We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surroundings”
Review of Wild Grass Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Grass Lodge
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here with a friend for 2 nights during our visit of Kaziranga NP. The rooms were spacious and nice, the bathroom was clean, although a bit worn-out. The lodge consists of a couple of buildings (included an extremely charming dining hall) situated in a very nice garden. The surroundings are very quiet and I had a nice night-long sleep. The food was tasty. My friend had some disagreement with the staff about our bill, when he was asked to pay his drink right after the dinner, instead of including it in our room's bill (which was covered by our travel agency). This was however resolved without much hassle.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiefling-cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    110
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
81
53
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My colleague and I were visiting Guwahati and our hosts booked us to stay at the Wild Grass lodge to visit the Kaziranga National Park. We only stayed one night but were able to take 2 jeep tours and an early morning elephant ride to see the wildlife.

The resort itself had a colonial feel with large dining room and veranda. There are two main accommodation blocks with around 4 rooms per floor. The rooms are large simple and clean.
Breakfast is simple Indian food but when we were there a group of students just stood in front of the serving table and ate everything that came out of the kitchen for about 15 minutes. That was not a fault with the hotel. Lunch itself was set, paneer, dahl rice and bread followed by a dessert. Local beer was available which was strong 8% and cheap 140 rupees. Dinner was cooked to order so it is worth knowing this as it takes about 40 minutes to prepare. Staff were helpful. As we did not have much time here we did not get chance to appreciate the chance to relax and unwind free from TV, phones and the Internet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardopronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tezpur, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is one hotel which takes its pickles very seriously. it has a dedicated pickle cook. apart from the one horned rhino one should visit for the pickles. you are totally cut off from the outside world there are no TV , phone for room service. you are on your own. but i assure you , you will enjoy this. this is definitely one of the best resorts in Kaziranga..

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOSOURAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our time at Wild Grass was one of the best in the Northeast! Stayed at Wild Grass thanks to a recommendation from a friend, and although it was initially really difficult to find a contact number (ended up finding this email on a thread, and a reply came really quickly from Manju: wildgrasskaziranga@gmail.com), it was quite a worthwhile hunt. Can't quite compare this establishment objectively with any others since we only stayed here, but I can say that our trips out to the National Park were well taken care of, and the food here was the highlight of everything. Home cooked Indian/NE Indian dishes at every meal, tons of variety, and very reasonably priced. We looked forward so much to every meal! In terms of organisation, it was a bit confusing because we'd arranged a tentative itinerary with Manju over email, who was wonderfully helpful, but when we arrived we weren't quite sure what the actual plan was in terms of meals/trips out etc. It ended up sort of unfolding organically and in quite a confusing manner.

The Wild Grass team is really helpful though, and Manju even managed to get us a car last minute from Dimapur, because we hadn't made prior transport arrangements and didn't realise it was so difficult to get from Kohima to Kaziranga via public transport. He was really great about that, and the ride was very comfortable - we even got to stop at a a big Durga temple on the way up to Wild Grass.

The room itself was really lovely, wooden floors and really cozy. No complaints at all except that we were on the first level, and could hear every single thing above us, from footsteps to voices - got a bit nightmarish at one point, but besides that, the room was perfect!

Room Tip: Absolutely noisy on the lower levels, especially at night - perhaps a room on the upper floors would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weiffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after travelling from Majuli. Accommodation in Majuli left MUCH to be desired and we breathed a sigh of relief after arriving at Wildgrass. Our room was clean and spacious (we were on the top floor). The dinning hall was clean and had a colonial charm - a bit rough around the edges, but that was to it's credit - we found it charming. And we enjoyed sitting outside on the porch reading the papers. Food was good, and plentiful. We arranged pick up from Jorhat and then drop off at Guwahati airport though the lodge and that was reasonable. Our guide for the safari was excellent - sadly I cannot remember his name.There is traditional dancing in the evening around the fire before dinner. And the service is fantastic.

No, there is no wifi or tv, but then why go on holiday if all you want to do is watch TV and play on Faceebook? We had no problem with the lack of either.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meowmixUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Wild Grass is a great place. It's accommodations are a notch above basic but everything is very clean and the people are very nice and helpful. They will arrange everything for your visit to Kaziranga National Park, including sending along a guide/ translator from the hotel. Our guide was Digonta and he was terrific. I don't know if you can request a specific guide but if you can he's your guy. There are hundreds of bird species in the park and he knows them all. The downside is the wifi. If you need to stay connected they have no wifi and the nearest Internet cafe was about a 20 min car ride away. The owner of the lodge is happy to let you use his laptop in the office but that isn't very convenient.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamilyNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my Friend in NOv-2013 when we were at a Trip to North East. The hoetl room which was provided was very Beautuiful. Loved it. Tghe cultural programe that was held in the evening was again very impressive as i didint expect anything like this from this hotel.

BUt the Food was below average and we ate just to fill our stomachs nothing else. Breads were hal f cooked, Omelates were not properly vooked again.

The services are nice, Staff is friendly and you will get prompt ressponse from them. We ordered tea early moring fr our safari at 4AM and the guy was at our door at 03:55 AM.

All In all an experience that i will cherish.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VISHALBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
73 reviews
3.5 mi away
Resort Borgos
Resort Borgos
#2 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
200 reviews
11.3 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jonaki Kareng
Jonaki Kareng
#3 of 11 in Kaziranga National Park
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Mahseer
Wild Mahseer
#1 of 1 in Balipara
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ygdrasill Bamboo Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Grass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Grass Lodge

Property: Wild Grass Lodge
Address: Bochagaon village, Kaziranga National Park 785609, India
Region: India > Assam > Nagaon District > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wild Grass Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Wild Grass Hotel Kaziranga National Park
Wild Grass Lodge Kaziranga National Park, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing