We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
Review of Bell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bell Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night. Felt like we were in the country with the service. Lovely people, lovely room and the fantastic complimentary breakfast was an excellent bonus for us. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 360Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    63
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
47
54
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

In a time of boutique Accommodation, we discovered this gem. Old fashioned, clean, quite, friendly, terrific.
Excellent prices. Did I say quite.
Great bed. A shower that I didn't want to leave.
Please take my advice. Stay there.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I found myself looking for a room in Melbourne for nights inclusive and either side of the recent Liverpool match at the MCG. I almost nearly but didn't quite have heart failure when I saw the rates around town, but then saw the Bell Motor Inn, and knowing Melbourne a bit, knew it wasn't too far from everywhere, so booked it. Really reasonable rates for the overall experience. The hosts were top of the pile for information, friendliness and have an obvious passion for their profession. The room was very large, the Bed was a Brand new King and the only problem with it was that I couldn't fit it in my suitcase. Brilliant sleep! Stayed an extra night and rearranged my schedule to get an extra nights good sleep in fact!

So in summing up I would be straight in at the Bell again especially as I had the Car and it more than provided what I was requiring! 5*****

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank its73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The property is marketed as a country style motel and it certainly is. Not glitzy like the Rydges Bell City across the road but pleasant, friendly, helpful and just plain nice. It is family owned and run and the people really do care if you are happy and comfortable. This is the sort of place we all love when visiting regional Australia.
The rooms are pleasant and if you want quiet they can give you a very quiet room. There are no elevators as there is only two stories and they do have handicap support equipped rooms.
It has all the things you might need for a stay of a week or so like microwave, fridge etc. as well as very comfortable beds, digital TV and DVD as well as air conditioning.
There is a pool for summer use and there is lots of parking which is free.
They have rooms with spa for the love-birds or those that just want to relax, yeah right.
The location is less than 10 minutes by road from Melbourne's Tullamarine Airport and probably 30 - 40 minutes from downtown Melbourne by tram.
It is close to the Austin Hospital and La Trobe University. Preston is a northern, light industrial suburb with a number of good pubs and reasonable restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: It is almost on a very busy street but they have lots of quiet rooms if you ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We would like to thank Rob and Beth the owners of the Bell Motor Inn for their hospitality, friendliness and compassion. We found ourselves having to go to Melbourne for a serious operation at the Austin Hospital and the Bell Motor Inn was the only place where we could go and stay for a long period the other Motels we would of had to move every other day. Rob and Kath welcomed us wholeheartly and not just for the money we paid Rob reduced our rate a couple of times and for this we were truly thankful. I have read these other reviews and I just don't agree with some of them I would recommend this Motel to anyone and when we are ever in Melbourne we will be staying there We also like to thank Chris and all the other staff that made our stay so easy. Rob Kath and Chris words cannot express how we feel about your generosity, hospitality and kindness. Thank you Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in the detached 2 bedroom unit was roomy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardDevonport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

We came here with a family member who needed a life saving operation at the Austin hospital. We have found both the owner Rob and his staff to be kind and honest in every way. We have been there two weeks and are looking at another three. thanks.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed in the budget room which faced road and knew there would be some noise and so not a problem. Room was spacious and had all things needed eg hair dryer ,table and sitting chairs
The building is some years old now and probably you could say that it is reaching a time where a programme of refurbishment is just about due eg repaint to lighten everywhere,change of dated wooden furnishings, brighter carpet and new air conditioners maybe
Continental breakfast agreeable although its a long bow to say its free . Six cereals provided but one container empty - maybe could add yogurt to menu
Free internet very useful but pay for paper a bit strange ie be bold say its free
Some may say a few quirky rules adorn the premises which are probably not really needed by intelligent people
Reception lady very helpful albeit not a minute to spare with many tasks
Overall we were happy with our stay but budget room only budget if others motels of same standard were dearer ie price was top for budget

Room Tip: Non buget rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
St. Georges Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Thornbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Motel

Property: Bell Motel
Address: | Cnr Patterson & Bell Streets, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Golden Chain Bell Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for Melbourne accommodation in a great location?At the Bell Motel, you are perfectly situated to explore and experience the delights of Melbourne. Conveniently located in Preston and only 20 minutes to Melbourne's CBD and Tullamarine Airport, 10 minutes to the Ring Road and Eastlink and close to a direct train route to the MCG, Etihad Stadium and Melbourne's Tennis Centre, the Bell Motel is ideally situated to meet the needs of both corporate and leisure travellers. The motel is located close to the Mercy, Austin, Heidelberg Repatriation and Warringal hospitals. Direct public transport to hospitals is nearby. We are also situated close to the Darebin International sporting complex. The Bell Motel offers true country charm close to the heart of the city. The motel has 33 rooms, including spa suites, which are well appointed and provide comfortable, secure and affordable accommodation.Free continental breakfast is also included. Our conference room can seat up to 30 people and provides excellent facilities for your next business meeting. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or chill out in our landscaped BBQ area - perfect for the busy executive or weary traveller. Access to the metropolitan and western ring roads is close by and tram, rail and bus networks are only a short walk away. We aim to provide a clean, safe and comfortable experience without being in a crowded environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Bell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Motel Preston, Greater Melbourne, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing