We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If working in the West Yorkshire area you should give th HI Wakefield a try.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stay at the HI Wakefield most weeks due to local work commitments. The staff are always friendly, particularly on reception and in the restaurant, and the hotel has a welcoming, safe atmosphere. Rooms are comfortable and clean, towels are full size unlike some HI's which have gone for small ineffective bath towels. Breakfast is always good, sometimes the evening food quality can be mixed, but the management are aware of this and addressing atters. All in all a good place to stay when working in the Leeds/West Yorkshire area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryBath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear GerryBath_UK

Many thanks for taking the time out to post a review of your experiences at our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your comments hae been shared with the team and I am delighted that we exceed your expectations and ensure that we create a Great Hotel that Guests Love.

See you soon.....

Kind regards


Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

No frills just your normal Holiday Inn. The bar/dining area was a nice relaxed area and fairly busy when I visited.

I was on the second floor in a non smoking room however the corridor did smell very strongly of smoke. So I would assume some smoking rooms up there.

No offer of an upgrade for a platinum member and when asked I was offered a room with a king size bed but no other upgrade.

The media/wifi charges are stupid here. £16 for 24hr wifi access!! The TV options were the new Holiday Inn package with a good choice.

Room Tip: If you need internet connection use your phone or mobile broadband dongle, avoid over priced wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomppayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear tomppayne,

Many thanks for taking the time out to post a review of your most recent stay at our Hotel.

We do have a smoking section on the 2nd floor and I apologise if the smell was a little strong. My housekeeping team are fully focused in ensuring that this area is a 'smoke free' & freshly ouderised as possible at all times.

With regards to the upgrade, unfortunatley we only have 12 Executive Rooms in-house and as these rooms are snapped up pretty quickly, it makes our task of upgrading our priority club members very difficult. Rest assured we will always offer you a larger room in the event that we do not have any Executive Rooms available on the day.

I understand that there are some Hotels that offer “free” Internet, but as I am sure you may have experienced, often these systems are narrow in bandwidth or limited in usage. The system at the is market leading, providing uncontested bandwidth and, in response to our guests requirements, we have made a majot investment in the last 18 months in order to deliver an internet solution meeting the needs of our guests for today and tomorrow.

We will contiune to strive for a Great hotel Guests Love and hope to see you in the very near future.

Kind regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed recently here as stopover. The Reception Manager was at the door welcoming us in and asking us if we would like to book for Dinner. The check in process was quick and efficient and our room was great with a hige kingsize bed. We could have fitted in a whole family, and there was just 2 of us.
The dinner was really tasty and service was excellent. It was nice to have such friendly and smiling staff. We opted to have pudding in the bar (as the football was on!) and this was not a problem, so many hotels nowadays have no flexibility.
Was only a short stay, and my first time, but was mede to feel like such a valued guest. Cannot recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Barry_Manchester

Many thanks for taknig the time out to post a review of your most recent stay at our Hotel.

I have shared your feedback with my team and they are delighted that their genuine hospitality shone though.

By being out in front my reception manager displayed qualities that take us from good to great.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Good location just off the motorway. Room size a bit small but adequate. Decent rate so overall pleased and will return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Samantha C

Many thanks for posting a review of your most recent stay at our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that we managed to exceeded your expectations and hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We thought we might arrive late and, on contacting the hotel, they assured us that this wouldn't be a problem and they would note this on our reservation.

We arrived earlier than we thought. Outside the hotel were loud, drunken girls blocking the entrance and making vulgar comments.There was a 'staff function' going on (or so we were told!). The music was very loud in reception and, we were told, would go on until 1am. Not a good start - we very nearly left to search for somewhere else.

Our room was, thankfully, well away from the noise and, in truth, we were not disturbed at all by the party - nor by the one the night after either!!! The room was comfortable, the bathroom was immaculately clean.

Staff were helpful - we didn't know the area and they recommended a decent pub in a local village which served us a perfectly adequate Saturday night meal! Breakfast was plentiful and, on the Sunday, was cooked to order - I thought, in truth, a bit overpriced though!

I would stay there again - but our initial experiences very nearly put us off even entering the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear DrSL

Many thanks for taking time out to post a review of your most recent stay at our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that we managed to turn a near fiasco into a positve experience as we continue to strive towards building a Great Hotel that Guests Love

Hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We travelled late on Saturday night and telephoned beforehand to say that we would be a late arrival. We got there at 1.30am and the night porter was very good. Our room was large and had a settee as well as a double bed. Breakfast on Sunday morning was very good. The eggs were cooked to order to save them from spoiling. Everythinh we wanted was there and the staff were very good, asking if we wanted more coffee etc before needed to look round to find soemeone to ask! I had a meeting at the hotel in the morning and they did charge £2.85 for a cup of coffee which i thought they might have waived as breakfast was still being served.

Room Tip: We had room 1 - it was very good although a bit of a route march from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickrob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Davewasbaloo

I would like to thank you for taking thie time out to post your review on Tripadviser. Your feedback is important to us as we strive for service & product excellence.

It is our aim to ensure that we continue to provide a Great hotel that Guests love and my team's genuine caring nature is always a 'hit' with our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here on business on the 23rd Jan. Typical Holiday Inn really with a friendly check in. The room was small and starting to look warn, especially the bathroom. But it was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davewasbaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
0.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
251 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
928 reviews
1.9 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Address: Queens Drive, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Price Range: £51 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 enjoys an excellent location 9 miles south of Leeds City Centre. It is situated off Junction 40, M1 and only 2 Junctions away from M62 Motorway. It is a fantastic base for visiting locations such as Leeds, Sheffield, Bradford or York. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 104 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access in all the bedrooms and public areas, and also conference and banqueting facilities for up to 160 people. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield has a range of purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances . The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the National Coal Mining Museum in Wakefield, Xscape Snow Centre in Castleford, the Royal Armouries in Leeds, National Museum of Photography, Film & Television in Bradford, the Yorkshire Sculpture Park or even the Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, the hotel is just 15 minutes drive from the city of Leeds. *Terms and Conditions Apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wakefield m1, Jct. 40 Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing