We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Mantra Bell City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra Bell City
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
melbourne,australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here recently for a weekend and if the truth be told we had rather low expectations of what we would be in store for us however I am happy to report that we had a wonderful stay!
We were allocated a room on the 5th floor that had AMAZING views back over to the city and the western part on Melbourne, the floor to ceiling windows added a depth and drama to the room I hadn’t anticipated. Our room was clean, well laid out, with fabulous amenities, a great iron and a good quality hair dryer….sure the bathrooms are a bit on the small side but really how much time do you really spend in the bathroom , more importantly to me personally was the super comfortable bed with the good quality linen. We ate at CHILL the night we checked in as it was late and we didn’t want to venture out looking for food and both the quality of the meals ewe had and the service we experienced were great. The hotel itself is in a great position just an 8 minute walk to the Bell train station which takes you directly into the city or a 3 minute walk to the corner of Bell and Plenty Road to the tram stop, not as fast as the train but a lot more quirky… We liked the hotel so much we’ve booked again to stay over the Queen’s Birthday Weekend, I think we have now successfully found our little home away from home when we need to escape and have a bit of down time..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happychicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello happychicky,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
There are certainly some spectacular views from the higher floors of the hotel, we are very lucky to be in such a great location. Make sure you check out the Preston Market when you next visit, if you haven't already done so - the gozleme van there is not to be missed!
I hope you enjoyed your long weekend getaway and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    408
    231
    100
    88
See reviews for
279
220
93
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 months.
Nice place to stay .
Felt safe and location was good.
No issues and stay was comfortable.
Rooms were nice and kept tidy.
Lot of activities in the ground floor and felt lively.

Cons:

There billing system is confusing and you have to pay 1000 AUD + 4 weeks rent in advance.
Even if you are 1 day less in advance 4 week ernt they charge you 25 AUD fine :(.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zazee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi zazee14,
Thank you for your review. The deposit required for long stay and residence guests ensures that any incidentals or damage occurred is covered. We endeavour to outline all this clearly before you sign your agreement and apologise if this was misunderstood.
We are glad you enjoyed your time as a resident guest at Bell City and hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was booked for me. Security is everywhere. The foyer is noisy like a backpackers. The rooms are small. There was a chicken bone on the floor outside the room. Mirrors are broken at the lifts. Read the news stories and decide for yourself.

On the plus side there is a kitchen in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello DavidMcDonald,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we were really disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay.
We would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further and have messaged your the contact details for our front office manager.
We hope to have the chance to discuss this with you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Preston hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed in April 2014, for a week, we chose the location as we have relatives that live in Preston.
It was only 50metres from the tram that took us straight into city. The CHILL restaurant and bar was a great addition, as it was layed back and we could come and eat, have a coffee whilst watching tv or having a chat. Our room was spacious with a small tv with foxtel, (broadband is extra) The shower was the best thing in the room but there was lots of ingrainted mould, not a good look. The bed unfortunately was for us the worst, we both like firm beds and this was as soft as marshmallow, I think this comes down to a personal preference. Mcdonalds is a 10 minute walk down the road and Red rooster is 5 minutes walk. There are other restaurants in High Street as well as a Woolworths only 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear golfinchick,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
We were so glad to read that you enjoyed CHILL Restaurant & Bar and your time with us.
I have shared with the relevant department heads your feedback about the shower and they will be sure to investigate.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Im late writing this review, stayed in august 2013. Package included breakfast. The room was spacious with a lovely view of the city but when we arrived at the room there was an air circulation device in the room in the floor next to the bed, I asked for it to be removed in case I was to accidentally trip over it. I later regretted this as the mold/mildew smell half way through the night was terrible, rydges need to address this issue as it really was hard to enjoy our wedding anniversary night stay with the mold/ mildew smell in the room. Breakfast was fine not as good selection and range as other rydges hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khj835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello khj835,
Thank you for sharing your review with us.
Since your stay in August 2013 extensive work has been carried out to address the issues you described, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back, perhaps for your next anniversary in August 2014?
Should you be returning to the hotel, please contact me directly so that I can ensure you are taken care of Joel Day, front office manager joel_day@bellcity.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here 1 night for business assignment and this would seem to be the rationale for other guests as well.There was a mix of business and tourist at check in. First a general comment about Rydges properties. As a regular business traveller, the Rydges brand was not my preferred choice, however over last 12 months have stayed in several new properties and things are noticeably improved. Rooms are modern, service is improved, restaurants usually offer wider range of dishes. The Bell City complex is a redevelopment of an old hospital site and it is done very well. It offers severL different accommodation choices ranging from student accommodation, residences and the. Rydges hotel. My room at Rydges Bell City was pleasant, spacious and had a kitchen and small eating area. Bed was comfortable, windows opened, no guest noise so all pretty good. Now for the let down... I walked out of the smallest bathroom I have ever been in to be greeted by a quick knock on the door, followed by houskeeping walking in announced to my room. Thank goodness the skimpy towel that only just covered me. Apparently my room wasnt ready and had some of the usual equipment missing but a mix up at reception meant I had been allowed to check in. I yearn for the days when a good old fashioned safety latch would have prevented this unwanted embarrassment. Later when I calmed down I certainly noticed that the carpet also needed a good vacuum!
Can't comment about general area, but did not appear to be any amenities, cafes, shopping etc close by. Hotel has several nifty little cars for hire if you feel like taking a drive in to Melbourne CBD and some of the nearby trendy suburbs like Fitzroy. Taxis were easy to arrange but generally it seemed like this was a reasonable hotel for people who had a reason to be there or travellers who didnt mind being 30 minutes out of the CBD.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozbabetasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear ozbabetasmania,
Thank you for taking the time to share your very thorough review.
We were glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and please accept my apologies regarding the housekeeping entry. We have since reviewed our check in procedure to ensure that this does not happen again and regret that this issue occurred.
Should you be returning to stay with us you will be pleased to know that as well as the restaurants, bars and cafe onsite there is a variety of dining and entertainment nearby and the 86 tram line which departs only 50m from the hotel also runs through Northcote, Clifton Hill and Fitzroy and passes some of Melbourne's best bars and cafes!
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Had 2 nights here on a short stay. Room was very small but had all one needed in a compact space. There are 2 sides to this hotel, both are mirrors of each other. Sleep and go ( where I stayed) seems to be a transient blue collar hotel and Rydges on the other side a transient white collar hotel. Don't know what the rooms were like at Rydges but I suspect that may be a bit more up spec and up price. A word though on eating there. The restaurant in Rydges side is far better than the eatery at sleep and go. Priced accordingly of course.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello RLNR,
Thanks for taking the time to share with us your thoughts on your stay at Sleep&Go.
You are correct that all the facilities at Bell City, including restaurants can be used by guests at any of our properties.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Bell City

Property: Mantra Bell City
Address: 215 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Rydges Bell City)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Bell City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Bell City is located in Preston, just 20 minutes from the Melbourne CBD and airport, and within ten minutes of the Austin Hospital. It is close to both train and tram lines making it highly accessible to many of Melbourne's main attractions. Mantra Bell City offers guests stylish, well-appointed, fully furnished One and Two Bedroom Studios and Executive Suites with a kitchenette or full kitchen, business desk, wireless internet access, air-conditioning, in-room safe and LCD TV. Cot and high chair hire is available in all rooms on request and the One Bedroom Manhattan is wheelchair accessible. The onsite facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, extensive gym with sauna, business centre, dry cleaning and laundry services as well as 24 hour room service, two restaurants and bars and a handy cafe with convenience store. Mantra Bell City offer convenient access to both the CBD and Melbourne Airport, with both located an easy 9km from the hotel. Only a short drive away is the Mercy and Austin Hospitals, Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE (NMIT) La Trobe and RMIT Universities and the Darebin International Sports Centre. Mantra Bell City is surrounded by some of the inner north's best cafes and restaurants and is just a short 2 minute walk from the route 86 tram line. The tram runs from Bundoora to Docklands, through famous Fitzroy and Bourke Street in the CBD (including the iconic Bourke Street Mall). An easy 8 minute walk from Mantra Bell City is Bell train station, on the South Morang line and running daily between South Morang and the CBD. Getting the train to the AFL is a breeze as both Etihad Stadium and the MCG are easily accessible from Southern Cross and Jolimont stations respectively, located on the South Morang line. Please note: Mantra Bell City charges a cash bond of $400 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bell City Hotel And Residences
Bell City Hotel Residences
Bell City Preston
Mantra Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing