We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room - Too many unpleasant surprises”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Roseville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 January 2012

please note some facts for for the small room visitors might miss otherwise: the small room is about 10 sqm with a tiny 3 sqm bathroom, you can barely walk around the bed, the room was reasonably clean overlooking some dead insects on the windowsill, you will not find an airconditioning, however a sat TV system, dont touch the curtains else the construction comes down on you, the house is in a leafy upmarket suburb but looks badly maintained and untidy with cobwebs everywhere and wood parts needing paint, it is hard to find, nothing signals it is a lodge, we preferred alternatives.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ocjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyrebirdBandB, Owner at Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

We have had many visitors from all walks of life stay at Lyrebird B&B. Almost all of our guests have loved the room and enjoyed their stay until this recent visit. We realise that alas we cannot please everyone. We are like an old homestead surrounded by bush which we share with beautiful Aussie nature including Kookaburra’s, Lorikeets, King Parrots, Possums and Bandicoots. Unfortunately this means we also share this bush with a few bugs. Welcome to Australia! Most people appreciate the term “rustic” and love the character of our traditional home. We are not a city hotel with perfectly manicured lawns and do not pretend to be. The price reflects this and if our guests prefer perfection, we are not the place for them. We have two options for rental including the Lorikeet Room and Lyrebird Lodge. This particular guest booked the Lorikeet room which as you can see from photographs and read on our website is compact at 15m2 including the en-suite, but has everything you need. The Lodge is a newly renovated 2 bedroom apartment with lovely sandstone walls and its own large veranda. It is completely separate to the Lorikeet Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

The two-bedroom flat is very independent and separate (downstairs, separate entrance, no connection) from the main house. It's basically a daylight basement underneath the house. Free wireless internet. Off-street parking. Quiet location in the leafy Northern Suburbs (Roseville), down the hill from Pacific Highway, so there's no highway noise. Birds in abundance, especially kookaburras. It is not "fancy," like one might imagine a bed and breakfast to be. It is totally functional and decorated in what I would call "mid-century, middle-class Australian". No chintz. The shower is wonderful. The flat has a complete kitchen. Laundry facilities are shared with the house, including a clothesline. I didn't need them, so I didn't check to see if there's a clothes dryer. 12 minute walk to Roseville Station; 22 minutes to Chatswood. No hairdryer.

Note: This accommodation is suited to people who are very independent and don't need concierge-type help. We did not need touring suggestions, and they weren't available. In fact, we communicated with the owners by email and never saw them. It was fine for us, and we'll probably stay there next year. I did not rate "service" because there was no service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank WorldJourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I wanted to be close to relatives but still have a place to call "home". That is exactly how Lyrebird cottage felt. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. The hosts were generous and helpful but not intrusive. The area is a quiet suburb but only a few blocks away from good restaurants, cinema, and shopping malls. If you are eager to go the CBD of Sydney, this may be a bit out of the way as taking a train would be easiest (the station is not far) but as I had no interest in going there, I was very happy with the Cottage. Food is lovely and if you are looking for a peaceful rest in a private spot than this is B n' B is for you!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Afaafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyrebirdBandB, Owner at Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2011

We are 11km from the city centre and the train takes about 20 minutes to get there (station is an 8 minute walk from the B&B). A big plus about being slightly "away" from it all is the peaceful location, native wildlife and close proximity to National Parks. If you want the best of both worlds we are in an ideal location!

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I loved my stay , its very clean and everything is nice and new, its quite. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We have stayed at Lyrebird Lodge a number of times now - it is just lovely - with the interior stone walls and comfortable beds - worth a visit if you need good accommodation on the north shore and dont want a motel or hotel. It has a well equiped kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Lyrebird Lodge is a perfect retreat for those visiting Sydney and not wanting the hustle and bustle accompanying accommodation close to the city. That said, transport is not a problem with relatively easy access by road, rail and bus. It is also within walking distance to Chatswoood Shopping Centre.

The accommodation itself is very clean, functional and sensibly furnished. It has a very peaceful outlook to Lane Cove National Park and is very quiet. Budget permitting it is suitable for stays of several weeks. It would also suit those with or without young children. Graeme and Sarah are very pleasant hosts. I would certainly recommend Lyrebird Lodge to family and friends and will consider it again when next we visit Sydney.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatfromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast

Address: 44 Findlay Ave, Roseville, Willoughby, New South Wales 2069, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Roseville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roseville
Price Range: £55 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colonial, rustic Australian home close to National Parks,cafes, Chatswood Theatre, shopping centre and public transport with easy access to Sydney's city centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing