We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good price”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel for couple of days overall the stay was comfortable. Breakfast was good with options to choose.
One eveningthere was a party that continue late in the night. The high volume of music bother the residents of the hotel. Managment need to look into the matter.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhailahmad7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear suhailahmad7676
Thank you for your recent review and I am happy you have a comfortable stay and took our great breakfast. We will take your comments on board about the disco noise and so we can make our customer experience even better for our guests. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel again.
Kind Regards
Sarah Bestwick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    195
    103
    39
    32
See reviews for
93
129
24
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having stayed before I guess you can say I'm slightly biased but it's still worth a visit when in the area. Being next to the motorway network makes it easy to find and eliminates the hassle of having to queue through city centre traffic(although there is currently central reservation upgrades going on through J40 on the M1). The staff offer a warm welcome and also try to offer me the room that I prefer. This mostly offers me a quiet nights sleep but passing coach tours can sometimes change this.
The food is of a high standard and if you like garlic, I strongly recommend the home prepared garlic mayo. The forest fruit compote in the breakfast selection is also a must to try.
Yes I would stay again.

Room Tip: Any light sleepers should make sure they are away from the conference rooms and on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthYorkshireTanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear North Yorkshire TanFan
Thank you for your recent review and I am happy you have a good stay. We will take your comments on board and see if we can learn from these so we can make our customer experience even better for our guests. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel again.
Kind Regards
Sarah Bestwick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The room was clean and modern.

Party night food was very good,breakfast equally good.

All staff encountered were friendly

Plenty of car parking,good motorway location.

Only stayed one night,would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrGasRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear DrGasRotherham
Thank you for your recent review and I am delighted you had a good stay. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel again.
Kind Regards
Sarah Bestwick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here for a night when I was working in Sheffield.
hotel is really easy to get to and conveniently located right off the M1.
rooms were large, clean and spacious. Breakfast was really good. was pleased to find they served starbucks coffee.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zahir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Zahir M
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted you had a good stay and you enjoyed the comforts of the hotel including our Starbucks coffee. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel again.
Kind Regards
Sarah Bestwick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel six months ago and was generally positive about it (review here http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g844515-d245498-r165426456-Holiday_Inn_Wakefield_M1_Jct_40-Ossett_Wakefield_West_Yorkshire_England.html) but I believe it has gone downhill since then. The food has gone from being surprisingly good to pretty basic in terms of choice and quality and the standard of cleaning has dropped too (the bedspread runner thing at the end of the bed looked like it hadn't been washed in months and I ended up dumping it outside the room to prevent it being put back on the bed - it was beyond gross).

The internet charge continues to be £19.95 per night and this is just shocking when a majority of hotels no longer charge for it. I've stayed in Holiday Inn Expresses that are of a far higher standard than this. It needs a thorough refurbishment and a ritual burning of those Persil-shy bedspreads.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear GarethK95,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review and make necessary improvements to ensure guests do not experience this in the future.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Good location for the motorway, however the advantages end there. Rooms old, small and tatty - and not particularly clean!. Bed knackered and uncomfortable, staff disinterested at at best - slow sloppy service (when someone was actually at the bar) and from overheard conversations (whilst waiting at the aforementioned bar) customers appear to a distraction to a quiet evening.
Overall standards would have been poor for a Travelodge and in this price range are inexcusable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owls17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Owls17,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
from North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed here for one night on business in November. Having stayed at the sister hotel in Brighouse the week before I had high expectations. However this hotel was not in the same league. It was a long up and down route to my room (no lifts) although someone helped me with luggage and was very pleasant. Room in need of refurbishment although perfectly comfortable. Food in restaurant was average, not a patch on the Brighouse restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful enough but didn't appear to be trained to the same high standards as Brighouse. I find this strange as both hotels belong to the same chain. Car park large and plenty of room. Breakfast only had one lady trying to do everything - a bit short staffed?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swisstrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Swisstrekkers,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is unfortunate that this visit was not 100% satisfactory due to your restaurant experience being sub par and unavailability of lifts being an inconvenience. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
0.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
3.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,321 reviews
4.9 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
944 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Property: Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Address: Queens Drive, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 enjoys an excellent location 9 miles south of Leeds City Centre. It is situated off Junction 40, M1 and only 2 Junctions away from M62 Motorway. It is a fantastic base for visiting locations such as Leeds, Sheffield, Bradford or York. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 104 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access in all the bedrooms and public areas, and also conference and banqueting facilities for up to 160 people. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield has a range of purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances . The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the National Coal Mining Museum in Wakefield, Xscape Snow Centre in Castleford, the Royal Armouries in Leeds, National Museum of Photography, Film & Television in Bradford, the Yorkshire Sculpture Park or even the Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, the hotel is just 15 minutes drive from the city of Leeds. *Terms and Conditions Apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wakefield m1, Jct. 40 Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing