We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner”
Review of Pithari Tavern

Pithari Tavern
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Kouklia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in the Village Square, this traditional Greek Cypriot Tavern offers authentic island cuisine. Guests can enjoy island cooking and classic tavern-type food, choosing either a customary meze or delicious à la carte options. Enjoy themed evenings such as ‘Cyprus Meze Night’ with live music.
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Really enjoyed eating here. Food was great, very attentive service and tables far enough away from each other to be have a nice intimate feel. It was my wife's birthday and the guys on the guitar serenaded her with a song which was nice. There was also some traditional Greek dancing by another act which was also good. Food was also really nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    26
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Out to lunch”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is based on the 'five star' Aphrodite Hills resort and appears to be run as an adjunct to the resort hotel.

We have been for an evening meal maybe twenty or so times over several years.

In the early years it was pretty good. They did a good meze, with a wide variety of dishes, mainly good.

In the later years it has gone well off the boil.

Food and service have slid down the hill. prices have gone over the top.

There are other restaurants in the same square, all part of the same group. On one visit recently our Meze included what appeared to be a few dishes left over from the nearby Asian restaurant.

Service was elusive.

Our last visit had to be aborted because we arrived to find the place closed up. We had checked the advertised opening hours, but it seems that these cannot be relied upon.

Apparently the management decide when to open depending on how busy the resort is. They think that it is good policy to shut up shop,on the day without further explanation, even though they have informed their customers that they will be open.

We won't be going again in a hurry.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In The Eyes Of A Child, Paphos Cyprus”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

it is a very nice resturant with good food & good entertainment

but there are very big portions and extremely slow service i advice not to order starters
the decor is very pretty but there are about three cats crawling around so if you are afraid of cats I advice you to sit in the corner by the kitchen as i don't think you can sit inside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NicoleW670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A popular place with good food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We visited on two occasions, both great. We were in a large party and it was very busy, having to book well in advance. The Aphrodite Hills Resort hotel guests on all inclusive can eat certain foods in these restaurants as part of their package, making it busy, but this added to the atmosphere. There were lots of Cypriot people eating here on a Friday night also, which is a good sign as to the quality. They have a couple of guys on guitars who go around from table to table with a tambourine and maracas which we they give to you and which you shake to their musical accompaniment. Great fun - we all ended up dancing around the table! The food superb - try the Meze if you are hungry - the best value. It is not cheap as most places on this resort. You are a captive audience and don't they know it! We would recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandkPenzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Family Experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Great food visited twice, great night both times. Situated in Village square so lots of other families & kids met up with other kids on playground in between courses.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank brady_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pithari Tavern also viewed

Kouklia, Paphos District
Kouklia, Paphos District
 
Kouklia, Paphos District
Kouklia, Paphos District
 
Kouklia, Paphos District
 

Been to Pithari Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing