We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THIS IS AN AWFUL PLACE”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dimple Well Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dimple Well Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Ossett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“THIS IS AN AWFUL PLACE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

The 1st sign that something was wrong was the garbage all over the parkiing lot. Inside, the surly owner was unpleasant when I asked for a room for 2 nights. When I was brought upstairs to my room, past garbage and refuse in the hall, I knew I had made a mistake. The room had no chair, no wi fi as advertised, so after 10 minutes I came downstairs and asked for my money back which he refused to give. A really bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Westsider165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    36
    22
    13
    14
See reviews for
91
71
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

being a local and a regular at this hotel and restaurant i can assure you this place is quality all round. with all due respect to the previous reviewer what she has written is a load of bollocks. i was coincidently there on the night in concern having a meal with my family, where i could see a person so drunk that he has mumbling and spitting while trying to speak running around the restaurant and hotel, this person happens to be a director of a local electrical company. anyways to cut a long story short there was a problem with this party but not to the extent of the review. i later learned their drinks bill was more then the food and they recieved a substantial discount off there total bill for which the "business cheque" had already bounced :-( .
please try this venue in person, you will be looked after very well and served quality INDIAN food, i never order english food in indian restaurants as i dont think my local chip shop would make a good nan bread or a chicken rogan either..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

Ok. Dimple Well Lodge was chosen this year for my husbands company Christmas Party.
I phoned on the day to make sure our rooms were ready. The man who answered the phone said he was the chef for the night as well as the DJ...Probably a sign of the night that was to follow!!!!
When we arrived it was minus 5 degrees outside and our room was about the same temperature inside. It turns out the boiler for our rooms was broken, turning the rooms into ice boxes. I asked to move rooms but this was not possible as the hotel was full. I asked for an electric heater and a small portable electric heater was provided which just took the chill off the room.
The works party was downstairs at the hotel. The 60 or so party had already chosen in advance what to eat. There was a choice of an Indian banquet or more traditional Christmas Dinner type food.
Our starters were served about an hour after being seated. Wine was brought to the tables without glasses which we had to ask for .
The first table got their main courses about an hour after the starters. The last table had to wait a further 30 minutes.
The food.......well the Indian banquet was lovely, however the turkey dinner was AWFUL. Cold, rubbery. There were many complaints and a lot of wasted food.
There was a singer provided as the entertainment who was fabulous and really engaged with everybody and got everybody up dancing.
We had given up any hope of getting any pudding, but low and behold, it arrived at 11.30pm!!!!!! 4 hours after we were first seated.
The heating still wasn't working when we went to bed so we had to put the fan heater on again (minus 8 degrees overnight temperatures). I had to turn it off again as it was so noisy we couldn't sleep.
We went down for breakfast the next morning to be served mouldy toast with our full English's.
I can not believe this place caters for weddings....scary!!!!!
There were some good points
The rooms were clean
The beds were comfortable
The bar was well stocked
The singer was excellent.
All in all I would not recommend this hotel for any kind of function

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuuk, Greenland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

Mid August 2010. Held our wedding reception and evening do. Absolutely brilliant. Staff are wonderful. Setting is great. Think I'll get divorced and do it all over again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulGillespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
1.3 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
3.1 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
3.1 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimple Well Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimple Well Lodge

Property: Dimple Well Lodge
Address: 35 The Green | Wakefield, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 8JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ossett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dimple Well Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimple Well Lodge is a beautiful little hotel with 11 comfortable rooms. We pride ourselves on customer service and offering that little bit more. We are not just a typical hotel, we are very customer based and work closely with you to offer and tailor our services to suit your needs best. We serve traditional English Roast on a Sunday between 12-4 and currently run an Indian Restaurant Midweek and Weekend Evenings. We are an ideal venue for Weddings, Functions such as birthday parties and christenings and we will cater for anyones needs no matter how big or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dimple Well Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimple Well Hotel Ossett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing