We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK IF I GO BACK TO MELBOURNE!”

Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Collingwood
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK IF I GO BACK TO MELBOURNE!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The most laid back place I've ever been to! It's unexplainable, but the human atmosphere in that place makes you want to never leave! Really really nice people!
You need to be laid back, flexible and open-minded to fit in, and basically not care too much about the cleanliness of the place, but that's a minor detail only... STRONGLY recommend the place! Specially if you are looking for a place where to stay a bit longer...

Room Tip: Any would do! Everyone staying there are very nice, friendly, so anywhere you will feel like at home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manaiurinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

You feel really welcome. Everybody in the hostel is nice and they all hang out together. Almost everybody stays here for long term. You can't compare the hostel with other hostels. This is more like a home! I really enjoyed staying here and would recommend it for people who want to stay for a longer period in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelineb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

I believe Paul makes this place what it is. An ex lawyer and traveller with the best attitude to a hostel and a ridiculously dry sense if humour. When I got my visa through for NZ at 2pm he let me check out and refunded the night I never used. Free wi fi and free computers which I find a big plus (charging for wifi is a pet hate of mine!). Not a party hostel but a nice atmosphere and friendly long termers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianyoung1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed here last month and you will either love this place or hate it. It's full of smokers so being a non smoker this was the difficult thing. People are allowed to smoke in all rooms. The people are friendly, a bit strange some of them.but overall i was made to feel welcome. There are people that have being here for several months so it is more like a shared house than a hostel. My room wasn't ready when I arrived and two people taking up 6 beds so I didn't have a bed untill other people moved their stuff. It's not a party hostel if that's what your looking for. I may have been persuaded to stay longer if the price was slightly cheaper, between 26 and 28 dollars is a little too expensive for what you get. It's not in the centre and I only picked because its close to where I worked. Nice cafes and vintage shops in the area, it's a fair walk into the cbd but trams are easily accessible.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymous1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 and had a good experience. Paul, the owner, is hilarious and sets the tone for a welcoming, relaxed hostel. There are many longtermers there but they were very welcoming and inclusive of the people only there for a few days. It really felt like I was hanging out at a friend's house rather than at a hostel. It was a bit dirty but overall, I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Admit was back in 2007 we stayed here for 2 and half months, but for people we know who are going to Melbourne or just to talk about we will always say stay here.
Had the cheapest drinks in town $1 for a coke or Solo(well good), whacky owner who picked us up from Brunswick street as was bit lost and always a help (confused hime when I asked for Duvet sheets) yes was bit dusty but was nice like that as in our room we made it a proper wee home and even left our own bed sheets there (he was bit short of em at time), the shower was bit funny but I guess it works now and hopefully the small one which was being built next to our room is finished as the bloke doing it was bit old and slow and loud.
Kitchen worked well for us as we eat lot of pasta and rice so didnt need the oven and no one stole your food.
Hope the David Beckham book I left is still on top of book shelve in big TV room collecting dust.
Great location for everything, chip shop on Hoddle St does best Flake and Chips anywhere in Oz we found.
Great atmosphere, just dont annoy Paul!

Room Tip: Top of stairs, turn right and right again, last on left (corner of front and side street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAKN35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Ok, at first glance this place looks old, a bit dirty and not really organized for travellers.
And, yes, you may end up waiting for someone at the reception for a long time.
But.
This is a place for long term guests and you can see how the atmosphere is homey and chilled out. It's like living in a shared house, you get to know everybody and there's always someone organizing a dinner out, a stroll down Fitzroy or Smith street, people chatting in the tv room and someone playing in the computer area.
The owner, Rob, is crazy and kind at the same level. He even gave us a ride to the city on our departure date just because he saw us waiting at the bus stop.
The kitchen is surprisingly clean, organized, with lots of room for personal food and two huge fridges plus a freezer.
And, this is not the place where you'll get your food stolen! There is respect and kindness from everyone, either you're staying for two nights or for two months.
Internet rates are ridiculously cheap. Lots of interesting people to meet from different ages.
It's a bit far from the CBD but you'll love the neighborhood, the pubs, the art galleries, the cafes and the people in general.
Unless you are a Sydney lover.

Room Tip: Avoid the room at the ground floor. Any other room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 160 in Melbourne
114 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne

Property: Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne
Address: 137-139 Johnston St, Collingwood, Yarra, Victoria 3066, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Collingwood
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne Greater Melbourne, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing