We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic property and a great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jupuri Ghar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jupuri Ghar
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Fantastic property and a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We reached after a 14 hour journey by train from New jalpaiguri to Furkating (The nearest rail-head) and then a 4 hour drive to jupuri Ghar. The immediate feeling was that of quaint, peaceful, solitude and bliss. The rooms were clean and big enough to accommodate 3 of us. The setting was very idyllic with canophy's like cottages on the opposite directions with a nice garden in between. The surroundings were very well maintained and the lawns were a nice sight. The staff was very helpful. A special mention should go to Irfan he took great care of us and he was one of the reasons that made our trip even more memorable. Early next day morning he booked us a jeep which too us to the Kaziranga Park. Post break fast he gave us direction about what we could do to kill time. Post lunch he again arranged us a jeep for a jeep safari and we had a 4+ hours safari. As soon as we got back he again arranged us a jeep which took us for small bit of shopping. And next day booked us Volvo Bus tickets to Guwahati and again got us dropped till the pick up point. Over all a fantastic stay.

I recommended one of my friend for his honeymoon and he too went gaga over this wonderful property and made a special mention of irfan.

Goona come back again very soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imransadath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    38
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
21
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My stay at Jupuri Ghar was more comfortable and pleasurable than I expected. Here is what I have to say about the place and what you can do:
1. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and pleasure to come back to when you are tired after a long day
2. The staff is very good, especially the manager Proloy. He is very helpful.
3. Apart from The Kaziranga Park which is an obvious destination, you can take a walk around nearby coffee, rubber and tea plantations.
4. Take a walk in the tea gardens after dinner. You will see a million fireflies around. The experience with blazing moonlight above is stunning
5. Take a trip to Majuli Island which will take you a day to reach. Stay for a couple of days for it is beautiful
6. Visit the village near Jupuri Ghar and see local life.

Suggestions:

1. The food could be much better.

I would recommend a stay here for those planning to do the things above.

Room Tip: I stayed in cottage no. 8 called Togor. It was very comfortable. All the other cottages are the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Jupuri Ghar was an excellent property.... Simply stunning - almost reason enough to stay here. It had a rustic vibe to it, but definitely enough conveniences. We had to go through a lovely tea garden to reach this beautiful place with well manicured lawns.. Our room was very clean and big with a little veranda.Excellent service and very good food.A must visit for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeghaliAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Kaziranga was always a must visit place for me and I could not resist from enrolling myself to travel with birding experts to this wonderful wildlife haven. The people who organise these trips used to stay in a different hotel in their previous visits and this was the first time they organized a stay at Jupuri Ghar.

Location - Jupuri Ghar is located in Kohora in Assam and though it is located about 215 kms from Guwahati it takes more than five and a half hour to reach this place due to a patch of bad roads and heavy traffic. And if one is starting from Guwahati in mid morning it is advisable to carry packed lunch or as we did, have lunch is one of the dhabas on the way which serve delicious food.

About the resort - The property which is just about 300 metres from the Kohora town and is built on a small hillock. The entry to the Central Range of the park is in Kohora only and is about 2 kms away from the resort. Tourists prefer this range to other ranges of the park. The Eastern Range is about 20 kms away. So if one to go to Eastern Zone then they have to start about 30 minutes early. The property has 8 stand alone wooden cottages on a concrete platform. The property which is not very big, is kind of rectangular in shape and the cottage are on the other end from the entry with four cottages on each side facing each other. The property does not have a swimming pool, which we never missed. In front of the property there are bushes and scrubs and beyond that is a tea garden and behind the property there are big forested hills. The property is enclosed by a wall. There is a bird trail with abundant birding next to the property which leads to the hills behind and we had a nice birding trip one morning which. We could see some old footprints of elephants just next to the property and we even saw a barking deer cross the road just in front of the property. So there is wildlife near the resort also. Also just behind the resort we saw Great Indian Hornbills which had built a nest in a tree. They have a birding expert who can help in taking one around the bird trail. Even though the property is located very near to the town and the main gate of the park which is frequented by lots of tourists, it was very calm and peaceful and one felt being surrounded by a jungle which birds chirping. But your cell phones will have network. They arrange for pick up and drop from Guwahati and can also arrange for safaris for the tourist. There is no room service either hence one has to go to the dining area for breakfast, lunch and dinner. However, the dining area is not very far from all the rooms, it hardly takes a minute to reach there. The property seemed to be well maintained and was clean.

Food: Our group occupied 7 of the cottages and hence, we used to tell them beforehand the menu which they used to prepare for us. We had lunch, breakfast and dinner (once it was Chinese) on all days during out stay. They serve both veg and non-veg food which was not spicy and very delicious. The food was relished by one and all.

Cottages: The cottages which are air conditioned, are quite big in size and were neat and clean. The bathroom has a geyser for hot water. The only problem was on our first morning when there was no water as they had closed the main water tap and we had to go and tell them to open it up. Also for sometime the water in the taps in the bathroom was very muddy and we had to keep the water running for some time to get for clear water. The beds were comfortable. The cottages had a small sit out in the front which faced the small garden in which some trees were planted which did attract some birds and macaques. Yes, you have to careful to lock the door of the cottage shut otherwise macaques can raid them. There are no TVs in the room but they have one in the lounge next to the dining area which we never bothered to switch it on.

Staff – The staff are quite young and very helpful and ensured we had an enjoyable stay.

Cost – As ours was a birding/wildlife trip and not a leisure trip, this tariff was perfect for us. It was value for money and the food being delicious the tariff was reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gautam_Rathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our 2 nights stay at Jupuri Ghar was excellent. Nice cottages and wooded surroundings, very good service, and delicious food.

Within seconds of our arrival, we were served cold drinks. That was just the beginning of the pleasant hospitality extended to us during the rest of our stay. Rooms are built to be in tune with the surrounding wooded area. We woke up to various bird calls and we were able to spot several birds in the area around the hotel.

Rooms were neat but they switch off water supply during night. So if you wake in the middle of the night or very early in the morning, this will be an unpleasant surprise. After the first night, we kept the bucket filled. Also, the water is slightly brown in colour, though nothing happened to us after using it for 2 days.

All in all, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCouple_TWaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW DELHI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed with my family for one night in Jupuri Ghar.The surroundings were just excellent. This place is surrounded by jungle.I wish I could have stayed more. The food was good and not very costly.The staff is friendly.

Room Tip: All the room are best located
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANILSETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I stayed with my family ( son and wife ) for two days in Jupuri Ghar. The ambiance was exactly I was looking for. There were forests all around and it was very calm and quiet. The hotel staff were always smiling and were very friendly. They booked all my trips for elephant and Jeep safari. There are no televisions in the rooms which keeps the quiet atmosphere intact. I would suggest this as an excellent resort for the honeymoon couples. I could serve internet well from my android mobile and the signal was good. There are 8 cottages and during my stay there were 2 booked including mine. Whatever I ordered for food they could deliver. There is a big garden and my sin played all along - he enjoyed a lot.
The only disadvantage if there is no facility to call room service. If you have to order for a cup of tea or coffee you have to walk to the restaurant and ask them to order.

Room Tip: If you are looking for any entertainment please carry your ipad for listening to music. There is a T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soudey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
0.0 mi away
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
#3 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
#18 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jonaki Kareng
Jonaki Kareng
#2 of 10 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Rhino
Camp Rhino
#17 of 25 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupuri Ghar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupuri Ghar

Property: Jupuri Ghar
Address: Kaziranga National Park, Kaziranga National Park 785609, India
Region: India > Assam > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Kaziranga National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Jupuri Ghar Hotel Kaziranga National Park
Jupuri Ghar Kaziranga National Park, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing