We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay”
Review of Heath House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ossett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heath House
Ranked #1 of 2 Ossett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Heath House is a great B&B in a beautiful garden setting. Jo, the host, is very warm and welcoming of guests in her home and made the stay very pleasant.
The breakfast choice was varied and the quality very good. An added bonus was the other guests being very congenial. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We found ourselves needing a B&B, at night, when we found the Heath House and the owner was very easy going and arranged our stay. We had a big & comfortable family room and the breakfast was delicious with home produced eggs and gorgeous home made strawberry jam. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josy-1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Lovely place to stay with Jo as a fantastic host! We stayed with our newborn and dog just for the night as we were having work done on our vehicle locally and wished we were staying the weekend. We will definitely stay again if we need to be in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stopped off at Heath house for the second time to break up our trip to France. It is a lovely B&B with decent sized, clean, tidy rooms and the breakfast is DELICIOUS! We got a very warm welcome from the owner of the house. Along the road round the corner from the house is an excellent area to walk the dog with a big field that provides more than enough space for lots of off-lead time for the dogs, a bonus when a day of travelling is ahead. Heath house is also very conveniently located not far from the motorway so handy for getting back on the move without having to fight through loads of traffic. Great stop-off point and we would certainly consider Heath House for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at Heath House for one night 18.5.13, when attending a family wedding in Dewsbury. It's a lovely old house, set well back from the road in a beautiful garden, quite unexpected for the edge of a northern city, & convenient for the M1 junction.
The room was very spacious and elegant, with a good bathroom & comfortable beds.
Jo was most welcoming & friendly, and told us some of the fascinating history of her home.
Delicious breakfast, and all very reasonably priced.
We shall certainly come again when we're in the area, & recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarais C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed at Heath House 30.4.13 after helping my daughter move house from Leeds to Ossett. The stay was just what I needed after two days of lugging boxes and cleaning.

Jo is a wonderful host and I had a room at the back of the house overlooking the gardens. The room was great, the bed comfortable and breakfast the next day was smoked salmon with freshly laid scrambled eggs.

The breakfast menu is comprehensive and taken in the lovely dining hall.

The whole experience was that of staying in a country house hotel rather than a B & B and I am looking forward to my next visit bringing my husband.

Highly recommended.

Kathleen

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden, lovely view and quieter as road is at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed for a night when visiting from Canada. We had seen great reviews and were not disappointed. Jo made us very welcome. A very interesting old house, which is very well located. Great value, very comfortable and terrific breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
0.9 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dimple Well Lodge
Dimple Well Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ossett
263 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Show Prices

Been to Heath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heath House

Address: Heath House Chancery Road, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ossett
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing