We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food”

Millers Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Ossett
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$65
Cuisines: European, French, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I visited the restaurant on Saturday night for my Birthday.

The food was excellent and very good value for money, just under £100 for three including drinks and a bottle of wine.

I had a starter of Mussels in white wine with lemongrass and coriander, which were very nice. The others in my party had the Chicken and Bacon Caesar Salad, which they said was the best Caesar salad they had ever had.

For main course I had the Rib Eye steak with blue cheese topping and port wine sauce, which was fantastic (also great chips).

The service was very good up to Dessert which we had to wait a while for, although this could be forgiven, as the waitress (who was excellent) seemed to be on her own.

All round a great meal with great service, at a reasonable price. The best food I've ever had in or around Wakefield, and I've lived here all my life.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    28
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another great meal!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Another great meal had at Millers Bar. 5 of us ate on a Saturday night and all enjoyed every course. Not rushed and left time in between courses to chat and enjoy. One slight criticism that would be easily rectified is that one of our party was a child and it seemed that when the bread and the amuse bouche was brought that they were not included...she was not happy!
Other than this once again great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gupta65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Went to Millers for the first time for Sunday lunch and it was one of the best I have had for a long time. The restaurant was really nice and stylish. Service was really nice and food was fantastic, great roasts, excellent fresh vegetables, Yorkshire puddings and gravy worth visiting for alone. Definitely be returning

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We go to this pub regular and tried the restaurant upstairs, excellant food, great service and atmosphere, it's a hidden gem. Well worth a trip to

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolute hidden gem!!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We went to Millers (located above The Brewers Pride Pub) for Sunday lunch. Never been before, so weren't sure what to expect but had heard good things. We walked in through the main pub entrance which is warm and cosy with an open fire, and has a real oldy worldy feel. The menu had a really good choice of starters, options of 3 meats for sunday lunch (beef, pork or turkey), and 3 vegetarian/special options, and various pudding choices- 2 courses for £13.95 and 3 courses for £16.75. The food was absolutely fantastic! Ceasar salad and Mussels for starters, Roast beef dinner and Haddock and scallops for mains- and i couldn't resist a pudding- Rice pudding with caramelised raspberries. Really good value- we were both absolutely stuffed! The service was brilliant too- very polite and attentive. The restaurant itself is light and clean and really well done (in the upstairs/attic of the pub) and we will definitely be going back and taking all our family and friends with us!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank landyuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millers Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ossett, Wakefield
Ossett, Wakefield
 
Ossett, Wakefield
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Millers Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing