We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Manor Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
US$99
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
US$126
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhead Hotel(Lockerbie)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
52
37
10
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
37
10
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaggisfriendly family run hotelfamily roomoff roadblack puddingstayed one nightfantastic foodevening mealkendumfrieslockerbiehostspub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My Secretary found this place on a Google search. Locals were very friendly and had a good evening. Food choices for dinner were excellent, free wifi, free parking. Enjoyed a full english breakfast.

Room Tip: Only stayed once but room was well furnished and on suite had everything I expected.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jocktee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

It's a shame this hotel has seen better days as the owners were very hospitable, but the overall impression was that it needs renovating. The bathroom had black mould around the toilet, window and above the shower, whilst there was wallpaper peeling from the ceiling and damp marks on the walls. I think I was the only guest staying and was kindly moved to a bigger room than the single I had booked, but this was above the bar where music was quite audible until 9.30 pm. Good points were the free WiFi (business trip so necessary), good choice of food on the menu and spacious rooms.
Sadly I won't be staying here again as I didn't feel it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopestobefair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Visited hotel on 4th July 2011 for meal. In summary very little meat in steak pie, carrots very undercooked; 'cottage pie' consisted of mince with overcooked peas in it and a dollop of mashed potato on top (thought maybe picked up the dogs dinner by mistake!!), accompanied by cold vegatables (my father who never complains simply couldn't eat it!) 'chicken fajita sizzler with salad' , too well sizzled, soggy peppers and onion, salad was tiny salad garnish; lasagne best of bad bunch however the person who ate it had an upset stomach a few hours later....maybe a coincidence!! Response from 'manager' and later owner, both right away 'well no-one else has complained' 'food must not be up to my standard' (obviously I must be the only one who expects food to be of edible standard!); ''no-one has complained before' .
So disappointingly I explained how about a year previously a steak was very reluctantly returned twice as very undercooked then half of it very over cooked!(turned out chef was off that night!!) only to be told we were serial complainers!! and that we were getting our money back and not to go back!! Extremely disappointing attitude and no apparent concern over quality of food. Must be great to be in position whereby trade can be turned away without any consideration at all to the merit of the complaint. And even if it was the very first complaint (which i doubt) what a way to handle it!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dawn040711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The name of the hotel and the prices dont refect on the place itself. The rooms are in serious need of decorating. Wallpaper hanging off, peeling paint, dirt and cobwebs, not to mention dirty carpets and alot of clutter. The ensuite was also in need of a good cleaning, mould and a definate foisty smell. The breakfasts are also poor value for money. You can stay at a major chain on hotels for almost half this price but get the standard you expect. I wont be going back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDC091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Even within its price range this was a very disappointing Hotel, the website promised much more than the Hotel delivers. we would advise a trip back to Dumfries and book into the Premier Inn. It has more charm and sophistication.

The Hotel itself can hardly carry the title Country House, which in todays market promises a degree of cleanliness, decor and charm, though the room was a good size and bed linen spotless the wallpaper was peeling and cobwebs were spotted.(Luckily my wife did not spot the large garden spider under the bed and this was a room on the first floor) The en suite was clean but needs a coat of paint and some cleaning to attack the mold and evidence of damp.

The downstairs area was ecletic and early 80's, shabby conservatory furniture, without a conservatory but with a lot of clutter. half used candles on windowsills and stuffed toys on the fireplace.

The food was also poor the menu was as though the cook had just discovered the blue dragon section of tescos and the number of dishes were too many for such a small establishment. We settled for a bar meal and noticed the specials were the same for the dining room and the bar. I had a chilli which was not nice, edible but not nice, the use of baked beans rather than kidney beans did not help the presentation or flavour.

The staff were very friendly but disinterested, the owners obsessionas as to what time we would be down for breakfast sparked hopes of a cooked to order feast.....no the full scottish had clearly been cooked to death prior to our waking up.

This is coloured by tummytrouble or Wallaces Revenge i got over the weekend now i have a cast iron stomach and though cannot say for sure the Hotel was to blame the only thing i ate different from my wife was the chilli and some dodgy mushrooms at breakfast.

A little effort would go a long way, decluttering and a more focussed menu. freshly cooked breakfast would raise the standard considerably.

£75 per room per night is not cheap unlike the feeling i got from the Hotel.

Room Tip: turnaound and head back to Dumfries
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews