We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$99
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Bridge Motor Inn(Woombye)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Coast Motor Lodge(Woombye)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maroochy River Motel(Maroochydore)
US$68
US$66
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Pacific Paradise Motel(Pacific Paradise)
US$74
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wunpalm Motel & Holiday Cabins(Maroochydore)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Coast Airport Motel(Marcoola)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pacific Palms Motor Inn(Marcoola)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,390)
Filter reviews
3,390 results
Traveller rating
781
1,367
782
305
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
781
1,367
782
305
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood buffetwater activitieskids clubaqua parkking suitefree activitiesmain restaurantkids activitieslagoon viewsunshine coastgreat for familiesschool holidayssurf beachaqua bargames roommini golfnouveau restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,539 - 1,544 of 3,390 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This visit was for a workshop and I've also been here for an extended six-day Residential. It's an ideal location to get busy people away from their busy workplaces and into a mood more conducive to strategic thought and contemplation. Ironically, perhaps, it's also a great place for families to relax, play and have lots of outdoor fun. The design facilitates both activities without them interfering with each other.
My only negative is the over-priced restaurants, including the breakfast buffet. There are times when you just want a healthy snack or light meal (morning or night) but the catering and pricing assumes you want to consume big meals wall to wall throughout your stay. There should always be a "lite" option at all mealtimes.

Room Tip: The website is quite specific. If you want a view of the lagoon, it will cost more. If you want kitchen facility, it will cost more. Both options are worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaringaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMtwinwaters, General Manager at Novotel Twin Waters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Taringatravellers,

Thank you for taking time to share feedback from both your conference visit and you leisure visit to Novotel Twin Waters resort.

I note you feedback in regards to the breakfast offers and please be assured that I have shared these with our executive Chef accordingly, thank you again for this feedback.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back on you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed there for a couple of nights and lived in a suite in one of the buildings that is the furthest from the reception and activities. However, the small kitchen, living room with terrace, sleeping room and spacious bathroom with jacuzzi were great. Everything seems to be a little bit worn, but it was still good. One early morning, we even had an encounter with 2 wallabies in front of our terrace. We couldn't find any safe in the room. That would be perfect for the next time.

The location is superb with an own lagoon and the ocean just a 5-15min walk (dependent on where your room is). We would recommend a beach walk from the hotel to the next small town called Mudjimba (30min one way). Right behind the beach are small and cute cafes and shops.

From the airport it is only 15min by taxi. If you want to go somewhere else, you need a car or taxi. Local transport takes ages to go only short distances.

The staff (reception, housekeeping, bar, restaurant, activities) was very friendly and except for one situation helpful. There is a lot of information to digest at check in with the explanations of the wrist bands, activities, opening hours of the food outlets and so on.

The lagoon is perfect to swim, kayak, paddle board or to navigate the catamaran. The 20min interval for usage is fair to everyone. Almost everything is included. They charged us for paddle board, as they just renewed them. There are so many more activities to do such as Segway, archery, biking etc. The gym is small and clean with the view off the lagoon.

Unfortunately, you can't deposit your valuables at the activity centre whilst you are in the water. My recommendation: Always have someone who is at the beach or don't take anything with you. Even at the reception they first wanted to reject our request, but finally stored something for a couple of hours. Also wear a t-shirt under the safety vest, unless you like the sweat of the previous person on your skin.

The bar is nicely designed and has limited space, if it is really crowded. The food was good and came quickly. It was irritating to watch cage fighting on one TV whilst the other showed Ice Age for the kids who were around. The imbiss is quite pricy, but if you are dependent on the hotel food service than you don't have another option. The restaurant would be even more expensive. The cafe with its small shop is ideal to purchase a bottle of wine, beer or snacks, in case you don't want to drive to the next Coles. That convenience costs you more. The breakfast buffet had a great choice and one barrista drink was included. After that you can use the self service machine. The food was fresh and the atmosphere was relaxed.

Try to get a good online deal for the room price. Apart from that, we would go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Y_and_M12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMtwinwaters, General Manager at Novotel Twin Waters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Y_and_M12

Thank you for shared such detail feedback from you stay at Novotel Twin Waters.

It is great to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you would defiantly return again for another visit.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed there for a family wedding. Definitely not a hotel to go away for a romantic weekend. Would be a great family holiday location, plenty of activities to keep the kids occupied.
Had a meal at the Aqua lounge, my steak was nice, thought a friend had Lamb Cutlets, and only 1 lamb cutlet came out, Definitely not worth the price, as its advertised in the menu.
The breakfast buffet is well laid out, even with the large amount of people in there, there was enough room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennethBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMtwinwaters, General Manager at Novotel Twin Waters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Kennithbrisbane,

Thanks you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I note that overall, you enjoyed your time at the resort whilst you were attending a family wedding.

Please be assured that I have shared your comments with the kitchen team in regards to the food portions in the Aqua bar, thank you again for this feedback.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This time having returned to Novotel Twin Waters, I was pleasantly surprised that the services (in general) have improved since my previous stay in late 2013.

Check-in was quick - Jessica was friendly and helpful. As Accor Gold member, I was upgraded to the next 'level' room upon request - but it wasn't as I had expected. I was upgraded to a lake-facing room, but the view was blocked by palm trees and other vegetation - so it was not as "desirable" as I expected it to be - for an Accor Gold member.

With no direct implications to this Novotel - unfortunately Accor membership hasn't quite delivered up to expectation compared with Hilton Honors - where they treat their members of higher tiers much (x3) better than Accor. My recent poor experience was with Mercure in Paris whilst as an Accor Gold member.

Room (and toilet) was clean, bed itself was comfy; however have two quibbles with the room. First, the TV had poor reception, i.e. picture was not sharp/clean, with the occasional static, free-to-air channels such as the ABC was not available - or perhaps not programmed into this TV unit. Second, this point relates to cleanliness in not-usually-seen areas: As am item of mine had rolled under the bed, I had to move the bed to retrieve it. Unfortunately the area under the bed was filthy which highlighted that the hotel didn't bother with regularly cleaning under the bed.

This time round, the swimming pool was clean and inviting, compared with previous experience where the pool was sandy where ever one stepped. Similarly the outdoor spa was clean and well maintained. Also staff at Activity Central were more polite, friendly and took time to explain the use of equipment, e.g. kayak; compared with previous experience of rudeness and "don't get me into trouble if you don't know how to use the equipment" attitude.

I was pleasantly surprised during dinner buffet - waiting staff were pleasant and served with a smile, or at least, without a "long" face. There was a wider variety of food, fruits were fresh, fish well cooked and fresh, desserts were tasty also. My favourite dessert of the night was the African pancakes with caramel/butterscotch sauce. Yummy!

Check-out was also a breeze, with reception staff kindly asking if I enjoyed my stay (all in all - of course!). The night before, upon request, I was granted a later-check out time of 12 noon, which was appreciated.

If Novotel continues on this pathway of improved services and takes into consideration guests comments of how to improve, it is definitely a resort to visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfVau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMtwinwaters, General Manager at Novotel Twin Waters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear ProfVau,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your return stay with us and thank you for being an Accor Gold Member.

I am pleased to see that we were able to fulfil your requirements o this visit and that that you found the overall product of the resort has improved since you last stayed with us in regards to the resort as well as the Food and beverage offerings.

It is also pleasing to see that the staff in all areas was friendly and professional in your dealings with them, i look forward to sharing your positive feedback with them personally.

Please accept my apologies for the apparent failings in the finer detail cleaning in your rooms as commented on; please be assured that I have already shared this feedback with our executive Housekeeper and her team to ensure that this is an area of focus.

Profvau, it is great to see that you are hoping to visit us again in the future and the team looks forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Novotel are generally known for their city centre hotels with potentially quirky design flourishes, so I was interested to see how they managed a resort property. There is clearly a conference focus to this hotel.

Twin Waters is a great location for the Sunshine Coast, about 1 hour 15 minutes from Brisbane airport, or 10 minutes from the Sunshine Coast airport. It is about 40 minutes from Noosa, and 10 minutes from Maroochydore. The property is 5 minutes from the dual carriageway: a car is absolutely essential as there is no public transport anywhere nearby; Twin Waters itself has a large Coles supermarket.

The Novotel resort is 22 years old and was built at a time when the architects favoured having a central area with the restaurant/bar/swimming pool, with around 5 quadrangles of two-storey room accommodations adjacent to this central area. The rooms look out onto the lagoon. Touchingly, in my quadrangle, a kangaroo family “lived” – it was a bit startling initially to see them hopping around, but they became a familiar and delightful sight.

The room was clean and spacious, with an emphasis on the functional rather than luxurious. See photos of the bedroom area, sitting room and kitchenette. A good sized fridge, plus microwave were very useful, with kettle, tea/coffee and a toaster. You could have a snack on the patio area (or verandah if on first floor) to enjoy the setting and warmth; it was very quiet. The main omissions were not having in room wifi capability (wifi only operated in the central lobby area, which was a bit of a pain), plus no in room safe; the cheap blue plastic waste bin slightly pulled down the general tone. The beach was wonderful, about a 10 minute walk through the resort. There are free apples in the lobby, but the lobby shop charges a small fortune eg $5.80 for a 1.25 l diet coke, compared to $2 in the supermarket. The front desk staff were delightful.

I would very much indeed like to stay here again, although hope that Novotel might consider introducing some of their design flourishes to stamp their brand on the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMtwinwaters, General Manager at Novotel Twin Waters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Airlineconsultant,

Thank you for sharing such detailed feedback regarding your recent stay and your 5 star rating of Novotel Twin Waters Resort.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that you found our front desk staff delightful in your dealing with them.

It is also pleasing to see that you are looking forward to a return visit.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back on you next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews