We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired building staff lovely”
Review of Dimple Well Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dimple Well Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Ossett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We went for Sunday dinner the starters were ok my garlic mushrooms cool and bruschetta too crispy but would have tasted lovely I'm sure if had been warmer. The Sunday dinner disappointing no mash potatoes just small roasts very pale the gravy on the meal not in a jug and watery the cabbage 3 small pieces,carrots 5 small chunks In butter, so with water from veg,thin gravy and butter globules it didn't look appealing the pork soft but tasteless. Wrong choice of desserts the apple and raisin crumble tasteless no sugar just rolled oats I think. Custard nice. Cheesecakes looked nice though.
On the plus side staff lovely with great service.
The building looks a little tired toilets definitely need a revamp not pleasant.
Nothing special glad We came on a voucher offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollymid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Massive thankyou to Marcus and his incredible team at Dimple Well for making our day very special, nothing was too much trouble and everything (food, service, dog sitting :) etc) was absolutely perfect.
We can't thank you enough.
All the best for the future and see you soon.
Mr and Mrs Lawrence

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We came here on a groupon on a quiet midweek evening. First of all let me say that the young waiting staff were very attentive. Our starters were average, but our main meal was very nice indeed. I was rather envious of another table who had ordered Indian food, which actually looked more tasty than ours. Maybe we will try Indian food next time..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 33Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We visited for a meal purchased on a groupon. I will quite happily return without having a voucher as the food, service and overall atmosphere was excellent.
the menu is a combination of English and indian which I haven't come across before. We both ate from the english menu and I am looking forward to trying the indian food.
the food I ate last night was beautiful and was served piping hot. The battered brocolli in particular was amazing!
very highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HippaHippaHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We ate here a couple of nights ago and the food was fantastic. We live very close by and have never ventured in until now as we heard that Harby's Restaurant was now open. We have the choice of 'English or Indian' food - I went for Chicken Fajitas and my husband had a curry and sides. The Fajitas were really tasty - something which can either be done really well or really bad but they had everything done perfectly. The curry was extremely tasty and with very soft meat - it was clean dishes all round. I'd really recommend going here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren_North72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We visited dimple well lodge and ate at their restaurant which serves a combination of English & Indian cuisine.

There was plenty of choice on the menu & an extensive drink selection.

Food was excellent. Both of us more than happy with both the starter & the main course.

In addition we couldn't fault the service, which was attentive without being overbearing.

Although we ate there on a groupon voucher we would definitely go back and pay full price, as the menu was reasonably priced

Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pvurgest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

It's a good job this hotel is well sign-posted, or I don't think we would have ever found it! We had dinner there last night and it was excellent. We had a voucher from Living Social, but the menu is reasonably priced anyway. A mixture of English, Italian and Indian food. The hotel is unpretentious, but very stylish. The service was first-class - very pleasant and helpful staff. Will definitely return and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
1.3 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
4.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimple Well Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimple Well Lodge

Address: 35 The Green | Wakefield, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 8JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ossett
Price Range: £53 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dimple Well Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimple Well Lodge is a beautiful little hotel with 11 comfortable rooms. We pride ourselves on customer service and offering that little bit more. We are not just a typical hotel, we are very customer based and work closely with you to offer and tailor our services to suit your needs best. We serve traditional English Roast on a Sunday between 12-4 and currently run an Indian Restaurant Midweek and Weekend Evenings. We are an ideal venue for Weddings, Functions such as birthday parties and christenings and we will cater for anyones needs no matter how big or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dimple Well Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimple Well Hotel Ossett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing