We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely terrible! ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dimple Well Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dimple Well Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Ossett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible! ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Having booked a table on a quiet night midweek we expected to pop in for quick meal. How very wrong we were. Firstly after being sat there 30 mins we had to ask for our Order to be taken. Then there is a long list of what they don't have both on the menu and in the bar. They take your order, come back twice to tell you they don't actually have what you've ordered. Food comes minus what's advertised with it. Then having to physically ask for dirty plates to be removed (all while an extremely young waiter just stands there looking out of his depth). To then wait 20 mins and ask where the mains are. Mains arrived - completely different to what was ordered. Having to ask for more drinks. Having to ask for the bill, waiting ten mins, it arrives - wrong, wait another ten mins for it to be rectified. Ironically the place only had 2 other tables in so I dread to think how good the service would be when it's busy!

No toilet roll in the ladies so take your own.

We would rather go hungry than visit here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveygrohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    35
    21
    13
    14
See reviews for
84
69
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We got married here on Saturday. The whole day was brilliant and the staff went out of their way to ensure everything went smoothly. Great food, decorations and atmosphere. Everyone loves it. Many thanks to Marcus, Sally and all other staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My daughter got married at dimple well lodge yesterday,the whole wedding ceremony and meal was held there.also the evening party. It was a great venue with lovely grounds and everywhere was set up beautifully.The staff went out of their way to accommodate any requests and made sure it all ran smoothly. The happy couple were in a cottage within the grounds which was beautiful and the rooms were taken up by wedding guests and all said the accommodation was good and they enjoyed breakfast. Even though it rained there was a beautiful conservatory which the photographer used for photos. We all had a brilliant time and will recommend it to others, well done and thank you to Marcus the owner and his staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

we had a wedding at dimple well lodge it was the best day ever beats every other place hands down the staff were very good polite and they know how to make your day fun the food was really brill it was well prepared and very tasty it was a very clean and tidy place I would recommend dimple well lodge any time to one I cant wait to back there .The gardens are in a very good tidy condition in a nice setting all the staff are some the best I have ever met I would like to say a very big thank you to you all at dimple well lodge for making my sons wedding the very best thank you to you all and all the best .
p.s who ever is reading this and you are looking for somewhere to have meal then go to dimple well lodge it's the best .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I am sorry Marcus I felt sure I had posted a review for Our Silver Wedding but on looking I can't find one. Thank you and Sally and staff for making our day so Special we had a lovely time and all our guests said they had really enjoyed it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Decided to try this restaurant as it is within walking distance. Booked a table for 7pm. There is a choice of English or Indian cuisine. My partner chose Indian and was very pleased with his choice. I went with garlic
Mushrooms and a ribeye steak. Everything was excellent and well presented. Would recommend this hotel restaurant.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We got married here on the 19th April 14 and it was truly magical. Marcus and all the staff did a super job they couldnt do enough for us and the guests. Every aspect of the day was just perfect we felt so at ease as the staff just attended to everything no matter how big or how small. The food was delicious and very very speedy service and the rooms were spot on very clean. Our whole day was perfect here at dimple well all our guests expressed how great everyone was at the hotel and just how lovely the place was. All in all a great place highly recommended by us (mr & mrs Hughes) and all of our guests we cant wait to go back have already booked a meal

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
1.3 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#11 of 21 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimple Well Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimple Well Lodge

Property: Dimple Well Lodge
Address: 35 The Green | Wakefield, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 8JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ossett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimple Well Lodge is a beautiful little hotel with 11 comfortable rooms. We pride ourselves on customer service and offering that little bit more. We are not just a typical hotel, we are very customer based and work closely with you to offer and tailor our services to suit your needs best. We serve traditional English Roast on a Sunday between 12-4 and currently run an Indian Restaurant Midweek and Weekend Evenings. We are an ideal venue for Weddings, Functions such as birthday parties and christenings and we will cater for anyones needs no matter how big or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dimple Well Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimple Well Hotel Ossett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing