We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for motorway connections”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for one night while working locally, the staff were great, rooms typical holiday inn, clean and simple. The evening menu was ok, fairly basic but good food and generous portions. The bar was open until late and quiet but a nice place to relax and chat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Mitch D

Thank you for providing us with your review.

Our aim is to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodation to all our guests.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Bestwick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here to break up our journey back to London after visiting Beamish. It was very convienient to the Motorway. The room was very pleasant with every amenity we needed. We ate it the restaunrant which was very good. The breakfast in the morning was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Judith G

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback, following your recent stay at the hotel.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Bestwick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed over here with quite a few friends on a training course. This was for a three day period. Out of the 12 of us, on average, at least 3 meals per night was sent back as either burnt or cold. The staff were really helpful and immediately acted and got a replacement meal. I stayed again the following week on business and had room service. This turned up but the meal was not what I had ordered. I sent it back and when my meal eventually turned up it was so over done. not edible. The staff again was only too happy to sort this out on my bill .
This is a typical corporate hotel whereby the staff are lovely and more then helpful but I do think they have lost that view on getting this food problem sorted. The prices they charge do not reflect the quality or care and attention they should do.. On a positive note for food, the breakfast wasnt bad at all.
Room it self was nice if not a little tired (I was in an executive room??) on a very busy road too. If I was paying for this hotel rather then work I would not choose to stay here

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear AndreaNik,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently placed near junction 40 of the M1. The rooms were very comfortable, staff friendly and amenable and the breakfast was lovely. Would definitely recommend a stay here. The only better hotel in this area is the Premiere Inn at Paragon Park off junction 41.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear MattM
Thank you for your recent review and delighted to read you had a great stay. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Leeds Wakefield again.
Kind Regards
Sarah Bestwick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

A very average Holiday Inn. Site is functional, conveniently located next to the M1. Noise was not an issue but difficult to leave the site in the morning as this involved a right turn across 4 lanes of heavy traffic

The letters in rooms urging you to report problems and a commitment to fix immediately suggest they are being proactive about maintenance issues - which was good to see. Room was clean and everything worked fine... except the shower was lukewarm on the last morning. When I mentioned it on checkout, the receptionist denied any knowledge of a problem and appeared uninterested in resolving or reporting it. However one of her colleagues intervened to recover the situation, explaining there had been an issue with the boiler overnight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qdex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Qdex2
Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us.I was sorry to hear about the problems you experienced during your stay with our hot water system. Unfortunately during the week of your stay we had some issues with our boilers causing some guest to experiences difficulties in getting hot water.These issue have now been fixed by our maintenance team and I am sorry that we weren't able to rectify this during your stay.
I was concerned to hear about the service you received on check out and that the problems you experienced weren't immediately acknowledged by our front office team member.I believe it was the Front Office Manger who intervened at the time of check out and I have also written to you since.Please be assured we take take your feedback very seriously and this matter has been taken up with the employee in question. Constructive re training and monitoring will take place around the feedback you have given and we would like you to know that this is not the normal standard of strive we would strive to achieve.
Should you have any more concerns or would like to speak to me further about this please contact me direct on the below details.
Kind Regards Sarah Bestwick
General Manage. Telephone number 0871 9429082

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I use this hotel a lot for work and it is one of the best that is used.

It is nothing flash or fancy but the staff here make you feel at home, I only wish there was a gym at this hotel.

Keep up the good work guy's and see you all soon when I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear BobbieD
Thank you for your recent review and delighted to read you had a great stay again with us. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel again. We look forward to seeing you. With kind regards
Sarah Bestwick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here on business in January 2014 mainly due to its location right beside the M1 and easy to get into south Leeds (without the roadworks easier)

Rooms had very comfortable beds and good space to work from, only food I had was breakfast but it was a much better standard that most Holiday Inn's ive been in. Whole room clean enough.

Although not much around it its probably not that far into Wakefield, couple of supermarkets / mcdonalds etc within 1-2 miles

Id certainly stay again if I was in south Leeds area as the hotel was great value at £50

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear JasonM
Thank you for your recent review and delighted to read you had a great stay. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel again.
With kind regards

Sarah Bestwick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
0.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
247 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
918 reviews
1.9 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Address: Queens Drive, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Price Range: £52 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 enjoys an excellent location 9 miles south of Leeds City Centre. It is situated off Junction 40, M1 and only 2 Junctions away from M62 Motorway. It is a fantastic base for visiting locations such as Leeds, Sheffield, Bradford or York. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 104 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access in all the bedrooms and public areas, and also conference and banqueting facilities for up to 160 people. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield has a range of purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances . The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the National Coal Mining Museum in Wakefield, Xscape Snow Centre in Castleford, the Royal Armouries in Leeds, National Museum of Photography, Film & Television in Bradford, the Yorkshire Sculpture Park or even the Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, the hotel is just 15 minutes drive from the city of Leeds. *Terms and Conditions Apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wakefield m1, Jct. 40 Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing