We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 3 star hotel but charges 25% taxes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Royal Highness
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tinsukia
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Not a 3 star hotel but charges 25% taxes!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a weeks' time. The reception area is shabby and I could not locate their "Lobby". Once you reach upstairs where the rooms are, it looks decent. The rooms are slightly smelly and the hotel staffs offered to spray some cheap room freshener which I promptly declined. The room and bathroom is just about okay and the bed is not at all comfortable. The food is average and the good part is that you can expect some local food even though the room service menu have no mention of it. The service is slow. The breakfast is complimentary but you have to knock and find people around to serve you some basic breakfast. What made me angry was their taxes which is 25%. Come on, smell the coffee, you are not even eligible for some 1 star. I have no clue from where the management or the owner have the impression of it being a 3 star hotel. Rubbish!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sumit_Dutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    19
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
1
1
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indian
Level Contributor
189 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This is a comparatively new hotel in Tinsukia and as a result rooms are very good. I was told that it was a 3 star rated property and going by the facilities on offer, I could not disagree. I decided to stay at this hotel after spending one night in Hotel East International.
As with other hotels in small town India, service was a tad slow but the staff were all very helpful which made up for the slow service. Breakfast is complimentary with the room, but it is not a buffet unless they have sufficient guests staying with them. Food quality is also up to the mark, albeit a bit expensive. Most corporate visitors to Tinsukia, who can afford the hotel's rates, prefer to stay at this new hotel. Check-in & check-out was handled efficiently by the reception staff.
All in all, a good experience in Tinsukia.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This is a new hotel in the town of Tinsukia and boasts of being three star. We shortlisted this hotel for couple of pre-marriage functions and the marriage function. The service and transparency in terms of billing and commercial deals of this hotel was terrible.

On 29th Nov, I hosted a party for frens and family. The dinner was to start at 8.30 pm, the dinner started at 10.15 pm! The starters were pathetic and cold. The starters were served in a ordinary tray without any heating arrangement in the last week of November in a roof top party.

On 30th Nov, another pre-marriage function was held in the afternoon. The lunch was to start at 12.30 pm, the lunch started at 1.30 pm. The non-veg and some of the veg items were missing from the buffet. The full lunch arrived only after half of the guests completed their lunch and that too the non veg items were half cooked.

On the 30th Nov, a dinner was organised for a max number of 180 guests. One of the sweet dishes and a tawa dish was missing from the buffet. The sweet dish was organised after 80% of the guests finished their dinner.

The food was OK but not what was served to us during food tasting. The rice was overcooked. The starters were cold and pathetic. The soup was OK on couple of occasions and was terrible on 29th Nov.

And most importantly, these people dupe you. During the dinner, no quarter plate or bowl was kept for sweet dishes, therefore lot of people used fresh plates for dinner and this resulted in additional number of plates being used. We had to pay for 50 such additional plates after negotiations.

We asked for additional rooms on 29th and 30th Nov. We were told that the all rooms are totally booked. On 29th Nov the hotel staff called us asking that for Guests havn't checked in yet. We told them we have no bookings on 29th as the hotel couldn't confirm us the rooms but they insisted that we have confirmed bookings. On asking for email confirmation(which we did send them for everything), they failed to show us anything.

On 30th Nov, the hotel was staff was not at all cooperative in terms of providing an early check in, though rooms were vacant.

Frankly, speaking you should not take a chance with this place for important functions. The Chef and the Resident Manager will talk of big things and assure you of every possible help but when their services are required the most they will fail miserably.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rishi_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tinsukia hotels

Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Frankly speaking, I was not expecting such a good property in Tinsukia, but it was a good one. Rooms are spic n span and food is good. Staff is helpful, as I did face some initial problems with the Ac and Coffeemaker, but prompt service was provided. Homely atmosphere was an added advantage, when you dont know anyone in the town. Recommendable place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ryanranjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Royal Highness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Highness

Property: Hotel Royal Highness
Address: G.N.B. Road | Khaitan Palaza, Tinsukia 786125, India
Region: India > Assam > Tinsukia District > Tinsukia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tinsukia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Highness 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic experience of fine taste,committed hospitality & serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Royal Highness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing