We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NB”
Review of Mantra Bell City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Bell City
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“NB”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Certainly not my motel of choice. However, we stayed there as it was close to the North Git restaurant we had booked into. The room was very comfortable and quiet. Sadly the bath room was extraordinarily small and very poorly designed and dysfunctional. It certainly could do with some restoration.
Would we stay again? I think we would, however, I would do my research for another.

Room Tip: You need to ask yourself. Is the something better in the area?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everymoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello Everymoment,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review.
I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, however I was disappointed to read that you found the bathroom too small.
When you are going to stay with us next, please contact the in house reservations team either by phone or email reservations@bellcity.com.au and we can talk through your requirements and make sure we allocate you a room you will love.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    467
    248
    111
    96
See reviews for
304
242
111
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is our third or fourth stay at Rydges Bell City and may well be our last. In the past I would have raved about this hotel but on our last visit it was terrible.

Our room was the double Manhattan which we have stayed in before and is semi roomy but has a great view of the northern suburbs lights at night. There is enough of room for 2 kids, no bath and the bathroom is too small. As we didn't ask and they won’t think about it unless you do, we ended up with 2 queen beds instead of 1 queen and 2 x single. The beds did not have any kind of mattress protector and was simply a sheet (not even tucked in) and then the mattress. Some of the pillows had protectors but were coated in other peoples hair when you looked in the case (I’ve attached photos). I rang reception who said it was not in their policy to provide protectors and what do you want me to do about it. No further assistance was offered and we enjoyed a night on a mattress probably soaked with everyone’s bodily fluids and other people’s hair on our pillows. We certainly didn't sleep well in the supposed dream bed.

Don’t waste your time with dinner unless you are under 12yrs old. The meal is overpriced about $38 dollars for a main, and you get a bland and unsatisfying meal of a 200g steak with mash potatoes and half a carrot cut into three. Kid’s meals are $15 with a large plate of fresh cooked food and good choice for the kids and ice cream as well.

Breakfast has always been great and they have eggs cooked to order as well as pancakes and a large selection of continental choices. Make sure you get in early as the continental choices of Danishes and fruit are not topped up!

The service on this occasion was very poor. We have a rydges card and really what is the point! You are left with the staff looking at you like penny pincher rather than a priority. We had to point out on check in what we were entitled to as the staff member really could not be bothered. At dinner I handed my card which was looked at by the staff member and then handed back with no discount applied. We were entitled to a late checkout of 1pm as part of the family package but told to check out at 10am.

The hotel provides great value but has gone downhill in the last couple of years. The rooms are grotty, the reception staff are rude and dinner is waste of time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Front Office Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Alexandra

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations.
I assure you this is not indicative of our usual high level of customer service and standards we are proud of.
We are happy to inform you we have recently ordered a large shipment of mattress and pillow protectors to boost current stock to ensure rooms are not missed.

The response you received was not acceptable and we are currently undergoing a retraining program with both housekeeping and front of house staff using this incident of as an example of where we have fallen short.

In regards to CHILL Restaurant we are also working on a new concept of dining with a view of developing a menu which should hopefully meet the need and tastes of all our travellers. We have also reiterated with the CHILL Bar and Restaurant staff the importance of recognising our Priority Guest Rewards Members especially in regards to the benefits you are rightly entitled to.

I was unable to locate the meal charge on your room account so I assume you either paid cash or card. I would be happy to extend the discount which was not applied to you now. If you could contact me joel_day@bellcity.com.au listing the final dinner amount and the method of payment, that would be much appreciated.

I trust this finds you well and look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Joel Day
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Preston hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Ajdovscina, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here on business recently only because it was near my colleagues place. Had a strange arrival, nearly died turning into the place as a guy ran a red light on the main road. The place was busy and I was ignored once then checked in but it all seemed very rushed.
Then in the lift a big guy who smelt of god knows what said he knew where to find some nice girls!! The rooms were nice, views not bad and quiet enough. Bathrooms are small but the bed is very comfy. Went for a drink at the Stolberg I think it was and that is a great little pub. On the way back, there seems to be a lot of seedy looking characters hanging around.
When I told my colleague the next morning, he laughed and suggested I stay at the Quest Ivanhoe instead (it was closer anyway). So I did and was glad I moved. Much better choice as the restaurants in the area are unbelievable and there is a supermarket on the corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBornTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Front Office Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi TheBornTraveller,
Thanks for taking the time to share your review.
We were glad to read that you enjoyed your room and sweeping Melbourne views. The Rydges Dream Beds are a league of their own aren't they?
Sorry to hear that on this occasion another property was better suited to your needs, we hope to welcome you back to Bell City in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Wow it was great. Would highly recommend. We stayed 2 nights with 2 adults and 2 children in 2 bedroom Manhattan. Was very roomy and comfortable. Lots of parking close to trains, tram and buses. Great customer service at front desk.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi Kristy M,
Thanks for the great review, we are so happy to read you and the family enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a number of times for business as it's so close to our offices. Rooms are clean and comfortable and you can open a window for fresh air. Beds are heavenly and I look forward to my sleep there! Only bad comment would be the cost of the room service menu and it is not as varied as it used to be.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi gregmas,
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Rydges Dream Beds certainly guarantee a great night sleep!
Thank you for your comments about the room service menu, we have passed this onto the restaurant and bar manager and he will raise this with his team.
Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, WA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Pretty happy with almost everything, food was good, location is good, parking is good. Had to wait a very long time everytime I was at reception. Not enough reception staff. The room was very nice, but as I walked into the bathroom, almost went head over heels. There is a 10cm raised edge to get into the bathroom and nothing to warn you about it. How they haven't been sued over it is a surprise. Needs to be addressed immediately.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewlyWeds8408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi NewlyWeds8408,
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
I have flagged your concern about the step into the bathroom with the engineering team and they will be sure to investigate further.
Hope to see you at Rydges Bell City again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed in a 1 bed Manhattan on the top floor with a great view of the city. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the décor modern and pleasing to the eye. Full marks to the bar staff who gave us dinner drinks complementary after recognizing that they had left us waiting for service.
The neighborhood is cosmopolitan and a short walk right into High street leads you to fantastic Vietnamese/Asian restaurants. Train and tram routes are also a short walk away with Melbourne CBD about 30 minutes ride.
We paid $107 a night and so for unbeatable value alone, it has to be 5 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodandi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello nomadMelbourne,
Thank you so much for your glowing review, we were so glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. If you haven't already, when your next with visiting make sure you visit the Preston Market, just a drive or train trip away it really is a food lovers paradise!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,181 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
253 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#89 of 160 in Melbourne
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,087 reviews
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Bell City

Property: Mantra Bell City
Address: 215 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Rydges Bell City)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Bell City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Bell City is located in Preston, just 20 minutes from the Melbourne CBD and airport, and within ten minutes of the Austin Hospital. It is close to both train and tram lines making it highly accessible to many of Melbourne's main attractions. Mantra Bell City offers guests stylish, well-appointed, fully furnished One and Two Bedroom Studios and Executive Suites with a kitchenette or full kitchen, business desk, wireless internet access, air-conditioning, in-room safe and LCD TV. Cot and high chair hire is available in all rooms on request and the One Bedroom Manhattan is wheelchair accessible. The onsite facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, extensive gym with sauna, business centre, dry cleaning and laundry services as well as 24 hour room service, two restaurants and bars and a handy cafe with convenience store. Mantra Bell City offer convenient access to both the CBD and Melbourne Airport, with both located an easy 9km from the hotel. Only a short drive away is the Mercy and Austin Hospitals, Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE (NMIT) La Trobe and RMIT Universities and the Darebin International Sports Centre. Mantra Bell City is surrounded by some of the inner north's best cafes and restaurants and is just a short 2 minute walk from the route 86 tram line. The tram runs from Bundoora to Docklands, through famous Fitzroy and Bourke Street in the CBD (including the iconic Bourke Street Mall). An easy 8 minute walk from Mantra Bell City is Bell train station, on the South Morang line and running daily between South Morang and the CBD. Getting the train to the AFL is a breeze as both Etihad Stadium and the MCG are easily accessible from Southern Cross and Jolimont stations respectively, located on the South Morang line. Please note: Mantra Bell City charges a cash bond of $400. Government issued photo ID is required at the time of check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bell City Hotel And Residences
Bell City Hotel Residences
Bell City Preston
Mantra Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing