We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
18
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Stayed here during the Open golf being as its only 30 mins away from Troon.

The owners where very nice without being overbearing in anyway, they where perfect hosts.

Clean, spacious room with lots of extras i wasn't expecting - sky sports tv, bottles of water,snacks,toothpaste,brush lots of different toiletries in case you forget your own.

continental breakfast was excellent.

cant ask for more out of a b and b and all for a very reasonable £60 per room per night.

thanks and well done on running such a great b/b!

rich and natacha.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank river12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Kirkmichael''s a lovely wee village and 1 Barganock Road is a first class place to stay. Lovely room, super clean and lots of nice extra touches you wouldn't normally expect. Plus great hospitality from Fiona and Malcolm. Any time we are back in the Kirkmichael area, I know where we'll be looking to stay.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank cmb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkmichaelpossum, Owner at One Barganock, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you very much for your great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Would really like to know the outcome of the chess tournament ???
We enjoyed meeting you very much and hope to see you again.
Best Wishes,
Malcolm and Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We travelled through from Motherwell to Kirkmichael on Sat 30th April for an evening wedding reception in Maybole. We arrived at 4pm and Fiona and Malcolm were waiting for us. What can I say about this lovely couple; friendly, inviting and welcoming. Fiona warmly showed us to our spacious twin room upstairs after asking if she could help us with our stuff. The room was beautiful and comfortable with a clean, bright en suite. My wife and I don't get the chance to get away all that often with a pre-schooler (who was spending the night with her gran) so we delighted in a few drinks as we watched Come Dine With Me in the room before going for dinner in the excellent local pub restaurant. Kirkmichael is a lovely, quiet place. Anyway, wedding reception was fun but we were soon back at the guest house sleeping in very comfortable beds. In the morning, Fiona laid out a beautiful breakfast selection of cereals, croissants, coffee, tea, fruit etc. We could've quite happily stayed and talked to her further. What a lovely person, and not at all judgemental about people who store tins of soup and custard in a Bosch dishwasher : )

If you're looking for a high-quality place to stay in Kirkmichael for an extremely reasonable price, look no further. Fiona and Malcolm are people who actually remember your name and look after you like you were family. 10/10 for One Barganock. I genuinely hope to return soon.

Room Tip: I doubt One Barganock has any rooms which aren't good. You can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian_Marcato_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkmichaelpossum, Owner at One Barganock, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you so much Ian for the review, we really enjoyed meeting you and Judith and we would be delighted to see you both again- with or without the little one- All the Best,
Malcolm and Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding we were at close by. The b&b was spotless, lovely setting and fiona was fantastic. She made us feel at home and put on a wonderful spread for breakfast. The room has lots of extras like tea and coffee in room, which was great and toiletries in the bathroom. Would highly recommend, will stay here again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

My husband and I have just returned for an overnight stay at one barganock and what a lovely wee find! Fiona and Malcolm are so nice and made us feel so welcome! Room are spotless and lots of wee goodies if you feel hungry! Breakfast was yummy and everything you can think of was put down for your enjoyment ! Would 100% recommend this hidden gem and will return in the future :) xxx

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 133jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews