We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable oceanfront hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carara
Ranked #3 of 4 Tarcoles B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Affordable oceanfront hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed at Hotel Carara three years ago, and recently were pleased to find it is still offering affordable accommodations right on the beach. The rooms are dated but clean, and the large pool is most welcome after a hot day of sightseeing. We found the buffet breakfast (included) to be one of the best on our entire trip. The staff is short on English speakers but we managed to communicate just fine. We will definitely return again!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter. Some of these oceanfront rooms have balconies. The macaws land in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    42
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
19
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

There was some suggestion, in recent review(s) that this hotel may have changed into a boarding house, etc. To dispel that notion, I want to say I have just had a lively exchange of emails with them today culminating in a reservation being made for April 2013. I wrote first off in rather poor Spanish, explaining I speak English (as if they couldn't guess!) and the friendly reply came in not-perfect but English good enough to get the message across. Rooms with double bed, aircon, private bath with hot water are $69 for 2 people, breakfast and taxes included, and $74 if you want that with a seaview. I would hate for these people to lose business because of negative rumours arising in our TripAdvisor community.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdwatchers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Peaceful hotel located in small town. Great for seeing scarlet macaws at dusk and dawn. Swimming pool very refreshing. Staff friendly and helpful although indeed poor at English. Room with airco ok, relatively small but sufficient. Free internet terminal. Be aware that the restaurant is closed at times, so you will have to walk (10 mins) to town to eat. Breakfast was great. Right on the beach, although beach quite polluted with trash.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JinBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Probably the only hotel in the area (i.e central west coast) that is affordable. Rooms are small and basic, but the price is okay given the location. Hotel grounds are quite okay, there's a parking and a very nice garden. The scarlet macaws in the garden are amazing. Carara NP is definitely worth a visit! It's relatively close to San José and if you don't want to spend a fortune and want to see Macaws, Hotel Carara is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isaak_ionsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed only one night in Jan, 2012. I could see this being a decent family spot because of the very active pool, but it's a shock when staying here after some of the more isolated (quiet) birding lodges. But overall staying here worked out well as it is very close to the mangrove bird tour docks. The price was ok, the room had air conditioning which it needed. The included breakfast was good too.
You're almost guaranteed to see Scarlet Macaws when we were there - they visit the nut trees
between the hotel and the beach.

However, a recent forum thread questions whether this hotel is still open or has been converted to a boarding house. Some people are having problems getting good information about this.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frozen-in-MN-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here for one night. It seemed to be occupied by mostly Spanish speaking families holidaying in the area and you need to speak Spanish or be able to string the relevant words together from a Spanish phrase book to be able to book and communicate with the staff here. The receptionist was friendly and humoured my broken spanish.
There is a large pool area that we didn't use but it looked clean and well kept.
We had a room with air con and sea view however I cannot particularly say good things about the room. The air con unit was leaking in large amounts all over the floor by the balcony door (to be fair they may have been able to fix it but we couldnt be bothered to ask just for the one night), the shower head lead was covered with insulating tape and didnt look very safe so we showered very carefully. I would say from the other reviews that we were just unlucky with the room and It was only 60 dollars a night.
This seemed to be the best place in the area to see scarlet macaws (even the guide at Parque Nacional Carara said so). They gathered in groups in the almond trees at the back of the hotel (on the grass area) and this is probably the closest you'll get to them anywhere in the area. The hotel is also a 5 min drive from the national park which is good when you want to get there early

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunkersamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon Falls Ct,USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I've staid here numerous times.quit,on the beach,good food,friendly atmosphere

Room Tip: any room.I like the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardtheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcoles
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Lapas
Hotel Villa Lapas
#1 of 1 in Camaronal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#2 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.8 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
7.5 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carara

Property: Hotel Carara
Address: Main Street | Carara National Park, Tarcoles 61102, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tarcoles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarcoles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carara 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hotel carara. Enjoy a tropical paradise on the beach closest to the carara national park. You will see many birds and especially the scarlet macao, ara macao, lapa roja. Pool, restaurant and secure parking in confortable rooms with a/c and ocean view.we wait ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carara Costa Rica/Tarcoles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing