeding them completely.
I cannot recommend this experience highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2018
Many thanks for your wonderful review Rachel. I certainly look forward to "The Meal", Part 2!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing