We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second trip - loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tumkur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Linger Devarayanadurga Hills
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I was there before in 2012 and absolutely loved the place. This was my second trip and this time it was with my team and their families. Everyone in the team just loved the trip! We got a chance to play, relax and bond together. We hiked and enjoyed the beautiful hills. We witnessed a full rainbow during the day and the Milky way in the night sky after ages. The campfire at night along with Music made us dance together and stay up till late at night talking to each other.
The tents were comfortable for a family and they took good care of us.
The food was fresh and delicious as usual along with unlimited Tea, Nimbu Pani etc. on demand.
Everyone in the team just loved the place.This was a relaxing vacation for all of us in its true sense.

Room Tip: All tents are good. Do ask the caretakers to fill in the little water tank/pool in the morning. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeTakesUsPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were looking for a stop over on our way to Bangalore and the Camp Linger office was kind enough to give us a stay at an hour's notice. Very helpful Booking staff!!!
The place is far into the interiors from the highway, about 15 kms on very very bad roads( road construction was going on).
The Camp is set in a mango orchard, a small clearing where 4 basic tents are set up, a small set up of 4 large granite benches around the fireplace, and a roofed shelter open from all sides as a sit out in the day time.
As far as the tents go-There is only lying down facility in the tent. Just a flat place covered with cloth on 4 sides!
When we reached at 5pm, it was very hot and we were pretty miserable.
After sun down it became breezy and from then on it was very pleasant. There is nothing to do but sit n relax or walk around in the mango grove.
Absolutely minimal lighting! It is like camping in your own garden, if you have a large enough garden.
Staff was very simple and very nice village people. Food was plentiful in portion and good.
Common toilets and bath a little away from the tents!
Extremely basic accomodation !! Like living in a village! No fans or any such convenience so beware in the hot season!
At night We planned to sleep on the chairs as it was hot, but it turned out to be very breezy so it was comfortable to sleep even in the tiny tent.
All in all, it was a different experience! Ok for a night's stay!!

Room Tip: Very basic and Rustic living!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khursheed Farok... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It's not everyday that you get a chance to live close to nature. City dwellers like me yearn for some silence, and Camp Linger is just what I needed.

If you need your TV in your room, if you even need the comfort of a "room" then this is not for you. But if you are game to staying in a comfortable tent, relish the adventure of sleeping literally in the open, then this is it!

My 4 year old son loved the tent, the treks, the birds and the general relaxed air that pervades the place. The food is outstanding. It's an open kitchen and you can ask for howevermuch tea, coffee, lime juice or buttermilk you want.

To enjoy Camp linger you have to want to be as close to nature as possible, and not want a holiday to be an extension of the bubble you already live in. Go for it, you will thank me for it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jishnu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had a great time staying at Camp Linger. As with all Linger properties, food was superb and the stay comfortable. Lots to do around, walk in the fields/trails nearby, visit the gherkins factory, trek to madhugiri fort, visit nearby places etc. Or you could just take a book, sit in the shade and soak in the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArpanDivanjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you want to celebrate your 8th birthday you could go to a Pizza Hut. But if you wanna celebrate your 28th it's gotta be here at Camp Linger! Close friends, wilderness, bonfire, barbeque - it doesn't get better than this. Super easy to make your bookings and extremely hospital staff make this an experience to remember. The intermittent rain and a chance of (not?) bumping to a wild bear add to the unpredictability of the experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanishkN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Each place speaks distinctly, some endure cultures and traditions. While some provide that personal touch. But for us with camp linger it has been a different experience, we have an emotional connect to the place. Our relationship has come this long a way with camplinger being a very special part of its growing.

Thank you so much. Our stay at camp linger was as beautiful as always. Right from the most hospitable care takers to the comfortable tents. The food also was good. We have been to Camp Linger 3-4 times by now and we felt this time of the year was perfect to be at Camp Linger.

Hoping to come back sometime again :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kavya_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Yes, this is certainly one place to linger. And one place, where you really want to do nothing. Just sit back and relax.

I'd been here with my family recently. Our mom, who was initially skeptical of staying in tents was pleasantly surprised to see how cozy it was inside the tent, complete with soft bedding and blankets. As long as the elders in your family don't have a problem sleeping at the floor level, you can take them.

My 6 year old enjoyed it too. The farm animals, the tank(dysfunctional at that point) and all the space to run around is something that city bred children are unaware of. Good for them too.

It is also good for the urban Bangaloreans who are looking to take a well-deserved weekend break, sit back and do nothing. But more than all of us, the one who had the best time was our pet dog. This is one of the very few pet-friendly places in Bangalore and there aren't any manicured lawns or expensive things around that your pet might trample on. So no worries there.

If you are a person who cannot stay doing nothing, then you can try one of the options - trekking, hiking or a visit to the gherkin's factory. You may also choose to chase the chickens or milk a cow.

One thing I felt could have been better was the reception and the meal timings. There was hardly anyone around when we arrived and we had to go around to find some human being to talk to and inform our arrival. Moreover, the evening tea was served really late, almost around 6 PM, while we wanted to have it around 4.30 PM. I also wished if they had provided an option to choose either coffee or tea.

Overall, it was a good experience. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: All tents are of high quality and equally cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Camp Linger Devarayanadurga Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Linger Devarayanadurga Hills

Address: Vishaal Farms, Tannenahalli | Dabbaspet-Korategere Rd, Korategere, Tumkur, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Tumkur District > Tumkur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Tumkur
Price Range: £17 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing