We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassled on the Golf Course”

Aphrodite Hills Golf Course
Ranked #5 of 12 things to do in Kouklia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hassled on the Golf Course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Part of a 12 man group from the UK staying in the Intercontinental and playing golf at Aphrodite Hills and other courses in the area in November. Arrived at Paphos during a heavy shower and were lucky to avoid the rain that was around during our 4 days of golf. Excellent hotel, rooms, food and service but too many feral cats (sometimes as many as 8) allowed to wander around on the dining terrace for my liking.

Aphrodite Hills is a great course, but unfortunately the golf was spoiled by overzealous marshals harassing us for slow play on both occasions we played there. Other groups I spoke to had similar complaints. We played 4 balls at a similar pace at other courses nearby without any trouble at all. If Aphrodite Hills only wants low handicap golfers they should say so. I for one won’t be returning - far too expensive to have my enjoyment spoiled by Brit marshals with attitude.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    43
    13
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“loooong ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

cours is excelent with not usual views. hole no.7 is unforbidden. driving/riding from 2 to 3 is 1km and couple of other attractions. say hallo to David, marshal, he is excelent, his way of treating people. do not meet the other one, rude, always bad mood treating peaople like a slaves.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank podolro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great layout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I played this course with a friend on the excellent twilight rate (normal rate is a bit steep). The course is a definitely a resort style course as it weaves it's way around the houses. Generally there is more than enough room to play but a few holes are a bit close. It's in good condition with some stunning holes especially a par 3 across a ravine that is accessed down a dare devil cart path that takes your breath away. Definitely worth a game.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scotadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a course!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

One of the best courses you will play! Great condition, fantastic scenery and great facilities.

Depending on the time of year they have some great offers for 'twilight' golf which offers real good value. And also depending on how hot it is try and play early or late....it gets hot!

But a must play for all golfers. I can also recommend the club house for food and drink with a nice terrace over looking the 18th green.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good spot for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great place to have lunch in the afternoon. Can highly recommend the steak burger. One of the places on the resort that is not ridiculously expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aphrodite Hills Golf Course also viewed

Kouklia, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Kouklia, Paphos District
 

Been to Aphrodite Hills Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing