We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for purpose but not special”
Review of Mantra Bell City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Bell City
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
977 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Adequate for purpose but not special”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My experience is of a university prize-giving ceremony at the function centre/ballroom at the Rydges complex. We found the venue spacious but very plain and utilitarian in terms of design. Service of drinks was competent. Outdoor parking was congested and arrangements for paying for parking before exiting were unclear.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alys-Schatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Alys-Schatzi

Thank you for taking the time to share on your experience here at Bell City. I’m pleased to share new signage is being rolled out within our car parks to enhance our guests arrival & departure experience.
We’re going through a roll out of upgrades within our Event Centre also, of Audio Equipment and decoration, keeping it flexible to support the different requirements of each event and organiser. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bell City to experience these enhancements.

Alex Lohe
Senior Sales Manager - Conference and Events
Bell City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    465
    248
    111
    96
See reviews for
302
242
111
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulladulla, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A friend and I traveled down to Melbourne for a visit. Bell City is a small complex of 3 or so hotels. Rydges is in the back corner when you drive in. They have lots of parking out the front, but also underground parking if this fills up.

We got an excellent deal for 4 nights here! Super impressed with the quality of the hotel for the price we paid.

Our room was 2 single beds and had a small kitchen with a stove top, mini fridge etc. Perfect for longer stays if you wish to prepare food. The rooms are very modern and the beds as always in Rydges are super comfortable. We had room service one night, it was good, typical of Rydges menu, we had the pizza.

We did have one problem on our last night with the toilet that would not flush, I called the service desk, someone came up and checked within 10 minutes, they couldn't fix it as it was after hours they very quickly without us asking moved us into a bigger room. I was very impressed with the service.

All and all we had a great stay and will visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraJDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi Tara

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Your stay sounded comfortable and relaxing. I'm sorry to hear about the maintenance issue but am pleased to hear you were well looked after. Hope to see you again soon.

Joel Day
Front Office Manager
Bell City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Is good value for long stay options. Rooms are kept clean and house keeping good
Restaurant is good
Gym is average but free
Laundry is good and cheap
Wifi is expensive and should be free
Tv isn't the best
Hotel new agency is handy
Is good value for long stay options. Rooms are kept clean and house keeping good
Restaurant is good
Gym is average but free
Laundry is good and cheap
Wifi is expensive and should be free
Tv isn't the best
Hotel new agency is handy

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarvisbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi Jarvisbay

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Joel Day
Front Office Manager
Bell City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

my wife and I stayed there for 2 nights . the reception staff were very helpful and efficient . the room was a ok with great views . only down full was water was leaking from shower to the floor near the bed but house keeping were magnificent in fixing the problem

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank happybrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi Brad,

Thank you for the kind words regarding our Front of house Staff. I will be sure to share this with them all. Sorry to hear about the shower running over but glad to hear it was resolved quickly and efficiently by our Housekeeping Department. Hope to see you again soon

Joel Day
Front Office Manager
Bell City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Rydges Bell City used to be a hospital. It must have been a pretty plush joint. The rooms are large and without exception have fabulous views over Melbourne - the name 'Manhattan Room' they use is not exaggerated. The beds are so comfortable and all the fittings are first class. Cleanliness is thorough. Despite these classy factors the room tariffs are extremely reasonable, bordering on budget prices for Melbourne.
Other notable advantages includes easy access by car on primary roads (a morning trip to the city takes 20 minutes), public transport a couple of minutes walk, secure car parking, 24 hour reception.
The adjacent restaurant is not bad but it's hard to beat the eating quality in nearby Carlton.
When travelling to Melbourne this hotel is my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for the South Wing - stunning view of Melbourne City
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi Anthony,

Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. Its always great to read such positive feedback from a guests stay. I am also a big fan of the Rydges dream beds and If you are interested you can actually purchase your very own through the Rydges Website. Hope to see you again soon.

Joel Day
Front Office Manager
Bell City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We have often used Bell City to stay close to family on the north side of Melbourne (about 10 km from Melbourne CBD). They have an excellent loyalty program and as frequent stayers we often score a free night. Their prices are excellent; the rooms are large, bathrooms are very small but quite functional. The on site deli is great for a quick cheap breakfast. Plenty of undercover parking at cheap prices, and a basement laundry. Fairly close to good restaurants and a big shopping centre. Public transport close by.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi Lynne

Thank you for the great feedback. It is always a pleasure to welcome back our Priority Guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Joel Day
Front Office Manager
Bell City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at the Rydges Bell City for work. This is a very large hotel with several wings, on one of Melbourne's busiest motorways. The arrival is very difficult as there is nowhere to park your car during check in. The check in was friendly and helpful with an extra staff member allocated to chat to guests and promote the loyalty program whilst waiting in the queue.

Once you have checked in and payed the extra parking fee, you get a pass to allow you into the multi level basement car park, which is almost impossible to manoeuvre into from the reception area. The room was freezing cold on arrival and I could not get the heater to work, I tried to call reception but was put on hold for a very long time. After 30 minutes the heater started to show signs of warming up.

The room was compact and had a small work table and couch, but the bathroom was to small to be practical. If you are on the tall side you cannot even bend over without hitting your head on the wall and the horrible shower curtain draws in and gives you a cold shock. The shower mixer is very sensitive and the shower was either to cold or to hot, not at all enjoyable. The bathroom is a silly design because there is enough space in the bedroom to allow for a larger bathroom.

The in-house “Chill” restaurant had friendly staff and very nice meals but the servings to small and expensive, a basic dinner for 1 was almost $70. The breakfast is also in the chill restaurant and had all the basics plus a small range of precooked items. Just a block away in High Street is a huge range of exotic restaurants and I had a great multi course meal and drink at the “Basil House” for just $17.

As a member of the loyalty club you are supposed to get free WiFi and meal discounts, but the WiFi was unreliable and the discounts were not applied. I tried to get help with the WiFi but once again was put on hold forever and gave up in the end. The hotel has a small store in the lobby that sells all those last minute items and some groceries. At around $180 per night the hotel is OK but customer service could be better.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi Peter.

Thank you for your review from your recent stay. I am sorry to hear of the phone delays you experienced during your time with us. These service issues are a key focus we currently have and I will be sharing your concerns with the team this week. I hope in the near future we will be able to show you these words did not fall on deaf ears. Thank you again,

Joel Day
Front Office Manager
Bell City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,177 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
253 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#90 of 160 in Melbourne
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,084 reviews
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Bell City

Property: Mantra Bell City
Address: 215 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Rydges Bell City)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Bell City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Bell City is located in Preston, just 20 minutes from the Melbourne CBD and airport, and within ten minutes of the Austin Hospital. It is close to both train and tram lines making it highly accessible to many of Melbourne's main attractions. Mantra Bell City offers guests stylish, well-appointed, fully furnished One and Two Bedroom Studios and Executive Suites with a kitchenette or full kitchen, business desk, wireless internet access, air-conditioning, in-room safe and LCD TV. Cot and high chair hire is available in all rooms on request and the One Bedroom Manhattan is wheelchair accessible. The onsite facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, extensive gym with sauna, business centre, dry cleaning and laundry services as well as 24 hour room service, two restaurants and bars and a handy cafe with convenience store. Mantra Bell City offer convenient access to both the CBD and Melbourne Airport, with both located an easy 9km from the hotel. Only a short drive away is the Mercy and Austin Hospitals, Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE (NMIT) La Trobe and RMIT Universities and the Darebin International Sports Centre. Mantra Bell City is surrounded by some of the inner north's best cafes and restaurants and is just a short 2 minute walk from the route 86 tram line. The tram runs from Bundoora to Docklands, through famous Fitzroy and Bourke Street in the CBD (including the iconic Bourke Street Mall). An easy 8 minute walk from Mantra Bell City is Bell train station, on the South Morang line and running daily between South Morang and the CBD. Getting the train to the AFL is a breeze as both Etihad Stadium and the MCG are easily accessible from Southern Cross and Jolimont stations respectively, located on the South Morang line. Please note: Mantra Bell City charges a cash bond of $400. Government issued photo ID is required at the time of check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bell City Hotel And Residences
Bell City Hotel Residences
Bell City Preston
Mantra Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing