We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
115
12
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
12
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguided walkwestern tiersvenisonself sustainingdelicious mealworld heritagethis wonderful placemaster chefhome grownresident duckspeace and quietbooked nightshome cookedcomfortable roomsfriendly hostsbeautiful valleysorbet
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

After an adventurous and tiring 5 day hike in the central plateau, we where fortunate to have booked 2 nights with Sean and Rosemary at jackeys Marsh.
They kindly allowed us to place our extra valuables / bags that we didn't want left in our car for days .
Sean had prepared a wonderfully fresh, wholesome 3 course meal made from local ingredients from their garden.
After purchasing a bottle of local wine and our bellys full of food made with love, we resided to clean comfy beds and rooms.
Sean spoke of fishing spots and hikes from the area and always willing to offer any advise.
Breakfast was included in the tarrif and just as tasty and filling.
Sean and rosemary truly cared for us and made our family feel welcome.
I recommend to anyone, couples or families.
We will return .

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank moopmoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestlodge, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Always glad to help our guests out with advice and local knowledge. Its great to see families out enjoying the natural environment together, especially those with adult children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Stars if I could. Stunning location in the Western Tiers. Beautiful lodge with 3 exquisite bedrooms all on-suite. The birds are wonderful and expect to see wallabies and pademelons in the evenings. Lovely walks from the lodge. Sean and Rosemary grow organic fruits and vegetables on-site. I strongly recommend you take the optional three course evening meal which Sean offers. Stunning and supported by an excellent local wine list. We had smoked sea-trout followed by slow cooked pulled shoulder of venison (the jus was amazing) and finished with home grown raspberry custard tart.
What a lovely place and what delightful hosts. I really hope to come back.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestlodge, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Its great for us to have access to local Tasmanian fresh fish and meat to create interesting meals for our guests. The slow roast pulled shoulder of venison is always a winner. Glad you enjoyed it so much and also the ambiance of the place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We would highly recommend this lodge. Sean and Rosemary were extremely welcoming which meant for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. I wish we had been able to stay more than 2 nights !

Service was excellent. Good, wholesome home cooking prepared using ingredients from the impressive vegetable garden - a highlight for me was the fresh duck eggs for breakfast. We also loved the strawberry tart - first of the strawberries from the garden this season. What a location - the lodge is metres away from the forest. This easy access really allowed for a unique experience. We enjoyed a 45 minute walk whilst Sean was preparing our dinner to the sounds of his "chef's music." However, what really opened our eyes to the forest was a 4 hour guided hike through an extremely varied and interesting stretch of forest (a guided tour is a must to make the most of Sean's incredible knowledge). The lodge is also a highly sustainable set-up with solar panels and small-scale run of river hydro setting a great example of how it can be done. Interesting in itself to see. Our room was extremely comfortable with views over the valley and forest.

In summary, this is a high quality place to stay and in an extremely beautiful location.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenEasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestlodge, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Locating our lodge on the edge of world heritage value forests was not an accident. The valley of Jackeys Marsh on the Great Western Tiers offers many opportunities for an ecological interpretation of Tasmania's tall forests. The valley has many micro habitats from the valley floor to the mountain tops but the easy Rainforest Walk is accessible to almost everyone who stays with us from 3 years old to octogenarians. There are longer walks for the more adventurous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Sean and Rosemary's generosity, knowledge and care for their guests makes the entire experience very special and memorable. You will have amazing meals (the dinner option is an absolute must) and Sean's guided walk through part of the region's stunning World Heritage Rain Forrest is incredibly insightful. Stay 4 nights for the ultimate respite from city living.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestlodge, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thanks for your kind words Peter. The lodge offers an excellent retreat from a hectic city lifestyle and interestingly more people are deciding to stay an extra day or two as the local district offers many great opportunities for walking, as well as fishing, food sampling and wildlife encounters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for two nights at the lodge and had an exceptional experience. Rosemary and Sean are the very best of hosts and the lodge is a social place indeed. Sean's meals are absolutely delicious- he goes above and beyond and it is clear that his meals are an act of love! On the second night my partner's 14 year old niece joined us and Rosemary and Sean went out of their way to make her feel welcome - Sean even made a stunning cake for her birthday the next day! We are already trying to figure out a way to get back to the Lodge as soon as possible. We loved the wildlife - the pademelons are so cute! Staying at the Lodge is a wonderful experience if you are looking for somewhere very special to relax away from the distractions of modern life. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chickpea14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews