We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Carara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carara
Ranked #4 of 4 Tarcoles B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“great stay, friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stopped by the hotel carara for one night. The staff was very friendly and helpful in booking guides and tours to explore the forest and tarcoles river, and the kitchen had really great food! The accommodations weren't spectacular, but definitely functional, and the 2nd story balcony from our room was outstanding. Would highly recommend for travellers who don't need to spend the entire day in the hotel (which is pretty much every traveller in costa rica)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenapplecider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    42
    21
    5
    10
See reviews for
19
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night here on our way down the coast. I was looking forward to a swim in the pool but it was really cloudy and uninviting. The area around the pool was dirty with leaves and other rubbish. I actually asked at reception why it was so grubby and was told by the largely disinterested reception staff that it was due to the windy conditions. The room was small, with an uncomfortable bed and no hot water in the shower. The only good things about this hotel were the proximity to Carara National Park and the excellent view of Scarlet Macaws from the beach. If you want a nice beach go further south than Tarcoles.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodwardfelicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Third year in a row that I have stayed at Hotel Carara.
The hotel is situated in a tiny fishing village right on the ocean. A very peaceful, quiet and relaxing hotel. The hotel is located on the beach... unbelievably beautiful!!!

The most spectacular birds can be seen right at the hotel and on the beach.
Best times to see birds is early morning and late afternoon.

You will see flocks of scarlet macaws, blue herons, such a large variety of birds in this area.

Nice pool that is so wonderful to dip into and cool down after a hike at Carara National Park or Bird Watching.

Tarcoles is located about 12 miles north of Jaco so is situated in a very good location for day trips to waterfalls, hiking, walks on the beach, bird watching, etc...

The food in the restaurant is very good and the prices are reasonable too.
Fresh and high quality food, the fish is caught daily.
I would suggest going with Costa Rican style food and avoid the hamburgers.

If you visit the Jaco area I suggest you stay a night in Tarcoles at Hotel Carara.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: You can reserve an air-conditioned room with an ocean view on the second floor. You will hear crick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OccupyHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Simple, clean rooms with nice pool and restaurant areas, and great value.
A great stop for a night to see the crocs and macaws, but personally there's nothing to keep you here much longer. Staff were also very nice, but the construction work on the property which started around 6.15am was an unexpected and rather unpleasant wake up call!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locarno, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The first thing that struck me at Carara (which means crocodiles) was the lack of barbed wire that you find nearly everywhere in Costa Rica, outside gated communities. It has a welcoming layout - the rooms are set round the pool and garden, with open corridors on both floors. The airy open-air restaurant faces the garden which leads to the beach. The garden is full of almond trees and twice a day flocks of scarlet macaws pass through, snacking on almonds between destinations. You can't miss them because they announce their arrival with a noise that belies their beauty.
The rooms and bathroom are adequate, the sheets a bit scratchy. You can choose a room with either fan or AC or both, or neither - price varying acordingly. Breakfast was good, but otherwise there is a fixed menu and no cook. I think the microwave was busy! Enticing 'croccante' turned out to be cornflakes mixed with condensed milk! Most people turned up in their 4X4s and spent a night or at the most two. We were the only ones who stayed for 5 nights (no transport).
The hotel faces west, and is in an ideal position for watching the sunset (forget the martini, they don't sell alcohol) from the beach. The beach itself is dirty and no-one uses it for leisure, except a few big black scavenger birds with red heads. But you can cool off in the hotel pool up unitl 8 in the evening. Staff are very friendly and helpful, but with limited English. A few words of Spanish help. Free access to the hotel laptop for email etc.
The hotel is situated in a village, divided in 2 halves by the river. If you turn left outside the hotel and walk for 2ks you come to the river where the bird/crocodile watching expediions leave several times a day. 1k in the other direction takes you to a bus stop which is conevenient for Jacò and Orotina.

Room Tip: all the rooms are quiet - pay a bit more for the ones with a sea (and macaw) view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giudicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed at Hotel Carara three years ago, and recently were pleased to find it is still offering affordable accommodations right on the beach. The rooms are dated but clean, and the large pool is most welcome after a hot day of sightseeing. We found the buffet breakfast (included) to be one of the best on our entire trip. The staff is short on English speakers but we managed to communicate just fine. We will definitely return again!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter. Some of these oceanfront rooms have balconies. The macaws land in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

There was some suggestion, in recent review(s) that this hotel may have changed into a boarding house, etc. To dispel that notion, I want to say I have just had a lively exchange of emails with them today culminating in a reservation being made for April 2013. I wrote first off in rather poor Spanish, explaining I speak English (as if they couldn't guess!) and the friendly reply came in not-perfect but English good enough to get the message across. Rooms with double bed, aircon, private bath with hot water are $69 for 2 people, breakfast and taxes included, and $74 if you want that with a seaview. I would hate for these people to lose business because of negative rumours arising in our TripAdvisor community.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdwatchers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcoles
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Lapas
Hotel Villa Lapas
#1 of 2 in Tarcoles
284 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Cerro Lodge
Hotel Cerro Lodge
#1 of 1 in Garabito
304 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
822 reviews
7.8 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
7.5 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carara

Property: Hotel Carara
Address: Main Street | Carara National Park, Tarcoles 61102, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tarcoles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarcoles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carara 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hotel carara. Enjoy a tropical paradise on the beach closest to the carara national park. You will see many birds and especially the scarlet macao, ara macao, lapa roja. Pool, restaurant and secure parking in confortable rooms with a/c and ocean view.we wait ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Carara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carara Costa Rica/Tarcoles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing