We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good lodge for a one night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Davvi Arctic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Davvi Arctic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“very good lodge for a one night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

a great wooden lodge with comfy rooms, near the swedish border at Lapland, Finland. Very nice surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BxL21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    237
    86
    34
    33
See reviews for
275
273
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

My husband bought me this 3 night trip to the Davvi Lodge as a wedding present due to longing to see the Northern Lights. He picked this company as they offered the chance to stay in a remote igloo as opposed to the more "popular" ice hotel.

Our main complaint was about our night in a "remote" igloo being effectively in the car park. My husband had booked the trip as the igloos were supposedly a 40 minute bus ride & then a skidoo journey out into the wilderness. Having wild camped in remote Canada, I was happy to have no wash facilities/loo ensuite in the hope to see the northern lights. We travelled all of 20yards to our igloo, hot chocolate spilling all down us as we struggled to each carry a sleeping bag, overnight bag, drink & gas lamp (meant to last throughout the night but only lasted 30 mins), open two doors and out across sheet ice. When we complained as to why we weren't staying out somewhere remote, we were told they'd had complaints from people about the igloos being too remote. That's why we'd booked them. Had we known we were sleeping in the cr park, we would have booked the ice hotel.

Other than that, the log cabin was lovely with our own personal sauna; daytime activities were very expensive for what you got and felt rather rushed; snow shoeing was taken by reps who'd never done it before & didn't know the area, only to lead us up a short rock face which lead to us having to take our snow shoes off & hike 2 miles back to the hotel. The food was ok but lacked choice & dishes served were not "local".

Be careful when booking...don't always believe the brochure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrissie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Had a very good holiday - although a number of travellers on our trip in March 2012 had genuine reasons to complain - flights, times of trips, (eg one husky northern lights trip both left and returned in daylight!), health and safety issues questionable in icy and very cold conditions, lighting around the hotel where many people needed to walk at night - to see the northern lights of course, etc.

Our own main complaint was that whilst finding the night time snowmobile trip both exhilarating and challenging, we were left wanting to further our experience both in the daylight and at a less breakneck speed. Having the optional excursion recommended to us by the staff, we booked a 3 hour snowmobile fell viewpoint daytime safari at a cost of £110 each. Not cheap. However we set off on this safari and were told that the 3 hours included getting and returning our gear - helmets. Unfortunately the safari went off at the same uncomfortable breakneck speed which in itself was very disappointing. We were not taken to a 'fell viewpoint' at all. On top of this, we left the hotel reception at 10am and were back in our room, (having returned our gear to the far side of the hotel complex and walked back along the icy path, through the hotel, down the spiral staircase) at 12.30!!!! This means that the 3 hour safari we had paid £110 each to enjoy, lasted barely 2 1/4 hours even allowing for collection and return of helmets!

A formal complaint form was filled in and left with reception for the person in charge. We heard nothing and wrote to Transun. Following exchanges of letters and emails, Transun have said their staff do not cut trips short (we have independent witnesses as to our return time) and said it was our own fault we did not enjoy the safari. Transun broke their contract to supply us with the excursion advertised but at this point in time have totally washed their hands of the matter. So unhelpful. We have been forced to pursue a refund through other channels.

I would like to say that Transun had a conscience and reconsidered their attitude and if they did, I would certainly report this on Trip Advisor but I seriously have my doubts.

So although we enjoyed the snow, scenery, experiences, we would recommend being very careful about what you actually book as it is unlikely you will get any good customer service once you have parted from your money.

In addition it is worthwhile bearing in mind that Transun have taken on a second hotel a mile or so away where customers have to be bussed to the Davvi for meals. Also the extra people put an additional burden on the already full excursions - hence a daytime trip to see the northern lights - too many people for the one night-time trip.

So - will Transun refund our money ? Watch this space!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank marie1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Northern Lights are fantastic. Davvi Lodge basic but clean. Food more than adequate. BUT... excursions are very expensive and if not already included in package, not a particularly good value. Cabin (semi detached) has paper thin party wall/door. Lighting and signage around complex poor so on our first winter/snowy/icy night in the dark finding the winter clothing/boots store was hard going, as was finding our cabin.
Be aware that if you have any issues, you are unlikely to get any satisfaction (no refund from Davvi) especially after payment & participation of excursions. Make sure you lodge your issues/complaints at Davvi before returning to UK (and don't expect Transun to be easy to deal with back in UK). Particularly don't take up any optional excursions without checking that the brochure description is going to be followed (both timewise and content), especially on the snowmobile fell viewpoint safari (£110 per person).
Please note that the "Igloo interlude" (£120 per person) is in the complex and about 10 feet away from other cabins, so forget the edge of wilderness. Can't see the point of paying for this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GrahamC2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed in the Davvi for a week at the beginning of April through a Transun/Groupon deal, including all of our excursions. We paid for the upgrade to a cabin which was well worth the money, and the sauna was a nice surprise when we got there.

The accommodation was pretty basic, but that's what we expected. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed and it was perfectly set up for the cold. I was amazed that I didn't moan about being cold the whole trip!

The food was a bit hit and miss, but it was understandable as their head chef had gone home (as it was season change over). The food improved considerable towards the end of the week though.

The excursions were definitely the highlight of the trip. In particular the husky mushing was amazing - a once in a lifetime experience. Snowmobiling and cross country skiing were other highlights. We were also incredibly lucky and saw the Northern Lights five nights of our trip, so couldn't really ask for more!

The staff were all incredibly helpful. My boyfriend became ill at the start of our trip and we had to go to the hospital. Robert, the manager, was brilliant at arranging everything for us and even telling us what we could and couldn't claim back on our insurance. They looked after us well when we returned from hospital and rearranged our trips for us so that we didn't miss out on too much.

Overall it was an absolutely fantastic holidays. Definitely worth going to if you enjoy winter adventures!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anda1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We have returned from a 7 day trip to the Davvi Lodge with Transun. The Davvi did not disappoint as we were advised by Transun that the hotel was basic but clean and warm with good 'wholesome' food. All of this was true. Our room was on Floor 1 (which is downstairs) but we had a magical view over the snow filled landscape. The room was well appointed (I think it had just had a redecoration) and warm. Visitors should take their own travel kettles and tea and coffee supplies as no free drinks available in the hotel between mealtimes. The Floor 1 was accessed by a tricky circular staircase which could cause problems if guests unsteady on their feet. The included activities were very enjoyable, especially Husky Sledging, and Cross Country Skiing. Night time Snowmobiling was an exciting self drive along 13km of the frozen river. Great! Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful 24/7. Paul the Transun rep was always on hand to help and advise.
We saw the Northern Lights on three magical nights from the hill behind the hotel (-26degC).
Recommended for active adults, but not for the unsteady. Children below 10 would be at risk of injury unless well supervised (by parents).

Room Tip: Rooms on Floor 1 are best (but be aware of the circular staircase)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travellerjunorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
178 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We booked a week long trip through Transun to see to Northern Lights staying at this lodge.
We stayed in a cabin which was well worth the extra money. The room is simply furnished but the bed was amazingly comfortable -large kingsize with lovely cotton sheets. There was also a comfortable sofa. The room was a little warm but it is easy to alter the temperature using the free standing radiator. The bathroom had underfloor heating and the sauna was a decent size - used it every day. There was an excellent shower with plenty of hot water. We took a kettle as recommended by other travellers -really useful. The cabin was attached to another but we never had any issue re noise from our neighbours.
The food in the restaurant was very like school dinners but plenty of it. A little disappointing that there were no Finnish specialities but when I asked about Reindeer meat I was told it was too expensive. The meal times are short breakfast is 0800-0930hrs, lunch is 1200-1400hrs and dinner 1800-2000hrs. There is a bar but it was quite expensive.
After dinner and before the walk up the hill to look for the lights there is not a lot to do. There is a TV lounge but only showing Finnish programmes.
We returned to our room and watched some programmes we had recorded on our iPad and drank whiskey we bought at the airport. A bit anti social but the lounge area is small and there was not always room to sit plus it was really airless.
The activities themselves were great - the collection from the airport was smooth and we were given our programme of activities on the bus. They had split us into groups and we had a lot of our activities at the start of the week with none on the Saturday. The worst activity was the Reindeer camp on day one but I think this was mainly due to the fact that they had 50 people on that trip. There were only 8 sleighs so there was a lot of hanging around. I spoke to others who did a smaller group trip and had more fun.
The snowmobile trip at night was beyond my expectation - the organisers had been taken by surprise with the change in clock and so we were delayed an hour to go out in the dark - 2100hrs start but well worth it as we saw the Northern Lights.
The call of the wild husky safari was great - we all got the chance to drive our own team.
Most nights we climbed to the top of the hill to watch for the Lights. On the night they came out in style we were standing at minus 20 C and it was breath taking. We definitely needed the thermal suits and boots provided.
For any down time you have it is well worth the short walk into the local Swedish town of Karesuando. The coffee and cakes at the Tourist Office are good and cheap. Also you get free wi fi. If you want some more food or drink then go to the local garage by the Lodge -even did fresh fruit. The cafe attached to that is good and I had a Reindeer meat sandwich (bit like venison) for lunch on the Saturday.
Finally for those that are worried about falling over take a trekking/walking stick with you -I got on in Debenhmans and found it really useful when the weather warmed up and the ground became a bit icy.
All in all this is brilliant holiday - the staff in the lodge and on all the trips were wonderful.

Room Tip: A cabin is the best option - you get your own sauna(the one in hotel you pay extra to use). You have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ExplorerBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Davvi Arctic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davvi Arctic Lodge

Property: Davvi Arctic Lodge
Address: Kaesivarrentie 3771, Karesuvanto 99470, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Karesuvanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
Hotel Class:3 star — Davvi Arctic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Davvi Arctic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davvi Arctic Hotel Karesuvanto
Davvi Hotel Karesuvanto
Davvi Arctic Lodge Finland/Lapland - Karesuvanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing