We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forest Walks Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheffield Motor Inn(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kentish Hills Retreat(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel Motel(Riverside)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auldington(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamar River Villas(Riverside)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
112
12
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
12
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguided walkwestern tiersvenisontasmanian experienceself sustainingdelicious meallocal ingredientsworld heritagesolar panelsthis wonderful placeincredible knowledgehome grownvegetable gardenmaster chefresident ducksbooked nightspeace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The reviews that talk about being a bit conscious about your use of electricity and the sustainable approach of this environmentally aware couple are absolutely true. If you want starched sheets and high end hotel accommodation then stick with the run of the mill. However, as a seasoned traveller, I have to say that the experience of Forrest Walk Lodge is incomparable. The natural, relaxed, no fuss approach coupled with the opportunity to explore natural unspoiled Forrest ( no safety fences here folks!) was actually a liberating experience. Sean is an exceptional cook and and both are wonderful hosts. This is the sort of experience that I hope still exists when our children are ready to tour this incredible state.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We bought a voucher for a two night stay in the deluxe room, which is slightly larger and at the end of the building, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had dinner one night, along with a number of other guests. The food was delicious and served on platters for the seven of us to share. We really wouldn't have wanted any more guests at the table or there would have been little space, but it was ok for this number and the others were pleasant dinner companions. The cooked breakfast was just eggs, which is fine for those who like eggs, and there is home made bread, jams and muesli for others.

The rooms don't have any electrical appliances, but there is a shared area. It would,have been nice to have water glasses in our room, even though there were some in the shared area. When we asked, Rosemary was happy to give us eating and drinking utensils for the picnic dinner we had bought locally for our second night. The rooms were really very nice.

We spent time walking and touring around the local area, and found plenty to do even though the weather was not really suited to climbing the local peaks.

We would recommend the lodge (and have done so already).

Room Tip: The deluxe room is larger and at the end of the building, but costs more.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed a couple of nights here. The lodge is eco-friendly so there is no excess wastage of electricity. for that reason there was no hairdryer, iron or tea making facilities provided in the room. But the hosts provided tea and coffee in the lounge area and if you needed anything else, it was made available. Nor air conditioning and it was hot while we stayed. But opening the windows for cross current cooled the rooms down nicely for sleep. We ate in both nights. ocean trout, roast lamb, beans and mash with home made icecream and sorbet for the 1st night. prawns, roast venison with potatoes and brocolli and a homemade cake with cherries the 2nd night. My husband also took tuition in fly fishing from local guide Paul which Rosemary scrambled to organise after it was booked but then not available when we arrived. The lodge feels like staying at a friends house. When you're staying at an eco-lodge it makes no sense to expect a change of linen, towels every day! A bit pricey for a family to stay and eat in. The food was good but at $50 per head it was obviously convenience that made us stay in both nights to eat. But it helps the owners run a sustainable establishment. Just a short drive from Meander and Deloraine.

Room Tip: every room is beautiful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adelaide69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our room, was clean and the bed comfortable, no drinking tumblers for water, no jug for a cup of tea, no hair dryer. In our four days stay the bin was never emptied and was overflowing by the time we left. The sheets were never changed. The cook is not a chef he is the owner who is a self taught cook who wears chef's clothes. The mash potatoes we had hot on the first night hot were served up cold on the third night. They tasted like paste on the first night and by the third night there was no improvement. Breakfast eggs that were supposed to be poached, were steamed and tasted like rubber. The cook was selective with who he gave mushrooms to, we had the cheapest room $160 a night, and on the last morning were told there were no mushrooms left, I asked for uncooked tomatoes, but the tomatoes came out cooked swimming in oil. When other guests arrived at the breakfast table they were given mushrooms. (so it would seem he did have mushrooms) On another occasion the cook/owner brought my breakfast to the table minus the mushroom, then five minutes later carried a plate full of mushrooms out to give to another guest, and in tongs carried a single mushroom that he put on my plate. We were quoted $50 the first night for a meal and $45 for the following nights, on paying I was charged $50 a night. For reasons not explained on paying we were given a discount which equated approximately to the amount we had been overcharged. Deleraine is a lovely arti area, and within a 20 minute drive there are plenty of really good restaurants, including a deli which produces magic lunch time food. If you enjoy a country atmosphere close to town but out of town, then this is as good a place to stay as several others in the area.

Room Tip: There were five rooms in a motel type layout. We were able to hear the people next door. All rooms had table and chairs outside. It really comes down to how much you want to pay. The forest walks can be done without a guide. Really nice packed lunches are available from the deli/provodore in Deleraine at a very reasonable cost.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 354chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary-Sean, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We recognise that our style of accommodation is not for everyone. However we do our best to accommodate all our guests needs as long as they are known to us. In this instance we were able to provide four, three course gluten free dinners with no notice, and gluten free ingredients for breakfast. If we had known of other dietary restrictions beforehand we may have been able to cater better. One thing we never do is reheat food and serve it again. All meals are hand prepared fresh as required. Often with a number of guests sitting down to eat together the food is placed on a platter and guests are free to help themselves to as much food as they require. No one goes hungry, the food is good quality, but the cooked breakfast will vary day to day. Sean is a food technologist by training and a passionate cook by temperament and we support the local agricultural community by designing dishes around seasonal availability of food.
As an eco-lodge meeting all our own power, water and waste management requirements in house, we attempt to restrict our use of chemicals to the environment. We will always give extra servicing of rooms on request but in this instance our offer of additional towels was declined.
There are always glasses and water as well as tea and coffee making facilities available in the dining area and guests are welcome to take these to their rooms.
Our web site contains comprehensive information about our accommodation, our location and our philosophy. We are sorry this guest did not have a great experience here as we go out of our way to make our guests comfortable and try to meet their expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Forest Walks Lodge for two nights in December 2013 including Christmas Day. I am not sure where to start, except to say this place is brilliant!

Location

Though only a few minutes drive from the picturesque and artsy town of Deloraine, Forest Walks is located on the very edge of what is now World Heritage-listed forest. When you walk into the forest, you will see why it is now protected forever. It is astonishingly beautiful!

Building & Ambience

The building itself is new, clean and comfortable and feels a lot like a home (e.g. you can eat with others, and Sean & Rosemary are often around somewhere if you feel like a chat). My husband and I are used to travelling in hostels and we enjoy this kind of intimacy. However, even if you like to keep to yourself, you will probably be happy here. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and have a private outdoor area for you to enjoy the views.

The rooms are a breath of fresh air. No doilies here! They are furnished in a kind of modern country style, if I could call it that - lots of relaxing earthy tones in keeping with the lodge's surrounds. But no expense has been spared - there are some really lovely fixtures and fittings and everything is new! A very pleasant place to stay indeed.

In terms of amenities, the two rooms we saw didn't have microwaves / kettles / fridges - and there are probably two interrelated reasons for this. Firstly, the lodge is run according to sustainability principles. Secondly, you won't need any of these things, as you will have Sean's decadent and delicious cooking to enjoy!

Finally, I would like to add that the views from the building are delightful. You will also get to know the Forest Walks ducks (if you would like to!)

Food

Sean and Rosemary grow a lot of their own food - but everything else is local, seasonal and fresh. If you like your food, you are virtually guaranteed to love staying at this lodge!

If you have any special dietary requirements, Sean is happy to accommodate. We are vegetarians and that was no problem.

Forest Walks

I highly recommend paying a little extra to have Sean take you as a guide. He is a biologist. I honestly think I would have understood 90% less without Sean to explain things - not to mention the fact that he found a pink robin for us (very rare and hard to see!) He also has lots of interesting stories. You really will have a good time and even learn a thing or two with Sean. I studied biology at uni for a year and I really love nature but I honestly wouldn't have understood much of what was going on without him!

Overall - amazing! We loved it. My hubby was telling me for days what a great time he had. Luxury in the forest!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews