We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rinaudhayasingh
Immensee, Switzerland

Tropical Island Paradise

Review of Como Maalifushi
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Feb 2017
The quiet sprawling island was a rejuvenating treat and cycling around the island was nostalgic; our villa, modern and amazing with gorgeous sunset views.

Heartfelt thanks to the F&B manager Maria for her excellent service with a very personal touch and chef Muthu for Michelin star cuisine, the pair out did our expectations.

Had the time of our lives snorkelling in the house reef and ocean blues, thanks to Lisa and Izzy we have some very precious memories and are already planning our next snorkelling adventure!

Suman from reservations gave us the best double destination offer for COMO Cocoa and Maalifushi that we cant wait to return to the Maldives, a tropical paradise.
Date of stay: January 2017
Room Tip: Over Water villas 402 and 404 have the best Sunset views
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pietro A, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this review
Responded 18 Feb 2017
Dear Rinaudhayasingh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at COMO Maalifushi.

We are extremely happy to read that you enjoyed the island, especially the cycling, the villa, the sunset views and snorkelling on the house reef.

Thank you for your comments on Maria, Muthu, Lisa, Izzy and Suman - I have passed this onto them and hearing this encourages them to keep doing what they are doing.

We very much hope that you return to COMO Maalifushi in the future.

Best

Pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveller rating
716
54
8
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
716
54
8
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water sports water villa japanese restaurant fish uninhabited island our honeymoon kids club private pool special thanks male airport attention to detail sea plane marine life main restaurant dolphin cruise madi restaurant the general manager
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Simply amazing. Impossible to think what could have been better except more time there. The reef is fantastic, and you can spend hours there alone but then so is the food and the service. We had a night with whale sharks that was unforgettable.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 871mikhailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pietro A, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Dear MikhailZ,

Thank you for reviewing COMO Maalifushi, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here so much!

It is great to read that you enjoyed the coral reefs, our food and our service and yes the night snorkelling with whale sharks is a unique and unforgettable experience.

We do hope that you return again in the future.

Warm wishes

Pietro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

This is a truly beautiful property and the Maldives have quite a few properties that can boast this. This was special because of the Manager, Rico and his care plus eye for detail. Due to leg problem I had difficulty getting in and out of my overwater villa, when Rico asked if everything was OK I mentioned this. With a couple of hours he had his
engineer and carpenters build an addition to the stairs which made my life perfect!
Hospitality plus.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank judi291
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pietro A, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Dear Judi291.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on COMO Maalifushi and it was a great pleasure to have you stay with us in our beautiful property.

Thank you for your special mention of Rico, he is very chuffed to see this review!

We very much hope to welcome you back to COMO Maalifushi one day.

Warm wishes

Pietro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We stayed in COMO Maalifushi with our three year old in January 2017. It took two long haul flights (Manchester, Dubai, Male) ending with the 50 minute seaplane to get to the Island. The seaplane was not a great experience but I would do it again to get to Maalifushi. The Island is beautiful with stunning picture perfect sandy beaches. The resort website pictures have not been exaggerated.

The initial welcome was warm, professional, efficient and very welcoming. Having traveled so far we were slightly disappointment our Villa was not ready on arrival. We soon got over this whilst enjoying lunch and our Villa was ready by the time we finished. There are three ways of getting round the Island. You can walk, ride a bike or get a buggy. You can get from one end of the Island to the other in less than five minutes on a bike. The bikes are a nice touch.

Having a three year old meant we were not comfortable booking a water villa so opted for a Beach Villa. But, we discovered on arrival the resort can install child safety barriers on the Water Villas so we could have booked one. Regardless our Beach Villa was not disappointing. We had a private wooden gate leading to a small paved outside entrance area. Inside were two spacious, simple yet beautifully decorated rooms, a dressing room and large modern bathroom suit with separate toilet and large walk in shower. The bedroom and bathroom had floor to ceiling glass windows and doors. The bedroom overlooked the outdoor private pool and terraced area which had complete privacy due to the islands natural foliage. Outside we had a private pool, patio dining area, two sun loungers, a king size lounging area and private walkway to the beach. On the beach were two further private sun loungers. The Wifi connectivity throughout the resort was very good.

There are three restaurants on the Island and without hesitation our favourite was the the Japanese. I would recommend the miso soup, medium chefs sushi selection, nigiri, wagu beef, teriyaki chicken and tempura prawns. We ate at the Japanese restaurant every evening we went out. It was just too good not to. The restaurant is position on stilts above the sea with beautiful views. You have the option of sitting inside or outside. We choose to sit outside on the upper deck by the bar. Great position in our opinion. The breakfast selection was also very good ranging from freshly prepared meals, the usual fruit selection and patisseries. You must try the jam doughnuts. Again the view overlooking the pool and beach was stunning. We ate lunch at the pool restaurant and the hotel offers a very good lunch menu. I would recommend the oysters, wagu burger, chicken wrap and lobster roll. The only lunch menu option I would avoid is the squid. It was overdone and not great. In my humble opinion you know you are on to a good start when a resort has its own vegetable garden and doesn't ship everything in. As wonderful as all the food was (including room service) one of the two things that most impressed me was the hotels ability to accommodate all our food requests for our fussy three year old. The hotel also went as far as providing a freshly cooked packed lunch breakfast to take on our flight home for our daughter. They made anything and everything we asked for including food that was not on any of the menus. They also had one of the best baby food/weaning menus I have seen at a resort. The menu had a great selection of freshly cooked and puréed/mashed/crushed baby food. Nothing seemed too much to ask. Simply excellent.

With the exception of a couple of hick ups the service was very good. I should not have been surprised following their quick response to my query on Trip Advisor prior to booking. Maria, Boji, Arun, Hamdhoon, Inaz (room service), Huxxan (house keeping) and a number of other staff went out of their way to ensure we received the most professional and friendly service. The pool service was a little hit and miss however if V. Hatti was working then you knew you wouldn't need to wait or chase anyone down to order drinks. Some of the other pool staff could really take a leaf out of his book. Another small disappointment was the way bottled water was served by the pool. It was never served in an ice bucket. This meant drinking warm water which wasn't great. Maybe something the hotel could consider changing. But I am sure if we had asked they would have accommodated this.

The Spa is definitely worth a visit. The facilities are beautiful with the usual gym, sauna etc. facilities. My husband had a Thai massage and I had a deep tissue massage. It's one of the best deep tissue massages I have had. The therapists were both excellent. The therapy room was beautifully relaxing with beautiful views overlooking the water.

When choosing which resort to book, one of the most important factors was access to a good kids club. Maalifushi kids club came highly recommended by our agent and she wasn't wrong. This was our first experience of leaving our three year old in a kids club for a few hours. We were not disappointed. The kids club had a great selection of indoor toys, they also had an outdoor playground with a slide, swings, climbing frames and a mini football pitch. The staff were excellent and ran a weekly play activity schedule encompassing a wide range of fun and educational activities. Our daughter particularly enjoyed the sushi/pizza classes, children's yoga, treasure hunt, junior marine biology, kite making/flying amongst other things. She enjoyed it so much we had to tell her kids club was closed in the mornings otherwise we would not have seen her. For the first time she cried when she realised the holiday was over and we were going home. The resort allows you to leave children 4 years old and above without a parent/guardian/baby sitter. Children under 4 years old would require adult supervision however you can hire a baby sitter for $15 (US) an hour. We requested the same baby sister every afternoon and on the evenings we ate out. Vicky (kids club manager) was excellent and organised everything. Again, nothing was too much to ask. We would highly recommend Mayla as a baby sitter. She baby sat for us all week (in kids club and evenings). All the kids seemed to really like her and we thought she was wonderful with our daughter. In fact all the resort staff we came into contact with seemed extremely child friendly.

Finally an unfortunate incident occurred involving one member of staff. This could have ruined our entire stay had it not been for the way the Maalifushi management team handled it. They were efficient, considered and empathetic to our concerns which we really appreciated. They went out of their way and made every effort to resolve the issue quickly and to all our satisfaction. This resort and the entire team are completely focussed on ensuring your stay is wonderful and memorable.

This hotel is extremely value for money and I would recommend it to anyone (families, couples and honeymooners) looking to book a Maldivian holiday. It's a beautiful resort with staff that genuinely want to do all they can to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Thank you to all at Maalifushi. We had a wonderful time.

Room tip: The Water Villas offer child safety barriers and have the best views
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 32tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pietro A, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Tracy32,

Thank you taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of COMO Maalifushi, it is hugely appreciated!

We are delighted to read that you received a warm welcome and enjoyed our spacious Beach Villas. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the food so much, especially Tai, our Japanese restaurant and I am especially happy to read that we catered to all your little one’s food requests.

Fantastic to hear that you felt our service was very good, if you feel that I could benefit about hearing what the hiccups were, please do email me on pietro.addis@comohotels.com.

Thank you for the constructive comments on the pool service, we are looking into this.

Thank you for your great feedback on the Spa and Play by COMO, I will ensure that this and all of your other feedback is communicated with the team.

We very much do hope to see you again at COMO Maalifushi.

Warm regards

Pietro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

A great place to be for a memorable Maldives experience. High quality team lead by Pietro (GM) and Rico (Hotel Manager) with home-away-from-home hospitality. Food offered at at 2 F&B outlets were of extreme standard. Highly recommend this place if you're in for a chill and relaxing break with great hospitality, and looking for a place which offer a good balance of guests from different nationalities.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AgnesC1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pietro A, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Dear Agnes C,

Thank you for your review of COMO Maalifushi. Both myself and Rico loved having you on the island and are thrilled that you enjoyed our hospitality.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our food, relaxed atmosphere and hospitality.

We very much hope to welcome you back to COMO Maalifushi in the future.

Warm regards

Pietro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

It's our second time to Maldives so there is some form of comparison, we stayed at Park Hyatt the first time. Actual rating for como maalifushi is 4.5 stars, almost perfect, but some small/ minor flaws that is not much an issue.

The fabulous:
The water suite is beautiful (simple decor that suits us) and spacious. Amazing view from our suit. Air con is strong enough to cool us down and the pavilion with sun beds is great for watching sun sets.

The resort grounds are kept well, and bicycles are provided for traveling from the water villas to the main area.

The shared pool is also amazing, partially shaded if u want to enjoy the view without too much sun.

The whole place has a chill vibe and decor is understated minimalist, which suits us perfectly.

The sea around the resort is pretty shallow so it's really good for swimming and for kids.

The transfer from/to male airport to the seaplane lounge and the seaplane, with the 5 min speed boat to the resort was seamless.

The not so great:
Service can be patchy in some instances, not a big issue though:

1. A couple of requests that we made through the phone were forgotten and we had to call again to check on the status after some time, ranging from half an hour to overnight

I think the problem is because there is no specific butler assigned to your villa which may result in such service lapses.

2. The Maldivian buffet spread which costs usd120 per pax can be improved, too little variety - 5 curries and a few types of condiment. Skip it.

3. Snorkeling is not so good compared to park Hyatt. Most of their corals died in April due to global warming. Also, the waters are mostly too shallow at the maalifushi garden reef to snorkel.

Tips:
1. Have breakfast delivered to your villa, amazing breakfast view.

2. Food and view at Tai, the jap restaurant is great. Reserve early.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank woofwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pietro A, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear wolfwolf,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and also for your kind and constructive comments.

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed the Water Suite, resort grounds, main pool, relaxed vibe, sea and transfers.

Thank you for your feedback on the front desk service - we are actually looking at either a personal butler or personal assistant system at the moment to ensure seamless communication and this will be introduced in the first quarter of 2017.

We are also changing the Maldivian evening to a coastal South Asian evening to include Sri Lankan, Goan, Keralan and Tamil food as there is not enough variety (as you have pointed out) here in this small archipelago.

And yes unfortunately, last April's bleaching (the worst on record) killed 90% of the soft corals in the Maldives affecting the whole archipelago. We are pleased to see the reefs beginning to recover, though it will take some time sadly.

We do hope that you visit COMO Maalifushi again.

Warm regards

Pietro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews