We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Waters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Waters
Ranked #1 of 6 Kundapur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I am back from what people call the Perfect Getaway and the credit goes to Blue waters. We had booked 2 nights stay in the Back water suite at Blue water Kundapura; which is full of positives, location, staff, room view, cleanliness, size of room, food options, swimming pool, tt table all were really upto resort standards even though they don't market themselves as a resort. Manager Ashok definitely needs a special mention; he is available at the property at all times and really helpful.
We had no trouble in travelling around even if we dint have our own vehicle. Auto was arranged by Ashok which picked us up at the entrance and dropped us back. Bus stop is 2mins walk away from the property from where we can buses to Kollur, Mangalore and other hot spots.
Even though it is very much in city limits it still has the solitude feel to it as it is facing the vast back-waters.
Kundapura as such can be touted as Karnataka’s very own Gods country and as all potential to attract tourists if right facilities are given.
Marvanthe, Kodi beach are at an auto ride away from blue Waters.
I really have no negatives about the place. One more important thing about booking, this place has no tie-ups with any off the booking sites, so don't be fooled by booking sites showing no availability. Make sure you call up the place to check availability.

Room Tip: First floor Back water suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    31
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were about 3 families and decided to have a weekend at Blue Waters. We were not sure of what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. Blue waters is a well maintained property with superb rooms, ambiance, excellent service & food. The view of the Back waters is simply amazing and just refreshes you. We also went on a boat ride arranged by the resort (@ extra Cost) where they take you to a nearby island which is quite a good experience. The package includes room and complimentary breakfast. The rooms are very neat with all modern interiors. We opted for the standard rooms, however if budget is not a constraint, i would recommend rooms that face the back waters and suggest for rooms at 1st floor. Complimentary Breakfast provided is very nice with lot of things ranging from fruit juices, cereals, dosas and eggs varieties etc.Gym rooms is there which comprises of TT Table, gym equipments and indoor games like carom etc. Swimming pool is good and very well maintained and also has a small baby pool attached. Personnel's present are very polite and offer excellent service.

Overall a great place for a quick getaway........

Room Tip: Opt for rooms facing the back waters at the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EkuScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Many thanks for the wonderful stay at 'blue waters'. We had mixed reviews before we arrived, but I can now say that I would strongly recommend this place without a shadow of doubt. Good value for money. Excellent hospitality and wonderful service. Boat ride was interesting and we had great pics of the sun set.

Many thanks to Iyyaz for his courteous welcome and having been there for every little help when required. Sanjeev anna - u r simply the best when it come to Good Service!

Shetty Family

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Saishetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed as a family with a 6 year and a 9 Year old. The hotel is clean, comfortable and staff extremely courteous. The hotel is in the main city and walkable from the bus stop. They don't have a beach but have a pristine beach 5 kms away.
Rooms : Good views, Big, clean, comfortable. Beds were slightly small for us so we got extra mattress for the kids.
Food : We only had the breakfast which was very good. They also packed food for the kids since we were going out which was such a relief.
Pool : Clean and well maintained. Kids enjoyed themselves a lot.
This hotel is ideal for travelers. Highly recommended. Keep it up!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I am usually very critical of hotels...but this one stands out as an excellent property. We drove down from Bangalore and reached the hotel at about 4 pm. It's a smallish kind of a hotel, but the rooms are massive. The hotel is a nice cross between a resort and a homestay. Lovely service - Ashok stands out for his amazing levels of service. Food is very tasty, and they have a good breakfast spread.

When we checked in, they didn't have river view rooms...but they gave us one for our last nite - and it was the icing on the cake. Lots of things to do around the property. My son and I went fishing in the backwaters and it was an unbelievable experience.

I'm going back there as soon as I can.

Room Tip: Go for river facing rooms...on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SachitMurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Pennant Hills, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We traveled as a family from Sydney, Australia, with a 1yr old and a 4yr old. The Blue Waters in Kundapura offered a level of comfort and luxury that exceeded our expectations. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff were extremely friendly in making sure we were looked after. The rooms were very clean, very comfortable and spacious enough for all of us. The balcony and views of the river are spectacular, each balcony offers high levels of privacy if desired.

The hotel staff ensured our breakfast requirements were met, offering both traditional South Indian and continental breakfasts, we highly recommend trying the breakfast "buns". Located a short walk from Kundapura bus stand, the hotel would be an ideal base to visit surrounding regions or to simply idle away time watching the river boats drift past.

I highly recommend this hotel for any travelers, particularly if you are after modern, clean and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The river view rooms have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santosh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were 3 friends driving from Goa headed towards Mangalore but due to bad roads and not safe to drive during night, we planned to stay in some hotel in Kundapur. When we searched online, we came across Blue Waters. We confirmed our arrival to hotel staff on call. When we arrived, we were so tired, we headed to a luxurious room. It was awesome. We ordered food. Food was fantastic and the hospitality was too good. Had a nice sleep and Morning Breakfast was awesome yet again. English food to varieties of South Indian dishes available is just amazingly tasty. Also some good amenities with Gym and Cycling facilities just makes the morning perfect. Thanks Blue waters for wonderful hospitality provided. Wish to visit you soon. Thanks for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in 1st floor and facing Back Waters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinayKamath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundapur
1.7 mi away
UVA Meridian Bay Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
Paradise Lagoon
Paradise Lagoon
#2 of 24 in Udupi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
20.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Manipal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
juSTa Turtlebay On Sea, Kundapur Resort
21.2 mi away
Wild Woods Spa and Resort
19.2 mi away
Paradise Isle Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters

Property: Blue Waters
Address: Fort Gate Holiday Homes, Fort Gate | Near Inspection Bungalow, Kundapur 576201, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Kundapur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kundapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Kundapur, India - Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing