We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delighted Again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heath House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ossett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heath House
Ranked #1 of 2 Ossett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delighted Again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We went back to Health House recently and were delighted. As always Jo was welcoming and warm. Our room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was absolutely delicious. We wouldn't change a thing - from being a stranger in England to feeling like we have a home there is testament to how lovely Health House is.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happychick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    15
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
60
21
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Friendly hosts try very hard to run a good b&b but the number and size of animals in the house must make it very difficult. Room very spacious, clean with good ensuite. Ancient bar fire needs to be checked though, sparked when unplugged. The fact that two large dogs are stationed in the kitchen as well as a cat, can't help with hygiene. Pet hair on the breakfast table not very appetising. For this reason we wouldn't visit again. The price is also different to that advertised on the website, a minor point. In conclusion, mostly comfortable but not for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice and friendly Bed and Breakfast. Clean and tidy with a enjoyable breakfast. Close to Dewsbury and Wakefield and also M1.Would recommend a stay. We had a family room in main house which was comfortable enough for a family of four. Staff very friendly, room very clean and spacious with a TV and en-suite bathroom with both a shower and a bath. Nice and comfortable beds. This is my second stay at this bed and breakfast and both times have been pleasant and enjoyable visits.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank diana f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed at Heath House from New's Year's Day for a week as I was back home in Batley to sort out my affairs, as I am currently living in Northern Cyprus.
Jo was very welcoming and even offered me something to eat on my arrival around 9 pm. I had been given a self contained bedsit type room at the back of the main house which was perfect for my requirements as I could come and go as I pleased.
Although I am a vegetarian there was a fantastic choice for breakfast, and I enjoyed something different every day. Either sat with other guests at the lovely dining table in the hallway, or with Jo and her lovely dogs Harley, Diesel and cat Denby in the lovely homely kitchen.
Although her son ran dog boarding next door it was exceptionally quiet at night, unlike my neighbourhood here, so I slept very well.
You really are made to feel that you are a guest in their home and not just in a B&B or low cost chain hotel.
I have passed the Heath House many times over the years I have lived in that area, not realizing what was on offer, and wouldn't hesitate to return there and recommend them to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here over the New Years period (2 nights). Arrived with out dog(jack Russell cross shitzu). As we arrived we new we would love our stay. There was no strict rules like you get with chain b&bs. Full English breakfast every morning. If you wanted an earlier breakfast or a later breakfast this would of been arranged. Rooms were clean and tidy. Shower was nice and hot. We will be staying here again in the middle of the month. Would highly recommend this b&bs to all dog owners as there is a field right next to the house. This hotel I would say best appeals to dog owners, couples, business people and a small family( 1 child ). Can't wait to stay again
Many thanks Alan

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at heath house and it was lovely ..we had big room onsuite,tea and coffee in room :-) breakfast everything you like from cereal to cooked breakfast ..very friendly host would defiantly stay again :-) the trinity walk shop centre in Wakefield worth a visit x

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay while I was on a training course at Killgerm. The room was functional and clean with a great full English breakfast every morning. Found the owner to be very helpful and welcoming. The hotel is a 2 min drive to Ossett town center and a 3 min drive to Killgerm training centre with no traffic problems.
Over all very pleased .

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Key-pest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
0.6 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
1.9 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
3.8 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heath House

Property: Heath House
Address: Heath House Chancery Road | Wakefield, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ossett
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing