We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idiosyncratic; but if it suits your style, it's excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baden Powell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baden Powell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Collingwood B&B and Inns
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Idiosyncratic; but if it suits your style, it's excellent.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is an odd mix of a place. For example, comfortably-sized showers and excellent quality towels but a bathroom door which has no wall above it (so any digestive processes are apparent to other occupants of the room!); and a comfortable, probably king-sized, bed in a room where more than 2 suitcases would be a serious problem. We saw two rooms and they were about the same size though only one had the semi-open bathroom design.

The location is good: close to a tram stop, on a line which goes through the city centre to the Southern Cross station where the airport buses run, so everywhere is accessible. (Ikea is a few stops further down the same line). There are small restaurants nearby; also a 7-11 and even a Macdonalds if you're desperate!

For us, visiting for a purpose and arriving back tired in the early evening, one of the great assets was that it has a really good pub and eatery attached. Great choice of beers, and a good menu; made better by the fact that the food was every bit as good on the plate as it sounded on paper. The Gerry Burger, for example, was outstanding. And there are sofas here and there, where you can catch up on your emails and other netty things. It's a nuisance having to be in the bar/restaurant to use the Wi-Fi, but at least it's there.

Clearly, the oddities of the place are partly reflected in the denizens of the place. There are no staff on site between closure of the bar at night and preparations for opening in mid-afternoon. This meant that, when we arrived from the Wellington flight at about 10:30am, we had to call someone on the phone, who then called the cleaner, who let us in to park our bags in the bar. The next night, we were awakened at about 3am by an unfortunate somnambulist who had woken to find himself in the corridors, unable to get back into his room because the key was locked inside, and unable to call the proprietor because his phone (and wallet, and clothes) were in with the key. Luckily, he slept partly clad, and my phone allowed him at least to notify someone of his situation. The next night, the 'entertainment' was provided by a female who sounded vexed and not entirely sober, complaining that she wanted to retrieve something from the locked bar.

If your kind of hotel is the anonymous international type, or an upmarket boutique, this is not the place for you. But if you want good food, friendly and efficient service during opening hours, a pleasant atmosphere, and basic rooms well cleaned and with good clean linen, you'll love the Baden Powell. I'd happily return if I'm back in Melbourne in future.

Room Tip: Only saw a few. 1 and 2 overlook the beer garden (can be noisy); 10 is in the depths, with only a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirabelle-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
6
26
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

No WIFI in the rooms. Major problem for travelling business folks like myself. Internet available during opening hours downstairs which starts at 3pm. Other than that all as fine. But I took the room because it is listed as having WIFI a bit deceptively as there is none in the rooms. Don't book if you need to work online unless you feel like sitting in the McDonalds up the street to get online.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardKastelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Well, if you are looking for a good budget hotel in a not too far location in Melbourne, this would be it. The hotel is small - probably not more thant 20 rooms in the enitire hotel. The location is located close to the tram station ( either Smith St station or Wellington st. ), although it is not close to the inner city where all the shopping and restaurants are but with easy access to tram, it should be good enough ( but you will need to learn how to use the tram a bit, and it is not entirely simple !). You can get to hotel from the airport via Sky bus to King Cross Station and then connect with Tram No. 109 (heading to Box Hill) to Smith St. , get out then walk across the street where the McDonald and Pizza hut is, and walk further down toward collingwood/wellington st. , you should get there in a few minutes. The travelling time from airport to the hotel is about one hour ( if you are not lost in your way finding the trams station !)

It is a budget hotel so there is limited service - there is no hotel reception - once you reach the hotel , you will need to go to the hotel small bar on the ground floor to get the key. I arrived late so the bar was full on the weekend and it was a bit awkward walking through the crowd with huge luggage ! .

The room is tiny, but clean enough - not much space so if you have huge luggage you may find it inconvenient to unpack and no walking space. The room has fridge, TV, coffee pot, toilet but no hair dryer. There is no internet in room, and cleaning service is only upon requests. If you sleep in and put your No Disturb sign on in the mornning before 11, then the room will not get clean as the cleaning lady only does room cleaning in the morning. There is no elevator either, so if you have heavy luggage, be prepared to lift and hualing your luggage to the room. You paid for the room immediately when you check in and just left the key in the room when you check out ( make sure you dont forget anything in the room !)- no need to contact the hotel bar reception .

So in summary, recommending for solo , couple travellers with not much luggage looking for budget place to stay , not too far from city center and do not mind a bit of adventure. Not good for family - too small.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sombatbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I got a great vibe as soon as I walked in. A really funky pub that has been tastefully done up with quality interiors.The service was great & the guy who checked me in was very helpful. The only faults I have is the room had a strange smell & it is noisy. I could hear the people in the adjoined room to mine. My room was lovely, the bed was extremely comfortable & the bathroom was great. It's really good value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Room was big with high ceilings and new ensuite and location is great being only a short walk to the city. Main road location did mean some noise but overall would definitely stay here again, especially considering the value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

THE GOOD: location, check-in was very friendly,great size room, great firm bed,great water pressure in shower,everything was very clean.

THE BAD: no door on bathroom, noise from hallway(you can hear every door close), noise from room next to mine because it had a conjoined door to my room.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Don1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Clean and inviting rooms, though quite small with no door to the bathroom, but we were just happy to have our own. Location was good, just a leisurely 20 minutes walk to Melbourne CBD and frequent trams were just across the street. Also close to some nice and cheap eateries and a little convenience store or you could of course eat in the restaurant/pub downstairs. It looked really nice and popular with many families and friends coming for Sunday dinner and a beer. The staff was very helpful, and the atmosphere was laidback and friendly. Apart from a little traffic noise in the morning we had a very good sleep, and there was no noise from the bar downstairs in our room. The free Wifi was a big bonus to us, and it was quite fast too! Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korimako_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
376 reviews
Adara East Melbourne
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#10 of 132 in Melbourne
778 reviews
Aberlour Court
#13 of 132 in Melbourne
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baden Powell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baden Powell Hotel

Property: Baden Powell Hotel
Address: 61 - 65 Victoria Pde, Collingwood, Yarra, Victoria 3066, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baden Powell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baden Powell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baden Powell Hotel Greater Melbourne/Collingwood, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing