We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel But Need to improve on food.”
Review of Wild Grass Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Grass Lodge
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my Friend in NOv-2013 when we were at a Trip to North East. The hoetl room which was provided was very Beautuiful. Loved it. Tghe cultural programe that was held in the evening was again very impressive as i didint expect anything like this from this hotel.

BUt the Food was below average and we ate just to fill our stomachs nothing else. Breads were hal f cooked, Omelates were not properly vooked again.

The services are nice, Staff is friendly and you will get prompt ressponse from them. We ordered tea early moring fr our safari at 4AM and the guy was at our door at 03:55 AM.

All In all an experience that i will cherish.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VISHALBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Wildgrass Resort brings me memories of my childhood days, when I often used to visit this place with my father. Way back then, this resort was a very charming place, superbly well maintained, great facilities & lots of actvities, bon-fires & barbeques in the evenings, overall exceptional, with an awesome ambiance, infact one of the first luxury resorts in Kaziranga. But that was around 20 years back. Early this year during my visit to Assam, thought of revisiting this place & felt very sad to see this place deteriorate & lose it's old charm. It's no more as well maintained as it used to be, the compound looked shabby, the facilities & activities seemed missing, the swimming pool didn't seem functional, the whole place looked desolate, barren & neglected. This place has a lot of potential for improvement & can still be turned into one of the best resorts in Kaziranga, provided the authorities show some interest to renovate & bring about a difference & attract more tourists. As of now, they seem apathetic & the property seems totally neglected & uncared for. I feel they are letting a very good property go waste. Hope they realize soon & give some genuine effort to bring back it's old charm & past glory.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malavika_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This was the 3rd time that I returned to stay at wild grass and had a great time. The rooms, dinning area and the campus of the place are very warm and welcoming. The food is simple, yet delicious. I will return to check out their cottages some day.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank SonaBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The Wild Grass was one of the better places when it first hit the scene in Kaziranga. It still is a good place to stay while in Kaziranga. The rooms are nice and the food is also great. The swimming pool is not much of use during winters. The cultural programme held in the evenings give you a sense of the local Ahom culture.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karikor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at Wild Grass two days & nights this October.The property encompasses a large area, lots of greenery all around, full of trees of different kinds & bamboo groves. There are 2 multistory residential blocks, well spaced out, each with 9 rooms. The rooms have an old world ambiance, no AC's or TV's & the floors are wooden. Each room is named after a site in the Kaziranga National Park. There are two cottages as well, kept for the elderly & guests travelling with heavy gear. I understand during the peak season, 2-3 fully equipped tents are also installed to accommodate guests. The Dining Room cum restaurant & the administrative office are in a separate Assam type building, located about 100 m from the residential blocks. The Dining Room is spacious, decorated with interesting artifacts & trophies and has the ambiance of a tea planter's club. Nice. While morning & evening tea are served in the rooms, lunch & dinner have to be taken in the Dining Room. The menu is limited but tasty & wholesome. The staff are courteous & friendly. The resort has in-house guides to take guests on bird sighting trips to the nearby tea estate areas & on bird & animal sighting trips to the peripheries of the Kaziranga National Park during the off season & once the Park re-opens on 1st November, to inside the Park as well. One caveat: The property is located about half a kilometer inside from the highway & there is no signboard on the highway, so unless you are alert, you may miss out the narrow dirt road leading to the resort & overshoot it completely!

Room Tip: Since the floors are wooden, it is better to go for rooms at the top to avoid noise, especially if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgogoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

we were on our first visit to KazIranga National Park, the home for the one horned rhinos. While searching through internet and lonely planet we chanced upon the name of Wild Grass Lodge. The trip was in february 2012. we contacted the wild grass lodge on wildgrasskaziranga@gmail.com. and also through phone. There was immediate response and we received quite bit of information on Kaziranga and also about visit to the National park as also on the travel facility. The proprietor Manju Barua himself and his staff were communicative and assured us of a good stay.

When we were approaching Kazirahga we contacted the staff of wild grass and we were asked to get down at Kohra, and as no local conveyance was available we contacted the wild grass lodge and they sent their jeep and we landed at the lodge around 6-30 p.m. and opted to stay in the old block of the s hotel blocks in wild grass.

Wild Grass lodge has a old world charm and we were charmed by the environment. The flooring and ceiling are of wood and the furniture are of wood and cane and blends beautifully to the enviorns of your room. There is provision for cross ventilation and at any part of the year the stay will be present. In the natural environs the lodge is located there is no need for any air conditioners and the lodge has remained eco friendly by not going for airconditioners. The Wild Grass lodge offers complementary break fast. One can also opt for full board facility. We were delighted to meet interact with former BBC correspondent Mark Tuly, during our stay at Wild Grass and he was one of the guests at the place.

You will hear the sounds of chirping of birds and noises of the forest insects. The dining hall is extremely beautiful and has nice wooden furniture, nice table clothes and other artefacts which add to the decor. There also photographs and paintings of birds and animals.

It is a experience to be experienced. The charm of the place lingers on. The Wild grass people booked for our elephant rides as well as the jeep drives through the national park.The trip to kaziranga, watching the one horned rhinos, wild boars, elephants, water buffalos, deers and host of birds including vulchurs in the kaziranga ranges of western, central and eastern ranges made it very ;meorable. Elephant rides are only in western and central ranges..

Wild grass is situated outside the Kaziranga National Park. Kaziranga's nearest airport is Jorhat. But Guwhati is a convenient international ariport and takes about 5 hours by sumo or Car.. The airport at Guwhathi is named after the first Chief Minister, Gopinath Bardlai, who was an extremely honest man and when he died in office, The great Sardar Patel, happened to arrange for a sum of Rs.4,000/- to Mrs.Bardlai, to take care of the expenses for their living.

Gowhathi is also well connected by train from Calcutta and New Delhi. You can either drive down from the Airport or the Railway Station. You can also reach kaziranga by state road transport bus.. You will have to get down at Kohra and if you contacted they will arrange for your transportation from kohra, opposite to it is the Central Range.. If you are coming by a hired vehicle or own vehicle you will ;have to take a turn at the marker of k.m.373 on national Highway 37. The wild grass experience and the kaziranga national park was out of the world experience and it still lingers on us and we look forward for a visit again..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumar803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you are someone who is looking for a typical forest lodge, and a very natural one too, this is the one. its not a luxurious one, but still very nice.

Food is a bit of a problem here, but the basic food which they serve is good.

Overall a very good one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himanshujh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaziranga National Park hotels
0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
81 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nature Hunt Eco Camp, Kaziranga National Park
Nature Hunt Eco Camp, Kaziranga ...
#2 of 24 in Kaziranga National Park
219 reviews
11.3 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Camp Rhino
Camp Rhino
#19 of 24 in Kaziranga National Park
10 reviews
0 mi away
Sarmah Lodge
Sarmah Lodge
#9 of 24 in Kaziranga National Park
1 reviews
0 mi away
Sneha Bhawan
Sneha Bhawan
#6 of 24 in Kaziranga National Park
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Grass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Grass Lodge

Address: Bochagaon village, Kaziranga National Park 785609, India
Region: India > Assam > Nagaon District > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range: £28 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wild Grass Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Wild Grass Hotel Kaziranga National Park
Wild Grass Lodge Kaziranga National Park, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing