We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”
Review of Karak Castle

Karak Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$93.75*
and up
Private Full-Day Crusader Castles of Shobak and...
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Karak
Attraction details
Reviewed 19 May 2018

You can see why the Crusaders put a castle here because the views of the surrounding area is stunning and you can see for miles all around.
If you are going to the castle be prepared to pay JOD0.70 to use the toilets before you go in.
Castle has some interesting history and some the castle still standing has some interesting structures like the long vaulted halls. however the museum in the castle was closed when we were there and i think it might be permanently so.
The ride up to the castle is quite pictureque and the detour is worth doing as you rise up from the Dead Sea to the heights above Karak.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Raj F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"worth a visit"
in 10 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 10 reviews
"guide book"
in 6 reviews
"nice view"
in 6 reviews
"wadi rum"
in 5 reviews
"surrounding area"
in 5 reviews
"dead sea to petra"
in 4 reviews
"kings highway"
in 8 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 3 reviews
"pit stop"
in 3 reviews
"on site"
in 3 reviews
"love history"
in 3 reviews
"interesting history"
in 3 reviews
"restoration work"
in 2 reviews
"interesting place"
in 2 reviews
"bit out of the way"
in 2 reviews
"torch light"
in 2 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We made a detour to see Karak Castle. The view from the castle is very nice. The castle by itself is massive, but there is few to see.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

very nice Crusader Castle with ruins and some buildings restored, worth the visit - around one hour and a very nice panoramic view of the town, but watch out for the guides in front of the entrance, some of them are not friendly and pushy

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Piotr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

This ancient castle has a very rich and interesting history and worth 1.5-2 hours of visiting. I am not very interested in archaeological sightseeings and usually try not to visit such places, but this time I made an exception (due to very interesting descriptions in my guidebook) and it was a huge pleasure. I really felt like touching the history!!

The castle is big, there are any corridors, vaults, walls, passages that are available for discovering. For some of them you will need a flashlight. From the walls you will see very interesting panoramic views, not very often in Jordan. Definitely recommend this place!!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank DmitryB727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Background:
My friend and I stopped by at Kerak on the way from the Dead Sea to Petra.
The drive along the King's Way was in itself truly spectacular.
I had heard much more about Kerak than about say, Jerash or Ajloun, before I visited Jordan

On the ground:
We wound up at Kerak early-evening on a pleasant breezy day.
Amazing weather for a quick walk about the castle.

We decided to get a guide (10 JD, not cheap) but he did a good job of giving us the lowdown on the castle's history, from Reynald to Saladin

There is a control tower area/outpost that you can climb up to for panoramic and quite frankly, breathtaking views of the surrounding valley and villages.

Bottomline:
Worth a stop-over, probably worth getting a guide considering the signage didn't seem too clear (unlike in Jerash).
Easy to wrap up your visit and take in the views in an hour.
I'd rate it at 3.5 stars if I could, all things considered.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank HariprasadG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karak Castle also viewed

Dead Sea Region, Jordan
Karak, Karak Governorate
 
Karak, Karak Governorate
Dead Sea Region, Jordan
 

Been to Karak Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing