We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Unfinished but Uniquely Sited”
Review of Hotel Manga Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Manga Rosa
Ranked #3 of 4 Tarcoles B&B and Inns
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A Little Unfinished but Uniquely Sited”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

If you want to get an overview of where you are, see Toucans in an adjacent tree, be close to Carara National Park and Lapas Skywalk, this is the place to stay in Tarcoles. Sited on a bluff overlooking the forest and the sea, this is a unique option to take in this little not yet overdeveloped piece of Costa Rican coast. The little hotel itself is a grand idea about 80 percent executed- but the staff is very accommodating and the views are superb. A little road work is in its final stages and all should be more bucolic once complete. It is a little drive to the restaurants along the coast, including the as yet unrated Restaurantetico- which was great for Ceviche and Patacones Especial.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room with a balcony looking out of the sea (there are two of them)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcraigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    3
    0
    6
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Overall, a pleasant stay! It's not for the faint of heart due to the bugs and definitely not even close to any standard set by a western style hotel. One thing to to take away from this review is to set your expectations extremely low for this place and hope to be pleasantly surprised. We had a blast… but it was nothing like what we expected from their description of being a boutique hotel. Honestly not sure how this place didn't get any critical reviews! Read on for more...

Rooms: There are a few rooms at this place, but only two that look like the photos. When you get here, make sure you're upstairs with an outdoor shower! We initially were given a downstairs room that was bare and lacked the character we were expecting, not to mention numerous holes in the walls that allowed ants in. Email them in advance. If you don't get one of the nice rooms, it's not worth your money!

Food: The only thing prior reviews were spot on about. Extremely mediocre. The chef gets an A+ for effort but they are far from getting most any flavor of any dish we had right. Expected them to speak english, but that wasn't the case which made getting exactly what we want or commenting on little things such as "don't make it too salty" very hard.

View: AMAZING! The best part about this place by far. You won't be let down!

Internet: Fast, but only in the main dining area.

The Immediate Area and Transportation: Up in the mountains on a dirt road, but very traversable in whatever car you have (4x4 was not needed at all during our trip to the Pacific Coast.) Don't even think about coming here unless you rent a car. Otherwise you'll be stuck or paying hundreds of dollars in cabs and not seeing the area at all. We rented, and highly suggest it, as the area is beautiful and well paved along the coast. Dirt road to this place was easily accessible and used by many locals.

Some fun things to do in the area: Drive down to Quepos and have the best ceviche of your life, get a day pass to the nearby Villa Calletas for great yoga, an infinity pool, and an impeccable view of the ocean along with a tasty (but expensive) breakfast, or simply go to the beaches and surf! If you can, avoid Jaco at all costs as it is tourist central. Also worth checking out is a bend about a few miles away from the dirt road you turn onto along the pacific coast. Great spot to switch up the sunset viewing.

Photos Vs. Real Life: Photos are very much enhanced a little let down once we saw it in real life. Candles weren't lit on the patio, there was construction everywhere, certain rooms were not furnished, wires were showing everywhere, doors required much needed maintenance in terms of closing, and bathrooms were just not what we expected coming from the United States. A lot of this place seemed like it has a lot of potential, but falls short in terms of whatever contractor they hired and maintenance.

The Time of Year; February might be the perfect time to go to Costa Rica but worst time to stay at the Magna Rosa. Cicada season was in full bloom and you can't even walk to the hotel without getting urinated on by these guys (it feels like rain… and once we were found out it was a good laugh but still unpleasant). The noise they make is unbearable in the afternoon and definitely does not feel like you are being sung to but rather screeched at.

Nature and Animals: So many cool bugs, frogs, lizards, and birds in the area. You'll love it!

Security: Had no problems here and felt very safe.

Staff: Very hardworking, but expected them to give a little more advice on what to do in the area. We were a little let down by things such as the website saying they can book us Yoga appointments, but it wasn't possible and seemed more like a favor was being called in based on Yoga instructors availability.

Overall summary: We had a great time but setting a posh boutique expectation is the Magna Rosa's downfall. They fall short in terms of what a westerner would expect and looking back feel like this place was about 25 dollars a night overpriced.

Room Tip: Make sure to get one of the upstairs rooms with an outdoor shower! It's the best part about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The Hotel Manga Rosa is a lovely, small hotel situated close to the entrance of Carara National Park on a hillside high above the Pacific Ocean. Our room (an upstairs double with balcony) had magnificent views over the jungle to the sea. At night the sunsets were magnificent. Wi-Fi is available in the hotel’s public areas.

The décor of the hotel is simple, but charming. Likewise, the food and service were simple but good. The fresh fish on the menu was especially tasty. On the last night of our stay, the hotel celebrated our stay there by preparing a special seafood dinner and serving it with candle light in the lookout at the top of the hotel….magical!

Room Tip: The upstairs double with balcony appeared to be the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWLTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laura p, Owner at Hotel Manga Rosa, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you very much for your comments!!! we are very glad you had a great time with us!!
and thank you for recomending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I was surprised to find such a nice building in the middle of the mountain, not to mention the marvelous view and rooms. Staff was ok, although a bit noisy in the morning. Complimentary breakfast was very well presented and with very good flavor. Our room was very big and the roofless shower is a very nice touch, be ready to shower amongst bugs and geckos (there were no mosquitoes)...remember you are in the rain forest.

Sheets were not spotless but were ok...good mattresses and pillows so most likely you´ll get a good sleep here.

Hotel started operations in early 2012 and it gives the impression that it needs a bit of maintenance...but definitely that´s part of the challenge of having a building in the middle of the rain forest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daesquiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcoles
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Lapas
Hotel Villa Lapas
#1 of 2 in Tarcoles
284 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Cerro Lodge
Hotel Cerro Lodge
#1 of 1 in Garabito
304 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
822 reviews
8.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manga Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manga Rosa

Property: Hotel Manga Rosa
Address: Tarcoles road to Bijagual | 2.5 km towards Bijagual, Tarcoles, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tarcoles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarcoles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manga Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hills of the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, known for its lush mountain setting and commanding, the Mangarosa boutique hotel offers enchanting 180 degree views of the Pacific Ocean, tropical rain forest and the impressive Tarcoles river known for its exuberating wildlife and crocodile nesting.An intimate atmosphere and luxurious surroundings brimming with character and charm. The white washed complex of rooms offers magnificent views of the sunrise and junior suites with stunning sea views.Artfully designed to take advantage of both outdoor and indoor, the Mangarosa Boutique hotel includes:•6 suites•Open living pavilion•Two sun decks•Infinity pool with wet bar•Roof top solarium mini-spa•Gourmet Restaurant ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Manga Rosa Costa Rica/Tarcoles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing