We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for long stays”
Review of Mantra Bell City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra Bell City
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for long stays”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for two months when we relocated to Melbourne, and I'd recommend it to anyone doing so -- the price was very reasonable and allowed us to take our time apartment hunting. The free shuttle service to the city in the mornings and afternoons is very convenient, and I even saw some guests get offered lifts to the train station a few times.

The 86 tram is a 2-minute walk away, but can take a fair while to get downtown. The train is slightly further (under 1km walk) but is faster.

The staff in all areas of the hotel were always really pleasant and polite when we spoke to them, and had no problems helping us out with various little things ("can we borrow some tape? would you mind stapling this for me? which train goes to blah blah blah?").

We were on the second floor facing west (toward Bell St, which is quite a busy road) and the road noise was not an issue for us at all. We tended to sleep with the window open too, since we like fresh air. The windows are huge, which sometimes meant the room got a little warm since it faced west, but nothing the AC didn't knock down in a few minutes.

My only complaint would be that the bed got a little much for me after two months -- the springs were a bit saggy and the mattress is probably due for replacing soon. Not a huge issue but one that management might like to keep an eye on as the beds get older.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east-facing side of the west wing would probably be a good bet. West-facing gets some m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeshhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi Jeshhh,

Thank you for the lovely review, we are really happy that you had a great stay here during your relocation. Amy, Kim and the Residences team loved your tips and recommendations, and wish you a happy housewarming for your new place! We've taken on board your bed suggestion, and have noted to check our ordering schedule, thank you. Looking forward to accommodating any friends or relatives that come to visit you in your new city.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    446
    244
    108
    93
See reviews for
295
238
104
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We chose this hotel as it was closest to family. Prior to check-in I requested a room with floor to ceiling windows above the 5th floor and was told that they had a few available so it shouldn't be a problem. Upon check-in we were given the 5th floor which did not have floor to ceiling windows (supposedly only rooms above the 5th floor have these) and a room with a large cement pillar smack bang in the middle of the room blocking the view. I then told reception my previous request only to be told that they were fully booked and to check back in tomorrow, I did this and once again was told to come back, this then happened again twice and I was finally moved to the 6th floor south wing. Although the view wasn't great (could only see construction) i guess i got what i asked for. Both rooms were nice although the second room was larger, the bathroom was slightly bigger and the appliances were of better quality. The buffet breakfast was worth the extra cost and overall the hotel was okay. Would still go back because it is the most convenient and is decent enough for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Della A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hi Della A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us, we appreciate it. We sincerely apologise for your room requests not going to plan, we are looking further into to how this could have happened, and how we can prevent the mishap again in the future. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room amenities, and had a chance to try our buffet breakfast. Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I had to stay at Bell city for 3 weeks for work. I asked for a room with large windows above floor 5 and away from the main rd. The reason for this was I had read the noise was a factor near the road and I wasnt keen on staying in a room that was previously a hospital room & since it was a long stay I didnt want the tiny windows either. Room was quite clean but the room attendents are much better during the week than on the weekend. On the weekend I sometimes wouldnt get clean towels and once it wasnt serviced at all. However this didnt ruin my stay because overall the staff and the hotel itself was great. There is a nice cafe downstairs and both restaurants serve n8ce meals. JD's is a lot cheaper & I would suggest that you stay at the rydges rather than the stayngo if you like a bit of peace. The stayngo looks like it has a lot of younger people that are enjoying melbournes attractions & when you have work the next day,noise can be a punish.I would request to go back if Im sent melbourne again. The reception staff were always friendly and helpful to me. The gym looks big in the pictures,in reality its not ting but its not huge either but they have what you need such as treadmills,weight machines etc and other takeaways arent to far. Its not close to the city but its close to the train station and a car hire plce is close by too. All up its a good hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bachuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Hi Bachuss,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your stay with us, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed it here while on your work trip. Your lovely comments about our staff are appreciated, and have been passed on. Thank you for passing on your feedback regarding the housekeeping, we will be looking into this and addressing it. Looking forward to having you stay with us again next time you are here for work or leisure.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here on a recent business trip. I selected the property due to its proximity to where my meeting was. Check-in was a little indifferent although to be fair it was quick. I was told that I'd been upgraded to a dual bed suite which really didn't mean anything as I was on my own.... Sure the room was large, very large and it had a kitchenette. But the V layout and the really small bathroom left me feeling like I was in a dual bed hospital room. The design, decor and layout was simply too clinical...... Bed was comfortable so no complaints.

The restaurant/pub was very good with a nice atmosphere, great service and good food. I'd probably stay there again if the need arose.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Hi Murray A,

We were pleased to hear that you had a nice stay, thank you for leaving feedback. We hope to have you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our recent visit to Rydges Bell City was our second stay as family live nearby and the location is ideal for our purposes. The room rate was very reasonable for Melbourne, in part due to discounts for being a Rydges Priority member and for staying a minimum of 3 nights.

The hotel has been converted from a hospital building and there are some issues with the layout of the rooms, in particular the bathroom which is very small and poorly designed. However, the rest of the Manhattan Studio Room is spacious, the kitchenette adequate and the views magnificent. We have eaten several times in Chill Restaurant and found the staff friendly and the food good and reasonably priced. JDs Diner is less impressive with noisy televisions and ordinary food.

On our first visit to Bell City our sleep was disturbed by traffic noises from Bell St so this time we asked for a room away from the traffic noise which was much quieter. Unfortunately, our sleep was again disturbed, this time by the testing of the loud speaker system at 9am on Friday morning (no mention of this when we checked in) and by inconsiderate guests who had a party on Saturday night of the floor above us. Despite a call to reception the noise continued and only stopped after I personally approached the night staff in my pjs. The hotel offers long stay apartments as well as short-term accommodation and it would seem that some guests view the hotel as a home from home.

In addition to the noise problems, we had issues with the cleanliness of our room. The shower leaked and there was a musty smell in the room due to the damp carpet. There were also inconsistencies in the standards of servicing. Some days our room was spotless but on one occasion it was only partly serviced, the bed unmade and the floor dirty.

Bell City is a huge hotel complex (800+) beds and there seems to be a lack of consistency in service and maintenance which should be addressed if it is to be worthy of its 4 star rating. We will return as it is so convenient and hope some of these issues are addressed for our future visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Bell St if traffic noise disturbs you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZephyrCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi ZephyrCanberra,


Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate the time taken. We are pleased to hear that the hotel is meeting your needs in terms of function and location while you visit family in Melbourne. The lack of consistency you experienced with housekeeping is something that we are currently addressing, with additional care taken will also be taken with maintenance to ensure this does not repeat. We are pleased to hear that you are a Priority Guest Rewards member already, and look forward to giving you an exceptional experience next time you stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Had to go to Melbourne to work and most of the places I stayed at for under $200 in the surrounding area had been pretty basic. Tried bell city for the first time and was very happily surprised. The room was excellent, very clean and modern and the location is very close to near by restaurants

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hi jamie T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are so glad that you enjoyed it. We are delighted that you were able to try some of the fantastic restaurants nearby, a few suggestions for your next visit are Estelle, Little Henri and The Moores Head. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Me and my family stayed at this hotel in the 2 bed manhattan room for 6 nights. It was amazingly clean, as described and very child friendly. Because my kids were quite young i preferred the open layout of the beds. The kitchen was clean (includes, stovetop and oven), there was a dishwasher available, and a nice view from our room (room S548). The only let down was the toilet/shower, not for its cleanliness as it was spotless! but for its small size. There is also a 4 level underground car park at very low cost (7$ a day). Overall i would stay here again no doubt. I will recommend this to a small family looking to stay in a room that has all the amenities you can find at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsemaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhianon D, marke at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hi gsemaan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed it. Looking forward to having you stay with us again, the resort pool will be great for the little ones in summer.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,150 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
238 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#89 of 160 in Melbourne
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Bell City

Property: Mantra Bell City
Address: 215 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Rydges Bell City)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Bell City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Bell City is located in Preston, just 20 minutes from the Melbourne CBD and airport, and within ten minutes of the Austin Hospital. It is close to both train and tram lines making it highly accessible to many of Melbourne's main attractions. Mantra Bell City offers guests stylish, well-appointed, fully furnished One and Two Bedroom Studios and Executive Suites with a kitchenette or full kitchen, business desk, wireless internet access, air-conditioning, in-room safe and LCD TV. Cot and high chair hire is available in all rooms on request and the One Bedroom Manhattan is wheelchair accessible. The onsite facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, extensive gym with sauna, business centre, dry cleaning and laundry services as well as 24 hour room service, two restaurants and bars and a handy cafe with convenience store. Mantra Bell City offer convenient access to both the CBD and Melbourne Airport, with both located an easy 9km from the hotel. Only a short drive away is the Mercy and Austin Hospitals, Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE (NMIT) La Trobe and RMIT Universities and the Darebin International Sports Centre. Mantra Bell City is surrounded by some of the inner north's best cafes and restaurants and is just a short 2 minute walk from the route 86 tram line. The tram runs from Bundoora to Docklands, through famous Fitzroy and Bourke Street in the CBD (including the iconic Bourke Street Mall). An easy 8 minute walk from Mantra Bell City is Bell train station, on the South Morang line and running daily between South Morang and the CBD. Getting the train to the AFL is a breeze as both Etihad Stadium and the MCG are easily accessible from Southern Cross and Jolimont stations respectively, located on the South Morang line. Please note: Mantra Bell City charges a cash bond of $400. Government issued photo ID is required at the time of check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bell City Hotel And Residences
Bell City Hotel Residences
Bell City Preston
Mantra Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing