We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've stayed in for a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I travelled fron South Devon to Wakefield for a course - 5 hours by train. The course is layer on today so I'm hoping it'll be better... but not optimistic.

The check in was reasonably painless, although hospitable is one of many words I wouldn't use to describe the welcome. But hey, it's Yorkshire!

The room they put me in was a twin at the secon furthest point from everywhere. Not a massive problem in itself but I'd 'requested' a double - of which there were none left... okay. Minor gripe.

The twin beds were different heights, the radiator was stuck in the on position, the air-con blew either hurricane or tornado and turned itself off after around an hour, the toilet flush rotated 360 degrees, the case stand was broken and the side table seemed to held together by willpower alone.

The food was, £12.95 for 12 'rustic' chips a piece of cod (might have been Haddock - wasn't obvious) a terrine of mushy peas and a slice of lemon served on a chopping board. It tasted okay, but given the fish appeared to have been rolled flat prior to cooking, it felt like a complete rip-off.

Stella Artois £ 4 a pint... short night at the bar...

Then there was Breakfast: £11.95 for a continental and £3 more to add the cooked. Add another £2.50 to have it in the room: £17.49! So I thought what the hell, give it a go, fill in the card and stick it on my door handle (as per instructions) and voila! Nothing. Card still there this morning at 7:15 when I went to check I hadn't missed the knock at 7am.

So I'm here in McDonalds a 30 minute walk away having spent way less and enjoying the food.

I can't explain how disappointed I am. Profit t before people - clearly aimed exclusively at the corporate client - I would advise anyone else to give it a miss.

It's a shame because the Holiday Inn at Gloucester has always been excellent and I expected much, much better from this one.

Sorry!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Adam L,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the reservation confusion, room amenities and the food selection. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed one night as part of a National Holidays mystery tour. When we first pulled into car park our first thoughts were "Why here ?" It's very close to the M1 junction 40 with nothing very close it appeared. We later found out we were approx 4 miles from town centre so it wasn't as far out as first thought. Check in was quick and easy. We were told dinner was 6pm which only left us 45 minutes to get ready. Went in to restaurant to be shown into a very squashed small area with 48 places seton a mixture of side booths, small and larger tables. Only problem was some tables set for 4 people were occupied by 2 people and there was no place where my wife and 2 friends could sit and we were told by a very unhelpful staff member that we would have to split up. We told them this was not an option for us and wanted to sit together. Another foursome were also in the same situation. Eventually another member of staff who wad far more helpful than the first helped by allowing us to sit in the normal restaurant which was empty of any diners. Dinner was acceptable with salad bar, and a selection of main meals followed by a nice selection of desserts. Breakfast was really good, plenty of choice and enough to satisfy the biggest of hungers. Bedrooms good size, clean and comfy. Apart from incident at dinner it was a good stopover.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strakerbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Christmas 2012 and we were not disappointed.
The room was a good size with a couch and chair for comfort.
The cleanliness was superb and the decor tasteful.
The breakfast was a buffet style with plenty of choices from continental to the full monty!

Christmas day dinner was superb, with a beautiful banqueting room suitably decorated and silver service to ensure that the presentation of food was matched with quality.
The food itself was excellent and plenty of it. We had ordered our choice a few weeks before visiting.
An added bonus was the visit by Father Christmas who gave all the diners a gift ( I had a C.D ).
There were lounge areas where you could either watch T.V. or listen to quiet background music.There was a bar nearby which catered not only for alcoholic drinks but also provided coffee.
Although the hotel is situated by a motorway, there was minimal noise. The area adjacent to the hotel had horses grazing which you could view from the dining room, very pleasant surroundings.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make sure that your stay was a pleasant one.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting either an overnight stay or a few days break.
We stayed for a few days and were able to visit the Hepworth Gallery as well as driving to pretty spots including where "the Last of the Red Wine" was filmed ( there is a pub called the wrinkled stocking!) Give it a try, you will not be disappointed by your stay at The Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherinemiller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way home from Scotland. After very poor accommodation in Scotland this hotel was a very pleasant relief. Good sized room and very clean. Big flat screen TV. Bathroom had powerful shower. Food was very good and good service. Perhaps we were lucky but a quiet nights sleep also. All in all very good and recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hotel a standard holiday inn.

Clean if a bit tired. Beds are comfortable and all rooms have flat screen TVs.

Full Free WiFi through out the hotel but the standard package means that you can not stream even the news and catching up on Facebook takes forever.

The staff in the hotel really make it they can not do enough and are very smiley and helpful, make you feel incredibly welcome.

There is ample parking available and well lit. Even though it is close to the motorway there are beautiful views over the Yorkshire countryside.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Craggy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

have spent quite a few nights here recently for business. standard room was a little small which i stayed in one week, but the superior doubles are a good size with super king-size bed.

all staff are polite, helpful & most are very friendly.

ate from the bar menu most evenings & all the meals i had were excellent including fish & chips, beef chilli, chicken curry, beef burger, lasagne & chicken burger.

breakfast is usual buffet cooked english as well as the cereals, fruit etc but i do think a bit pricey (as common with alot of hotel breakfasts) £10.95 if you book in advance or £14.95 if on the day. don't understand why so pricey; its free in holiday inn express (although you only get three hot items).

anyway overall this is an excellent hotel for the price & i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Had a pleasant stay, very clean, comfy beds and super polite staff. Great rates too, was a little noisy at times due to other guests but not the hotels fault. Could have done with a couple of extra nights with the wife instead of business colleagues

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
0.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
246 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
911 reviews
1.9 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Address: Queens Drive, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Price Range: £51 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 enjoys an excellent location 9 miles south of Leeds City Centre. It is situated off Junction 40, M1 and only 2 Junctions away from M62 Motorway. It is a fantastic base for visiting locations such as Leeds, Sheffield, Bradford or York. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 104 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access in all the bedrooms and public areas, and also conference and banqueting facilities for up to 160 people. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield has a range of purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances . The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the National Coal Mining Museum in Wakefield, Xscape Snow Centre in Castleford, the Royal Armouries in Leeds, National Museum of Photography, Film & Television in Bradford, the Yorkshire Sculpture Park or even the Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, the hotel is just 15 minutes drive from the city of Leeds. *Terms and Conditions Apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wakefield m1, Jct. 40 Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing