We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Voringsfossen

Voringsfossen
Book In Advance
More Info
US$343.39*
and up
Hardangerfjord Day Trip from Bergen
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Maurset
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 17 October 2018

There are endless waterfalls in Norway and this was obviously on the to-do-list when in the region. Judging from photos I had seen of the falls prior to our journey, I didn't expect too much. How wrong I was! I must agree with a previous review that photos don't do Vøringsfossen justice. To start with we enjoyed the drive between Eidfjord and the waterfall. Not long before you get to the Fossli Hotel you can pull over into a car park with a small souvenir shop and a kafeteria. From here you can walk back along the road for some views and there is also a 5 min walk on a dirt track to a viewpoint, looking over the gorge toward the hotel. Be warned that One can get to the the edge of the abyss at various points and there are no guards or rails - so children should not be allowed to run off on their own. Up at the Fossli Hotel you will find a large carpark with a newly constructed railed walk along the cliff with spectacular views from all angles. We had some rain showers while visiting and it was still, or maybe especially because of it, awesome! If we would have had more time we would have done the hike to the waterfall along he river.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank southofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fossli hotel"
in 33 reviews
"great view"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful waterfall"
in 9 reviews
"quick stop"
in 6 reviews
"the river"
in 10 reviews
"viewing platform"
in 9 reviews
"be careful"
in 8 reviews
"take pictures"
in 3 reviews
"down the road"
in 5 reviews
"car park"
in 6 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 5 reviews
"gift shop"
in 5 reviews
"few minutes"
in 2 reviews
"bus tour"
in 3 reviews
"nice walk"
in 2 reviews
"the cliff"
in 4 reviews
"different angles"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We came to Voringfossen to explore in the rain. It was an ever changing canvas of foggy vistas that was quite remarkable. The area near Hotel Fossli had amazing ramps and decks that allowed impressive views without any danger of slipping. It’s worth a visit, and the views are sublime!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Steambush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We were on a bus tour and it was raining so a quick on/off was necessary. I want to point out to walk as far down the road to get take your pictures as there are 2 waterfalls and you can’t see them both if you don’t walk further down. If you love waterfalls you will want to stop. The day we were there the larger store looked closed and the small store was just opening.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 48lisas48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

You can visit the waterfalls easily as they are simply along highway 7. There are multiple parking lots and great view points, amongst others at the Fossli Hotel at the top of the canyon beside the waterfall. You can then have a drink and a piece of fruit pie afterwards at their cafetaria and enjoy the views.
But the best thing to do is to do the long walking trail down to the base of the waterfall and back. The whole things takes between 3 and 4 hours. It is about 300-400m difference in altitude.
The first half of the trail from the top is on the old, abandonned road along the canyon and walking through several old but short tunnels. If you do not want to do that long part of the walk, you can park your car at the end of that road walk as it crosses the main road at a little parking spot.
Then, a few hundred meters further down you get off the old road and go down a path through the woods to almost at the level of the river and then continue for 1,5km till the base of the waterfall.
The trail is not much of a path at all. Merely red arrows telling you were to go and climb over rocks. So while it is never really dangerous, this is only for people comfortable climbing and jumping over rocks. This is not a walking trail. You will need a minimum of fitness and a lot of agility.
But it is worth it and the views are spectacular.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank EdwinVdO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Don’t be fooled by the 1km hike that says 1 hr in and 1 hr out. It is exactly that BUT that doesn’t mean it’s easy. I am not exaggerating when I say there are a few spots in the hike where one misstep means death. For about 75% of this hike you are walking on a rock slide with huge rock form the mountain. Every step is a challenge and a misstep in these rocks you could injure yourself easily. The trail along the bank at times is so washed out that one slippage means a disastrous end.

The falls are beautiful and it is a badge of honor to make it past the rope bridge. We stopped shortly after the rope bridge because it was just too wet from the spray making footing very unsure for us.

It took the 2 hrs but we have to say we were spent afterwards. Climbing over that landslide was hard work. This hike is not for the faint of heart or any small children.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank scotttP792RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Voringsfossen also viewed

Flam, Aurland Municipality
Ulvik, Ulvik Municipality
 
Eidfjord Municipality, Hardanger
Eidfjord Municipality, Hardanger
 

Been to Voringsfossen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing