We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Tidy with Good Views”
Review of Mantra Bell City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra Bell City
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and Tidy with Good Views”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband, son and I have stayed here many a time for up to a week. The apartment style rooms are generally clean and tidy, and are great if you have younger children and want to prepare your own food. The beds are super comfy. The pool is over the other side near sleep and go and is a great size though too cold most of the year round and would benefit from some solar heating. The views can be amazing especially if you get the city side. Room service is from Chill restaurant and the food is very nice. One big problem is that the reception service can at times be quite poor and not enough staff appear to be on at peak times. Maybe they would benefit from a concierge service.

Room Tip: Ask for city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello Jessica L,
Thank you for sharing your great feedback. We are so glad that you and your family had a wonderful stay.
Thank you also for your feedback about the staff numbers at the front desk, I have passed this on to the front office manager and we will review our rostering in peak times.
We hope to welcome you back to Rydges Bell City soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    404
    231
    99
    88
See reviews for
277
220
92
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My 2 weeks stay at the Rydges was nice but it could have been better. Something's missing for peoples at the reception...the smile.
Rooms are very noisy and few nights i had to wake up in the middle of the night because there was a lot of noise in the corridor.
However, all the girls at the restaurant are very professional, very friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank antonio56520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi antonio56520,
Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, I will be sure to share it with the relevant department heads.
Rest assured we aim to deliver genuine and friendly service and I'm sorry that on this occasion we have not delivered.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Due to a cancelled flight, I had an unexpected stay at the Hotel. I had a lovely evening; room was above average with everything I needed. Room service at 2am followed by a large breakfast later in the morning after a prompt wake up call from Reception. Staff were courteous and helpful. Room overlooked a courtyard where I had easy access and enjoyed my morning coffee on the 4th floor. Plenty of access via numerous elevators. I have visited over 30 countries and wouldn't visit most hotels again. I'd stay at Rydges Bell City again in a heartbeat. Shame I only had 12 hours there. Only one suggestion I would give - Free WiFi would have been handy but doesn't change my review.

Room Tip: Level 4, South Side Room, preferably outside the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi Tamara K,
Thanks for taking the time to share your review, I am so glad we could accommodate you on what must have been a stressful evening after a cancelled flight!
You will be glad to know that when staying at Rydges Bell City our PriorityGUEST Rewards members receive free wifi, membership is free and you earn points towards free stays, so it's well worth joining.
We hope to welcome you back again, ideally in better circumstances!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I travelled with our baby to Melbourne. We wanted to stay out of the city, and the hotel was good in that sense. The hotel room (one bed Manhattan) was satisfactory, clean and roomy. The bathroom was very small and there were a few damaged elements, such as the door handle. It was good to have a kitchenette, although room service did not restock some supplies on the following day. The price was good for our stay. We were not asked anything about our baby when checking in, such as did we have a cot etc. We had our own, but I would have thought the hotel would ask. The front desk staff were not very friendly - they were polite, but for the hotel's star rating I would have expected a higher level of service. The car park cost $7 a day, but you can only exit and come back once in a day without further cost. There was not much alternative for parking, and it beats the city parking fees. It is evident that this hotel is aimed at conference facilities. As we were visiting friends in the area, we did not use any of the hotel's other facilities, such as pool and gym, nor use any of their restaurants or cafes on the site. There were a few good cafes nearby that we found within 5 mins walking distance on Plenty Road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Wanderer_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello Aussie_Wanderer_1,
Thank you for sharing with us your detailed review.
I have passed your feedback about the door handle onto our maintenance team and I would also like to apologise that you didn't feel the front office team were friendly on this occasion. We strive to deliver friendly and enthusiastic service and it's unfortunate on this occasion we didn't deliver.
Please do send us a personal message if you wished to discuss your feedback any further.
We hope to welcome you back again and so that you can enjoy our extensive facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne,australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here recently for a weekend and if the truth be told we had rather low expectations of what we would be in store for us however I am happy to report that we had a wonderful stay!
We were allocated a room on the 5th floor that had AMAZING views back over to the city and the western part on Melbourne, the floor to ceiling windows added a depth and drama to the room I hadn’t anticipated. Our room was clean, well laid out, with fabulous amenities, a great iron and a good quality hair dryer….sure the bathrooms are a bit on the small side but really how much time do you really spend in the bathroom , more importantly to me personally was the super comfortable bed with the good quality linen. We ate at CHILL the night we checked in as it was late and we didn’t want to venture out looking for food and both the quality of the meals ewe had and the service we experienced were great. The hotel itself is in a great position just an 8 minute walk to the Bell train station which takes you directly into the city or a 3 minute walk to the corner of Bell and Plenty Road to the tram stop, not as fast as the train but a lot more quirky… We liked the hotel so much we’ve booked again to stay over the Queen’s Birthday Weekend, I think we have now successfully found our little home away from home when we need to escape and have a bit of down time..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happychicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello happychicky,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
There are certainly some spectacular views from the higher floors of the hotel, we are very lucky to be in such a great location. Make sure you check out the Preston Market when you next visit, if you haven't already done so - the gozleme van there is not to be missed!
I hope you enjoyed your long weekend getaway and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 months.
Nice place to stay .
Felt safe and location was good.
No issues and stay was comfortable.
Rooms were nice and kept tidy.
Lot of activities in the ground floor and felt lively.

Cons:

There billing system is confusing and you have to pay 1000 AUD + 4 weeks rent in advance.
Even if you are 1 day less in advance 4 week ernt they charge you 25 AUD fine :(.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zazee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi zazee14,
Thank you for your review. The deposit required for long stay and residence guests ensures that any incidentals or damage occurred is covered. We endeavour to outline all this clearly before you sign your agreement and apologise if this was misunderstood.
We are glad you enjoyed your time as a resident guest at Bell City and hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was booked for me. Security is everywhere. The foyer is noisy like a backpackers. The rooms are small. There was a chicken bone on the floor outside the room. Mirrors are broken at the lifts. Read the news stories and decide for yourself.

On the plus side there is a kitchen in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello DavidMcDonald,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we were really disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay.
We would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further and have messaged your the contact details for our front office manager.
We hope to have the chance to discuss this with you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Preston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Bell City

Property: Mantra Bell City
Address: 215 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Rydges Bell City)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Bell City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Bell City is located in Preston, just 20 minutes from the Melbourne CBD and airport, and within ten minutes of the Austin Hospital. It is close to both train and tram lines making it highly accessible to many of Melbourne's main attractions. Mantra Bell City offers guests stylish, well-appointed, fully furnished One and Two Bedroom Studios and Executive Suites with a kitchenette or full kitchen, business desk, wireless internet access, air-conditioning, in-room safe and LCD TV. Cot and high chair hire is available in all rooms on request and the One Bedroom Manhattan is wheelchair accessible. The onsite facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, extensive gym with sauna, business centre, dry cleaning and laundry services as well as 24 hour room service, two restaurants and bars and a handy cafe with convenience store. Mantra Bell City offer convenient access to both the CBD and Melbourne Airport, with both located an easy 9km from the hotel. Only a short drive away is the Mercy and Austin Hospitals, Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE (NMIT) La Trobe and RMIT Universities and the Darebin International Sports Centre. Mantra Bell City is surrounded by some of the inner north's best cafes and restaurants and is just a short 2 minute walk from the route 86 tram line. The tram runs from Bundoora to Docklands, through famous Fitzroy and Bourke Street in the CBD (including the iconic Bourke Street Mall). An easy 8 minute walk from Mantra Bell City is Bell train station, on the South Morang line and running daily between South Morang and the CBD. Getting the train to the AFL is a breeze as both Etihad Stadium and the MCG are easily accessible from Southern Cross and Jolimont stations respectively, located on the South Morang line. Please note: Mantra Bell City charges a cash bond of $400 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bell City Hotel And Residences
Bell City Hotel Residences
Bell City Preston
Mantra Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing