We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Place”
Review of Aranya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aranya Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a fairly big lodge and has big lawns and play area for children.
Though this is a state Government owned property and I have guessed that services might not be very good, I had been wrong. The staff is very good and services had been par excellance. The Manager had been very courteous and arranged meal for us at a short notice considering the fact that a travel firm had booked the dining rooms for a very large travel group and the restaurant chef and attendants were busy attending them.

In the night, the place has been filled with various insects and it needs attention by the staff because there was no insect or mosquito repellant available in the rooms. The bedsheets and blankets were also in dilapidated state.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

the cottages have exquisite view but not maintained very well during our stay in May 12.
Food and hospitality is good

Room Tip: go for cottages... cheap and good value for money....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walvekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Slightly dated hotel but that also means big rooms. Ours was 2nd floor and had a very nice balcony view over the garden and trees.
The lodge is a great place to relax between safaris and the restaurant has a reasonable range at good prices (especially considering the location and limit of other options).
Hotel also helps arrange safaris.
For the rack rate of 975rp I'd say it is excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Our family stayed in 2 cottages divided by a common wall (RHINO was the name of one such cottage) this government operated hotel while spending 3 days in kaziranga in early NOV 2010. The property is large, spread over several acres of well tended lawns..

THE GOOD- Service and hospitality, clean lawns to wander around in after sunset, stay at the cottages, value for money, safety, huge car park.. location

NOT SO GOOD - food in the lodge restaurant, old and musty blankets. No online booking is possible..

Rooms & bathroom- would rate this as 7 on 10 - our recommendation -- take a cottage if available; rooms like the ones in the 2 room cottage we stayed in (called RHINO in our case) are large, airy, comfortable and simply furnished. Each cottage comprises of a living space and a bed-room area and a bathroom. Amenities include some rather old looking blankets (which to be fair, did NOT contain bugs or anything), clean towels and cable TV. pl note --- we did NOT face any insect infestation in the cottage. The bathrooms were basic but very clean.

Service - 6/10 - Mr Mondol, the man in charge, was extremely polite and helpful. He volunteered to help us in arranging a jeep for taking us on safaris (which he did very well indeed) and helped us plan our entire trip as well (voluntarily) and made room arrangements of our choice. An amazing guy !! however, they have some archaic rules of not bringing meals to your room... over which we had to cajole and persuade the attendant to relent --- he relented easily. Other staff were very polite and helpful as well... Also, given that several bureaucrats stay over at this place.. security is quite decent as well.

Food & Beverages - 4/10 - the menu was not very varied. breakfast though not complimentary in our case was good. A PIECE OF ADVICE: PLEASE HAVE BREAKFAST HERE ONLY (was quite good !!). FOR OTHER MEALS, ITS BETTER TO EAT OUTSIDE ARANYA... though the tastefully done decor in the large and spaced out hotel restaurant can be used as a hangout to while away one s time. Aranya has its own bar, 'Buffalo Bar' as well..

Other Common Spaces - 9/10 - we loved this place r citizens and kids love this place.. there are swings.. see saws etc.. lots of open space in the hotel compound itself. given that you cant do much in kaziranga post sunset, it s a very nice and safe place to wander around in...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrinceAnuraagMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 淳 粟
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaziranga National Park hotels
0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
81 reviews
5 mi away
Nature Hunt Eco Camp, Kaziranga National Park
Nature Hunt Eco Camp, Kaziranga ...
#2 of 24 in Kaziranga National Park
220 reviews
0 mi away
Sarmah Lodge
Sarmah Lodge
#9 of 24 in Kaziranga National Park
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Camp Rhino
Camp Rhino
#18 of 24 in Kaziranga National Park
10 reviews
8.2 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
88 reviews
0 mi away
Sneha Bhawan
Sneha Bhawan
#6 of 24 in Kaziranga National Park
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranya Lodge

Address: Kaziranga National Park 785612, India
Region: India > Assam > Nagaon District > Kaziranga National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Kaziranga National Park
Also Known As:
Aranya Lodge Kaziranga National Park, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing