We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Certificate of Excellence
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Enjoyed the sleep and food. The rooms and bathrooms are well furnished and spacious. The buffet breakfast has a good variety and the food prepared in the restaurant is also quite satisfying for the taste buds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O2AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    150
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
173
97
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dibrugarh, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Iora is really a very good property to stay. The place is ideal for meetings and conferences etc. I have been to Iora on several occasions. The landscape and the gardening are good. Traditional Assamese cuisine at Bhaatban restaurant is excellent. Meals at the main restaurant is also good. Ideal hide out for the weekend.

Room Tip: try and stay in Room Nos. 109 or 111. the view of the property, the pool and the landscape from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank narendra1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at IORA from 29th April2014 till 2nd May . The resort is very well maintained and the staff (except the souvenir shop ) is extremely polite and helpful .I would recommend a meal at Bhaatban ,their restaurant for Assamese cuisine .
However, a word of caution , i got conned not once but thrice by the lady managing the souvenir shop . I bought a Mekhla from the outlet the first day ,I was told that its "mooga silk " and the price tag said rs.4400/- ,but i was in for a rude shock when the lady scratched it and re-wrote Rs4800/- . I paid the bill thinking it to be one off delayed update in the price .Same evening my husband went to the outlet and picked up two T-shirts ,the price of which was again manipulated by the lady .The day i was leaving i bought a few tea leaf packs from the outlet as it was a bit early in the morning and i was told that the hathikuli outlet of tata tea opens a bit late . This time again the lady tried to con me by inflating the bill for about 500 bucks ,but this time i asked her to give me a bill and she couldn't over charge me .A bill of rs.2640/- was very smartly attempted by the lady to be passed to me ,while the actual cost of stuff i bought was only Rs.1910/-. Be every very cautious while making any purchases at the weaves .

Be a bit alert while shopping in the IORA weaves outlet ,the rest of the stay was excellent .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nitumalladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Loved every bit of our stay at the IORA resort in Kaziranga. We stayed here in April for 3 nights - our main purpose being the Kaziranga National Park Safari.

We stayed in the Deluxe Rooms Which were fantastic. High ceilings with great air conditioning and a quiet backyard with trees where you could see squirrels and the varied birds of Kaziranga. It was very relaxing to laze around in the Patio with a book and a cup of coffee. Liked the shower cubicle too although the toiletries provided could have been of better quality.

The service standards across the resort are fantastic - the reception was great in booking for us all the desired elephant and jeep afris. We did a total of 3 jeep and 2 elephant safaris. Babul our Jeep safari driver and guide was fantastic. He was very passionate about the birds and wildlife in Kaziranga and took us to the right spots to obsever these animals. He has this amazing knack of animal behaviour and we maged to catch several rhinos, deer, bufallo and elephants crossing our path. It was because his acute sense that we were the only jeep that day to spot a TIGER in the marshes (very rare for Kazirnaga). We could not have asked for a better safari experience.

The restaurant - We ate all our meals at the in-house restaurant Scarlet flame. The have an extensive menu ranging from continental to Indian. Everything we ate was fantastic. Service was prompt and consistent. They were very child friendly with immense patience. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast - the spread was wide and the dosas were well done. We did visit the assamese restaurant once but us being vegetarians we had limited options. We tried the Assamese thali and found it to be a diiferent experience. The bar had a great ambience but I though it was overpriced.

Other activities - The resort generally organizes folk dances and bon-fires in winter but this being summer there were no activities arranged by the hotel. There was a small swimming pool and a kids pool but I felt it could have been more cleaner. I did not use this facility as i though the water wasn't the cleanest.

Overall a very satisfying and relaxing stay. I would come back to only IORA if I visit Kaziranga again.

Hats-off to the General manager - you are doing a great job of maintaining consistent service and quality.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms on the 2nd floor. You get lovely high ceilings with a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kshitij S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajmer
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here in month of april . It looked a nice place but the dirty the staff could have been more polite. There was no hot water for 2 days and the a.c did not work for 1 night.
Overall a average place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karnisingh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were a family of 5 and stayed a night in Iora on 13th April. It was an awesome experience. Great food. Good service and rooms are good. It was bihu time so had a bihu dance at the hotel in the evening. The services are great compared to the price which i sreasonable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Neete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Good hotel.Great food.Hospitality at its best.Though evening was a bit dull with no events organised on 31st of March.The jeep safari arranged by the hotel was good.Some indoor games for the kids would have helped,swimming pool was clean.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anitjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
2.1 mi away
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
#3 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
38.9 mi away
Hotel KRC Palace
Hotel KRC Palace
#1 of 7 in Tezpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
#17 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.1 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#5 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jonaki Kareng
Jonaki Kareng
#2 of 10 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga

Property: IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Address: Bogorjuri, Kaziranga National Park 785109, India
Region: India > Assam > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Iora - The Retreat,Kaziranga Hotel Kaziranga National Park
IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga Kaziranga National Park, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing