We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stopped off here for the night while visiting friends en route for Whitby, on the basis that the dog could come too. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. For the information of other dog owners there are fields nearby where you can take an early morning walk. Will be back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanG770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Third time staying in Wakefield recently and this was the best hotel by some distance. Nice room, quiet spot, great breakfast and good staff. It's handy being just off the M1 too. If I'm back in Wakefield again, I won't bother looking anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clair E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was slightly surprised to be allocated rooms a long way from reception when checking in (for two nights), but on returning at around 11pm on the second night, I appreciated it as there was a wedding party in full swing, which was not at all audible from the room. On the first night the hotel seemed to be largely filled by two coach parties, but again this was not too much of an inconvenience as they ate both dinner and breakfast earlier than we wanted to.
Easy to find location, slightly slow check-in and out, but exceptionally friendly staff in the restaurant. The rooms were entirely standard for a Holiday Inn, but clean. Breakfast similarly typically Holiday Inn. Plenty of car parking .... and good value.

Room Tip: As far away from Reception and Function rooms as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Being self-employed, the price of business hotel accommodation is important, and I normally look at budget chains before Holiday Inns. However, for one night at HI Wakefield I was quoted £67.50 for room, breakfast and dinner, which works out cheaper than several of the budget chains once you have added meal costs. Nothing to complain about with the hotel, the rooms are a bit small but perfectly adequate, place is clean, staff are welcoming, food is very good. BUT ... my biggest beef with the IHG group remains, they still insist on charging - heavily - for internet access. McDonalds will give free unlimited broadband access to anyone that goes in for a coffee, and people paying £50+ for a hotel room are entitled to expect the same in my opinion. Surely IHG can understand that these charges just annoy people and put them off coming back? I can only assume that they are locked into a contract with an internet service provider which they can't afford to break - my recommendation would be that they bite the bullet, stick a couple of quid on the room charge and give free broadband access. I for one would then probably use them a lot more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed here for a few weeks last year and I'm glad to say the place hasn't changed. The staff, without a doubt, are the best bit about this hotel; they're simply wonderful. I also enjoy the food here - a little expensive, perhaps, but good quality and always enjoyable.

The rooms are a touch basic (Though they do have nice LG LCD's), but clean, relatively spacious and a generally pleasant place to spend your time. I certainly don't bother to look elsewhere when I have to work nearby.

Room Tip: If you're eating in the hotel, then the executive dinner, bed breakfast rate is very good value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermanDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stay here on business regularly, great location, quiet (considering only yards from M1), rooms average size but very comfortable, nice buffet breakfast with a good variety, staff always helpful, would recommend for families too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigerpants01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Just arrived at the hotel, nice, friendly staff but they charge nearly £4.00 for ONE hour wifi access. Even McDonalds offer that for free! When are these hotels going to realise that wifi is pretty much as basic as providing sheets and towels these days. OUTRAGEOUS!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWhitelegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear DWhitelegg,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincere apology for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay. I regret you found our Internet charge steep. I want to assure you that our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide not only comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations but also offer Internet services at a competitive value. Nevertheless I would like to inform you that with the re-branding of our loyalty Program, we are now offering Free internet for our Elite members and this will be free for all members by 2014.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
0.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
280 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield City North Hotel
2.4 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Address: Queens Drive, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Price Range: £51 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 enjoys an excellent location 9 miles south of Leeds City Centre. It is situated off Junction 40, M1 and only 2 Junctions away from M62 Motorway. It is a fantastic base for visiting locations such as Leeds, Sheffield, Bradford or York. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 104 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access in all the bedrooms and public areas, and also conference and banqueting facilities for up to 160 people. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield has a range of purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances . The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the National Coal Mining Museum in Wakefield, Xscape Snow Centre in Castleford, the Royal Armouries in Leeds, National Museum of Photography, Film & Television in Bradford, the Yorkshire Sculpture Park or even the Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, the hotel is just 15 minutes drive from the city of Leeds. *Terms and Conditions Apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wakefield m1, Jct. 40 Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing