We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“november 2013”
Review of Hotel Cerro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cerro Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tarcoles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

this was our second visit and looking forward to the next one. There had been a change of staff between our visits which made this delightful place a 5 star visit. Frederico had given a young chef a chance and he was a great success as he varied the meals from the previous nightly casarda. A.C. had been added to the rooms which was also a big plus for us.Our trip was a birding one so to see scarlet macaw at close range was a real treat. When Frederico wasn't there we did struggle a little with the language but the staff were very patient and after all isn't this a part of the fun when visiting a country where you don't speak their language. Leonard and Chrine Bedford.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 2 weeks in November 2013 in Cerro Lodge. This was our fifth (and hopefully not last) stay there. We enjoyed it very much. You can come again and again - in Cerro Lodge you feel never bored. Every day we could see the Scarlet macaws - they came early in the morning, sometimes even in the day time and in the afternoon! This is a great opportunity for all photographer! You can see them feeding on the trees very close.
This year we were very happy that Federico installed aircon in the cabinas - now is the stay in Cerro Lodge even much comfortable.
After Cerro Lodge we visited a lot of other places in Costa Rica, the food in Cerro Lodge was the best! Fresh vegetables, the expensive fish "corvina" (- in other hotels you can get mostly only tilapia which is not as tasty like corvina but cheaper!)
Green Land is a part of Cerro Lodge where they produce their own vegetable, make their own cheese, evey morning we got fresh eggs from the chickens!
We hope to visit Cerro Lodge in 2014 again!

Room Tip: Our favorite cabina is Nr.4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kolja55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and van reccomend THE hotel to everyone. Clean rooms, Some with outside shower! Good service and good food. Many birds and other animals. Vieuws from THE restaurant are stunning.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riky010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed for 2 mights late October. Frederico speaks a little English but the others do not although this was not a problem.
Rooms comfortable and have good air conditioning which helped during the day although we spent little time in them. 2 double beds and an outside bathroom with interesting electrics on the shower. The only problem with this was avoiding the inevitable mosquitoes.
I agree with a previous post about the lighting which is not good unless you are into strobes.
Breakfast is a buffet although you can order eggs.
Evening meal is cooked by one of the family and so there is no choice although this was not a problem for us. A great chance to eat typical Costa Rican food.
The view from the dining area is wonderful and looks over the bird feeders so before you have even tarted out you can see many different species.
A hi-light was seeing the scarlet macaws but there are many other birds here and down the road outside the property.
A great cost effective way to see birds and experience local food.
If you get the chance eat lunch at the roadside cafe as you join the main road turning left , it is a short way north on your right had side. According to our guide an obligatory stop ! Sorry I did not get its name but again open air local Costa Rican dining

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunworkingforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The biggest appeal of the Cerro Lodge and the reason we chose to stay there was for the close proximity to Carara and the Scarlet Macaws. Within 20 mins of being there, I think we had counted nearly 30 macaws flying overhead! It was awesome! The room was spacious and easily could have slept 5 (we were only 4) and had a functional A/c unit which we used only a tiny bit but it worked fine. We loved the outdoor bathroom / shower area which gave it a very rough and tumble feel. My biggest knock on the room itself is that the lighting was abysmal. We tried to read at night before bed, as we often do, and there was just not enough light from the small CFL to achieve this. There was 1 side lamp which again was not adequate. We did visit the pool which looked like it could have used a little TLC but it cooled us off, which was our ultimate goal. I think the food was pretty average and the oddity of the dining area is that the tables are seriously made for someone who is 6' or taller. My family, all of 5'7 or smaller, struggled to sit in a normal position at the table and bench and reach our food comfortably. My 8 year old daughter couldn't really do it at all. I would describe the staff as positive but not welcoming or inviting. The 'office' for check in is located next to the kitchen and folks are doing double duty. They appeared to have no interest in having a conversation or providing any information. You asked a question - they answered. Nothing more, nothing less. This is not a bad thing, its just slightly awkward and unexpected. We did have a very enjoyable experience when a huge flock of parakeets visited the mango tree next to our room and had their breakfast for awhile. It was impressive to see the staff clean up dropped mango's from the path extremely fast to keep the resort looking nice and clean.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank HokieInGermantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We just returned from 3 nights at Cerro Lodge which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our overall impression of the facilities was very good, and we enjoyed our stay. The birding on the property was good and the location is very accessible to wonderful birding areas in the Tarcoles River and Carara National Park both of which we visited. The walk down the road to the right from the lodge entrance is very nice with excellent views to the Tarcoles River.

The rooms are basic but we were comfortable there even in August. It was a little musty from being closed up and we had to air it out by keeping the door open during the day when we were there. If you have any valuables there are no safes in the room. We didn't have a problem. The air conditioner worked fine to cool the room quickly and then the fan was great for comfortable sleeping overnight. The outdoor bathroom with little garden is really neat and we showered with a little frog and a large toad present. Iguanas like to sun on the roofs and can startle you with the noise of them running around. They sleep at night.

There is a small pool that is refreshing from the heat. It has chairs but no recliners. The free wifi worked fine in the restaurant lounge area. There is no access in the rooms. There is a small balcony outside the cabins with a wooden bench to sit on.

The food was very good throughout our stay and the staff were very helpful and ensured there were gluten free options for Anne. Breakfast is a buffet and included in the room price. It included fresh fruit, juice, coffee, hot options. Lunch and dinner cost $15 per person and came with a soup to start and a choice of fish, chicken, pork or beef. Veggies were on the side. The staff (Yonory, Gabriel) spoke limited English but we had great fun practicing our Spanish and had no problems at all. There is always cold water, juices and soft drinks available in the fridge located in the restaurant area. You have a receipt book for your cabin number and you write in your purchase and pay at check out. You can pay with credit cards but neither of ours worked and the owner, Federico was kind enough to let us transfer funds to his account through Banco Nacionale when we went to the town of Atenas.

There were scarlet macaws flying over every morning and late afternoon and this is a highlight for anyone. The ever-present flocks of parakeets were always fun to listen to and watch as well. Caracas, hawks, falcons and vultures were plentiful in the area at all times of day.

Overall we would recommend the lodge for anyone who wants a quiet stay in a peaceful setting and good access to the great birding in this area. We had a rental vehicle so were able to visit the surrounding areas at our convenience.

Room Tip: We were in cabin number 4, which had air conditioning and two double beds, is farthest away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim and Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Yes, the rooms can get hot, but it's the tropics, folks. And the fans do cool off the rooms nicely in the evenings. The furnishings are clean and simple, with comfortable beds and the cabinas have those excellent semi-outdoor bathrooms! Federico and his entire staff were wonderful, They were able to arrange drivers and reservations at practically a moment's notice. Everyone on staff was cordial and helpful. They did a great deal to make our stay fun and memorable. The food was more than simply good. It was delicious! and there was a lot of it, from salad to dessert. Where in the US do you get soup, salad, entree and dessert for $15.00?
The birding right from our front porch was awesome; raptors and macaws and parrots all day long with the occasional magpie jay, tanager flock or woodpecker for variety. If you stay more than one night, you MUST bird the road outside the lodge. We had 68 species of birds in three hours. We never even made it to the bottom of the hill! Small list of the birds seen on the road: laughing falcon, grey hawk, king vulture, violaceous and black-headed trogon, euphonias, tanagers, seedeaters, sparrows, a really nice introduction to CR's bird life. Aaand black and white owl on two consecutive nights.
It's close to Carara and to the Tarcoles river tours so you can round out your birding without long drives. If you're a birder, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The cabins look out over the distant Pacific, nice sunset views. At least one cabin has AC as of our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcoles
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Lapas
Hotel Villa Lapas
#2 of 3 in Tarcoles
290 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#1 of 3 in Punta Leona
1,357 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#2 of 3 in Punta Leona
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#2 of 4 in Atenas
80 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
592 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cerro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro Lodge

Address: Intermedios Tarcoles, Tarcoles 4023, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tarcoles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tarcoles
Price Range: £53 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cerro Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strongly recommended for Birdwatchers and Photographers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Cerro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Hotel Tarcoles
Hotel Cerro Lodge Costa Rica/Tarcoles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing