We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Week!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lake and Coach house Gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lake and Coach house Gite
La Chatouillette Coach House Gite Josie and Allan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Lake and Coach house Gite
La Chatouillette Coach House Gite
Josie and Allan
Little tickle Sculpture  by the lake
Bright and spacious sitting area
Lounge
Bright dinning area
Teak fireplace
Double bedroom with Romeo balcony
Large Twin room
Bathroom and and saparate toilet
Balcony views of the lake and meadows
Enjoying the views of the lake with a glass of bubbles, cheese and baguette
outdoor seating area  table tennis & BBQ
walk around the lake and river
walk in the woods
bluebells in may
walking in the woods
Early morning mist on the lake
Autumn at La Chatouillette
Autumn at La Chatouillette
sunset reflections
morning sun on the lake
African metal bird sculptures
Boat on the lake
boat on the lake
Whisteria in the garden
morning sun over meadow
forest and fields
fishing by the lake
Outdoor Table Tennis
Garden  by the lake
A walk around the gardens
dranonfly
Spring arrives for the' Little tickle'
lake reflections
Meet a Carp
Water garden  and mist rolling off the lake
Rods ready for a great days fishing
summer river
Meet the carp!!
Carp fish
Mirror Carp
Mirror Carp
carp fish
carp fish
Free range Hens and birds sharing food tray
golden sunset
Shamwari ~ he hops along on three legs
baby hedghog
Allan fishing
rods in the lake
Swallow dipping on the lake
Line of swallows. You'll love watching them dip on the lake
srunning sunset
Kestrel sheltering in the snow
old Roman Bridge
Explore the green routes on your bikes
Absailing at Fosse Arthur local attraction walks and lake
After a walk stop off and have a snack or coffee at Fosse Arthur
Flers Chateau and lake. Many walks and cycle routes.
There are many Brocant's to visit throughout the year
Manoir de la Saucerie near domfront
Explore the many Vide-Grenires and Antiques sales to find those special finds
street sale in village
Durcy  village Market
There are  many beautiful gardens to visit in Normandy
local french cuisune at the market
calvados
sampling the local apple/pear produce
local french  cuisune  at the market
A glass of wine
Delight in discovering French Gastronomique food and wine
It's not over till you have desert and coffee
sandy beaches and tidal pool at Granville
Sandy beaches  St Pair-sur-Mer, Jullouville and Carolles.
Regional Park
Averange church
Site de la Roche d'oetre river and forest
Site de la Roche d'oetre forest and hills
Flower Boat on a round-about in Vire
Domfront town
Vire clock tower
Fougères Town
Fougères Castle
Fougères  Castle moat
Falase Town
Grand Cascade ~Mortain
Mont St. Michel
La Ferte Mace inland beach and lake, great for swimming in
Lake at Bagnoles-de-l'Orne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint-Georges-de-Rouelley, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Bencarver...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Week!!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a fantastic week!

Allan & Josie made us feel most welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left... whilst we were left in peace throughout the week they were on hand if needed.

The local villages, restaurants and market towns are all worth visiting.

Fishing was brilliant, probably the best we have ever had... 76 carp landed between the two of us (biggest 21lb)

Lovely Gite with all the facilities you could/would need.

Our first visit to La Chatouillette and hopefully not our last!

Until next time...

Ben, Aran, Terry & Heather (Norfolk, UK)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenbowes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stop searching.................you have found perfect tranquility. We certainly did.”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The minute arrive at La Chatouillette you feel totally chilled and welcome. Alan and Josie take time to explain all the facilities and features of the gite then leave you to explore and enjoy. The accommodation is both spacious and well presented. The extensive grounds, with the woods and the river are a delight with a myriad of flora and fauna. More than ample space for all the family to indulge. For the carp angler, there is a lake of dreams............we managed over 60 quality mirrors and commons in our week without needing to night-fish at all. Most well high doubles and plenty of 20lb+. Simple hair-rig tactics and nothing over-complicated, We will be back sometime and would highly recommend to those needing some peace and calm from day one of their holiday. Thank you Alan & Josie

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorizofa...
London, England
2 reviews
“Beautiful location, fascinating area, wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Four of us (my wife and I and our two daughters, aged 7 and 4) had a wonderful week with Allan and Josie at La Chatouillette. The coach house is spacious, comfortable and has a well equipped kitchen - we'd brought bits and pieces of our own cooking equipment but didn't need them. The information provided by Allan and Josie (via folders and guidebooks in the coach house) re activities, markets (great for stocking up on provisions) and other amenities in the area was perfect, and allowed us to really make the most of our stay. The property itself is beautiful, and the girls enjoyed playing in the river, making friends with the cat and the chickens, and playing table football and pool (sort of!) in the well equipped games room. There are good options for cycling locally, including voies vertes cycle ways (which may be easier on younger legs than some of the more rolling routes!), and I enjoyed my daily pedal to the local supermarket which helped me work off some of the delicious cheese and cider! We were very lucky with the weather, but couldn't have asked for a more idyllic stay. Allan and Josie were lovely, and a huge hit with our daughters, and we would not hesitate to recommend a stay at La Chatouillette to anyone who would like to enjoy beautiful Normandy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A
1 review
“A wonderfully relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at the beautiful Chatouillette for a week and within a few hours of our arrival we had completely forgotten about the daily stresses of life back in London. La Chatouillette offers something for those that like to just rest and relax for a week and those who like to explore. Our time was split between bathing in the sun next to the picturesque fishing lake and exploring the local area; rambling around the serene countryside and visiting quaint nearby villages for markets. We couldn't have hoped for more welcoming and attentive hosts in Josie and Allan and they really contributed to the relaxing and familiar ambience of the location. We will definitely be returning and would recommend a stay to anyone thinking about a relaxing getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaia P
1 review
“Beautiful stay in idyllic settings”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in May 2016

La Chatouillette is a nature lovers dream! From the babbling brook that runs throughout the woods, to the vast lake. Although I do not fish, this was the ultimate relaxing holiday destination and a stark contrast to London. Josie and Allan were spectacular hosts who greeted us with such warmth and friendliness upon our arrival with a lovely tray of tea, coffee and biscuits. Throughout our stay they were attentive and there for our every need. The gite itself is the perfect accommodation, we enjoyed our morning coffees on the balcony before our daily adventures. La Chatouillette is ideally located and not too far from the beach, we also enjoyed a lovely trip to the 'Land beach' at La Ferte Mace, although our days relaxing by the lake were an integral part of our holiday too. Would absolutely love to visit again soon and recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday amongst the nature or a well stocked fishing lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfull for peace and quiet with good fishing thrown in.”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in June 2016

La Chatouillette is in the Manche, deep in the countryside, close to the border with the Orne. With the coastal town of Avranches and le Mont St Michel an easy car journey away to the west and with medieval Domfront and spa town Bagnoles de l'Orne even closer to the east there is plenty to see.
Back at the gite, the friendly hosts are on hand if you need them but not at all intrusive, they are usually pottering around the stunning garden which is yours to share. This was our second visit to La Chatouillette and we are booked again for another two weeks this year, you can't say more than that.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liane H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming, with fishing what more do you want”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in September 2016

The property is set in some lovely countryside, easy to find with a few small villages nearby for food and a meal in the evening. The owners house is next to the accommodation, which is a bonus as Josie and Allen are delightful and happy to chat and help, also were kind enough to share an evening by the lake with us, but will leave you to it if you prefer, its up to you. They were very kind in rescuing our passports and making us a sandwich pack when we drove all the way back to Calais before noticing we had left them behind. Accommodation is very good and the fishing is real fun with some big carp lurking, we managed a 16lb as our biggest but there were larger. Best fishing off the top with bread nothing fancy needed. We look forward to returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing