We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Roseville B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Myself, my friend and my parents stayed in the Lyrebird Lodge for nearly 3 weeks and we coudn't have had a better experience. There are two bedrooms, a large kitchen, huge bathroom, TV room, dining room table and huge veranda with a table and couch. Needless to say we had more than enough space. This B&B is situated in a beautiful suburb, surrounded by nature, yet extremely accessible to the CBD.

Sarah and Graeme are the most gracious hosts, they answered any questions we had, brought us anything extra we needed and made us feel right at home. They have a beautiful place, you'll be hard pressed to find a better B&B around Sydney, especially for this price!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Britt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

If you are travelling on business or pleasure and need a base in Sydney - I can't fault this accommodation for value and conveinance . I stay in the smaller one bedroom on the top floor with it's own entrance and outdoor deck. Wifi - ensuite and TV/ Frig - quiet at night - however it is a smaller room - but if you are own your own or just sleeping there it is ideal. Car parking near door- friendly hosts and supermarket 5 mins away if you need anything

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Myself and my family stayed at the Lyrebird Cottage and the Lorikeet Room. The bird life from the veranda was simply beautiful and having somewhere with peace and quiet over New Years Eve in Sydney was fantastic.Gorgeous shower room downstairs in the Lyrebird Cottage and plenty of space. Upstairs Lorikeet Room has more than enough comfort for myself and my husband. No air conditioning which made things a bit hot but fans provided so not unbearable. Sarah and Graeme could not have been more accommodating and even managed to re-unite us with a laptop which we left behind within 24 hrs. Lovely hosts, lovely house.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Having lived and travelled in Sydney I know that it can be hard to find a decent place without it costing a fortune or filled with cockroches! I was very pleased to find the best value for money B&B that I have stayed in yet! The B&B is situated in a lovely, leafy suburb of Sydney. It is off the beaten track away from the general tourist traps and high cost but low value accomodation found there and in neighbouring areas like Manly. The B&B is a lovely restored house with a lovely veranda looking out towards the mountains. With a lovely outside lounge area (with table and sofa) it is very easy to pass the time on the veranda watching the sunset. We stayed in the Lorikeet Room of the B&B. The great thing about this room is that it is separate and adjacent to the house itself so has a separate private entrance and outdoor area. The room has been newly built and everything is modern and clean. I found the room a good size for a couple with lots of amneites like kettle, tea/coffee, tv etc, which you would often find in a hotel room but not most B&B's. Those that have commented that the room is too small or below standard are being unfair. For what they want they would have to pay 3-4x the price and stay in the HIlton. The whole point of staying in B&B's is for the charater and charm of the location, which this place has plenty! In addition the owners are absolutely lovely. Graeme and Sarah are very welcoming, extremley helpful and welcome you into their home as if you are one of the family. Their local knowledge is invaluable! And Sarah's breakasts on the veranda are irresitable! This B&B ticked all the boxes for me and I can highly recommend it to those wanting to get a real feel for Sydney by staying with locals in a local suburb but still being within easy distance by train into town and country.

Room Tip: Lorikeet room has a nice private entry and outdoor area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed in the Lorikeet room which has it's own separate entrance around the side of the main house. This made it easy for us to come and go as we pleased.

Although the room was fairly compact, it was perfect for us with a lovely bed, coffee making facilities and a very peaceful location.

We found the location ideal as we wanted to spend some time in the city (not too far away by train) and also see some of the nature surrounding Sydney.

The owner's Sarah and Graeme were very knowledgeable and helpful and we enjoyed relaxing with them on the large balcony area.

If we're in the area again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuttgart
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

please note some facts for for the small room visitors might miss otherwise: the small room is about 10 sqm with a tiny 3 sqm bathroom, you can barely walk around the bed, the room was reasonably clean overlooking some dead insects on the windowsill, you will not find an airconditioning, however a sat TV system, dont touch the curtains else the construction comes down on you, the house is in a leafy upmarket suburb but looks badly maintained and untidy with cobwebs everywhere and wood parts needing paint, it is hard to find, nothing signals it is a lodge, we preferred alternatives.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyrebirdBandB, Owner at Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
We have had many visitors from all walks of life stay at Lyrebird B&B. Almost all of our guests have loved the room and enjoyed their stay until this recent visit. We realise that alas we cannot please everyone. We are like an old homestead surrounded by bush which we share with beautiful Aussie nature including Kookaburra’s, Lorikeets, King Parrots, Possums and Bandicoots. Unfortunately this means we also share this bush with a few bugs. Welcome to Australia! Most people appreciate the term “rustic” and love the character of our traditional home. We are not a city hotel with perfectly manicured lawns and do not pretend to be. The price reflects this and if our guests prefer perfection, we are not the place for them. We have two options for rental including the Lorikeet Room and Lyrebird Lodge. This particular guest booked the Lorikeet room which as you can see from photographs and read on our website is compact at 15m2 including the en-suite, but has everything you need. The Lodge is a newly renovated 2 bedroom apartment with lovely sandstone walls and its own large veranda. It is completely separate to the Lorikeet Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The two-bedroom flat is very independent and separate (downstairs, separate entrance, no connection) from the main house. It's basically a daylight basement underneath the house. Free wireless internet. Off-street parking. Quiet location in the leafy Northern Suburbs (Roseville), down the hill from Pacific Highway, so there's no highway noise. Birds in abundance, especially kookaburras. It is not "fancy," like one might imagine a bed and breakfast to be. It is totally functional and decorated in what I would call "mid-century, middle-class Australian". No chintz. The shower is wonderful. The flat has a complete kitchen. Laundry facilities are shared with the house, including a clothesline. I didn't need them, so I didn't check to see if there's a clothes dryer. 12 minute walk to Roseville Station; 22 minutes to Chatswood. No hairdryer.

Note: This accommodation is suited to people who are very independent and don't need concierge-type help. We did not need touring suggestions, and they weren't available. In fact, we communicated with the owners by email and never saw them. It was fine for us, and we'll probably stay there next year. I did not rate "service" because there was no service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldJourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast
Address: 44 Findlay Ave, Roseville, Willoughby, New South Wales 2069, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Roseville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roseville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colonial, rustic Australian home close to National Parks,cafes, Chatswood Theatre, shopping centre and public transport with easy access to Sydney's city centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing