We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation in Melbourne's East”
Review of Quest Hawthorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest Hawthorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here to visit friends in the city....8 mins by train with the station a short stroll away! Modern spacious apartments, loved the decor, great views overlooking the city, the staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble.....and the comfy bed gave me the best nights sleep I have had in ages

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Essbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestHawthorn, General Manager at Quest Hawthorn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Essbie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Quest Hawthorn. It's comments like yours that provide us with that warm fuzzy feeling we get as guest service specialists when we exceed our guests expectations.
The next time you are visiting Melbourne please keep us in mind as we would love the opportunity of welcoming you back to Quest Hawthorn.

Take care and safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great modern hotel, has everything you would want for a one night stay or a lot longer..

Very quick walk to the train station, and 10 minutes later you are in the heart of Melbourne. Great value for money.

Only thing bad is was the road noise, but thats not really the hotels fault!

Room Tip: The higher up the less tram / road noise you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank afbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestHawthorn, General Manager at Quest Hawthorn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Afbau,

Thanks for your recent review of Quest Hawthorn and my sincere apologies for you not having the best nights sleep due to road noise. The next time you are coming to Melbourne can you please contact me directly to make your reservation so that I can ensure you get the best sleep possible in a quiet room? I look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Hawthorn on your next trip to Melbourne.

Take care and safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for work conference as close proximity. Very comfortable, huge king bed and sitting area, really nice little private courtyard as I was on the ground floor. Excellent shower which was a huge plus !!! Would stay here again for sure.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestHawthorn, General Manager at Quest Hawthorn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Dean D,

Thank you for your recent review on Quest Hawthorn. It's always a pleasure to read such great comments about our property, thank you again.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Hawthorn on your next trip to Melbourne.

Take care and safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My mum and I stayed here for the footy this weekend for one night. We walked into the apartment after easily finding our way around the streets of hawthorn and finding that the train is so close to Quest- we were so amazed by the way it looked, the lamp over the beautiful chair by the window, the shiny modern kitchenette and the super comfortable beds dressed in good quality linen with the extra touch of a beautiful black satin cushion on each bed. Artwork on the walls really lifted the room and the black out blinds were amazing- the colour of them by day gave a look of luxury to the room, and they worked so well in the morning we didn't even realise it was 8am!! We did not hear a thing all night, it was so quiet- we had a great nights' sleep.

Just a few little constructive criticisms for the manager however; the mini bar selection was minimal and overpriced, $4 for a tiny orange juice and $4 for a bottle of water? We went down the road to Coles instead which was convenient. Also, we went to fill out the customer feedback form but could not find a pen anywhere! In the customer information book we found notepaper but again, no pen.. Which makes me think that the small details are sometimes missed. Something that also makes me think this is the lack of drinking glasses in the apartment, we had to use mugs for our drinks and also noticed there was only one wine glass- so if we wanted to have some wine (again overpriced) from the minibar we would have to share!! So maybe these things need to be checked. Also we found the cover of the information book to be quite dirty with fingerprints and marks all over it.
But, these are small details in what was an amazing stay at Quest.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Caitlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestHawthorn, General Manager at Quest Hawthorn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Caitlyn H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Quest Hawthorn. It is comments like yours that help us to improve the product and service that we offer. I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us however, there were some small things that we missed which, is far below the standard that we strive for. These issues have since been addressed and again thank you for bringing them to my attention.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Hawthorn on your next visit to Melbourne.

Take care and safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here last minute and they were very accommodating to find me a quiet room at back of property (thanks to previous reviewers) after I arrived. They were painting parts of the property which didn't look all that old so they obviously care about the look of the Quest. There is also lots of artwork around which also enhances the ambiance as some Quests can be a little sterile. The studio room was a good size with all the usual Quest fittings including an amazing charging station for every type of device - very customer friendly! Bathrooms good size and walk in shower appreciated. Laundry is located on each floor rather than in the room but is free and easy enough to access. A great French cafe/.restaurant located at the ground floor makes for a nice breakfast or glass of wine at night. Would definitely stay again. Lots of great cafes and restaurants around.

Room Tip: Some people (like me) prefer rear of property as road to front is quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestHawthorn, General Manager at Quest Hawthorn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear StuckinBangers,

Thanks for your recent review of Quest Hawthorn. I was delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations on your recent stay with us. As hospitality people it is comments like yours that give us that warm fuzzy feeling and allow us to keep going. Thank you also for noticing that we do indeed take care of our property. We have just turned 3 years old and thought it time to give our walls a freshen up. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Hawthorn on your next trip to Melbourne.

Take care and safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel gets all around ticks.

Great beds.
Nice clean, spacious and modern rooms.
Everything worked well
Friendly service.

This hotel sets the benchmark for other hotels to follow. The big, big tick were the comfortable beds. Why don't more hotels follow their lead and invest in nice beds. Not hard, not soft, just comfortable.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor and I could hear the noise from the road, but it wasn't a problem at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestHawthorn, General Manager at Quest Hawthorn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Daz M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Quest Hawthorn. It's comments like yours that allow us to know we are on the right track so thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Hawthorn on your next visit to Melbourne.

Take care and safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean and great location in Hawthorn. It's very close to the university so great place to stay if doing business there. They don't have a restaurant but there are heaps close by. The cafe out front has excellent coffee. I would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ubangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestHawthorn, General Manager at Quest Hawthorn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Ubangy,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Quest Hawthorn. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and also liked the location of the property. It's comments like these that keep our team motivated to keep striving for that perfect level of service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Hawthorn on your next visit to Melbourne.
Take care and safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorn
Glenferrie Hotel
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Hawthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Hawthorn

Address: 616 Glenferrie Rd, Hawthorn, Boroondara, Victoria 3122, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Boroondara > Hawthorn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hawthorn
Price Range: £82 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Hawthorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Hawthorn has an edgy, New York style interior in a desirable Glenferrie Road location, just 6.5 kilometres from Melbourne's CBD. Quest Hawthorn will inspire Melbourne's imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne Apartment Hotel boasts 119 New York studio apartments, a selection of which host private terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quest Hawthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing