We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nasser N

Fantastic Island Getaway

Review of Como Maalifushi
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
What an amazing island property, beautiful in every aspect, pristine waters and house reef. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Our butler was Jaleel, he pampered us and made sure all our needs and desires were met. A great touch is that once we arrived the GM was their to greet us. The food was delicious every time and it was clean healthy food. I would not even bother trying another resort in the maldives and they have set such a high bar for all our future vacations. The kids club is adorable and the ladies taking care of the kids there were wonderful. The only comment I would give as that the prices on the menu should include tax to avoid surprises.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohamed Sobah, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Nasser N,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing experience at our island property. Your kind words about our beautiful surroundings, pristine waters, and house reef mean a lot to us.

We are delighted that our staff, especially Jaleel, made your stay memorable with exceptional service. It is fantastic to know that you enjoyed the delicious and healthy food we offer.

We are also glad that your children had a great time at Play by COMO and that the care provided by our team there exceeded your expectations.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the menu prices and tax. We will certainly take this into consideration and review with our team.

Thank you again for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort for another wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Sobah
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveller rating
716
54
8
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
716
54
8
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water sports water villa japanese restaurant fish uninhabited island our honeymoon kids club private pool special thanks male airport attention to detail sea plane marine life main restaurant dolphin cruise madi restaurant the general manager
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wow, we are lost for words! Everything from A-Z was just perfect. The warmth and attentiveness of the service, the huge and well-equipped rooms (water suite), the perfectly organized excursions, the cleanliness, the beach, etc. The island is rather small and very quiet.

We have rarely eaten such delicious food. Everything is freshly prepared, from breakfast to BBQ, catch of the day, dessert, etc. It's hard to beat, we will come back to see Como Maalifuhsi as soon as possible

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohamed Sobah, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear 328momom,

Thank you immensely for sharing your experience at COMO Maalifushi. We are thrilled that every aspect of your stay, from our warm and attentive service to the spacious and well-appointed water suites, exceeded your expectations.

We are delighted that you found our freshly prepared meals to be delicious and it warms our hearts to hear that you enjoyed the perfectly organised excursions, the pristine cleanliness, and the serene beach setting.

Together with the team, We cannot wait to welcome you back for another unforgettable experience

Sincerely,

Sobah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2024

We went to Maalifushi 10 years ago when it first opened and have been thinking about going back ever since. It's always a risk to go back to somewhere from such a long time ago, that you have such incredible memories from, as things could have changed. Incredibly Maalifushi is even better now than it was 10 years ago.

The Water Suites are amazing for their size and quality and the view. However this is one of those rare places where there is no such thing as a bad room.
The food was a stand out memory from a decade ago and was every bit as delicious this time.
The island itself is beautiful and better in real life than the photos.
The house reef and snorkelling provided daily encounters with turtles, sharks, rays and a huge variety of fish, all within very easy each.

From riding bicycles around the island, to the spa, to the kids club, the gym, the turtle and dolphin tours, it was all relaxed perfection. So good that we extended our stay.
Getting there and back was easy due to the seaplane from Male.

I wish I could remember more of the names of the Maalifushi team but the service from people like Opal, Citti, Anne, Putri, Liu, Rini and many others was flawless. All credit to Sobah and his team. They are onto something really special here.

It doesn't get any better than this. We hope to be back very soon.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohamed Sobah, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

Dear Kevin R,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at COMO Maalifushi. It is truly heartwarming to hear that your return after a decade surpassed your incredible memories. From the breathtaking Water Suites to the mouthwatering cuisine and the abundance of marine life, it sounds like every aspect of your stay was pure bliss.

It is fantastic to know that the island itself exceeded expectations and that the activities, from snorkeling to COMO Shambala treatments, provided endless relaxation and adventure. The attentive service offered by the team: Opal, Citti, Anne, Putri, Liu, Rini, and others, undoubtedly added to the overall experience.

Thank you for highlighting what makes COMO Maalifushi unique and special.

Together with the team, We cannot wait to welcome you back for another unforgettable experience

Sincerely,

Sobah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2024 via mobile

We stayed at Como Maalifushi in early April, as a family of three in a water villa.

From the moment we stepped in to the arrival hall at Male airport, to the moment we were seen through the departure security back at the airport, this holiday was perfect in every way.

This will be a short review as our experience of everything was the same - amazing.

Rooms - the water villas are huge, beautifully appointed, and to have steps down to the reef and your own infinity pool is an unrivalled luxury.

Food - we ate at both Madi and Tai on about an equal amount of occasions. The food is consistently excellent and really enjoyed indulging in the many forms of locally caught fish. Options for kids are great, and the staff are delightful. If I had one slight quibble, the optional dinner buffet available on some seemed felt a little lacking in value. We stuck to the a la carte menus as there was so many amazing options to work through.

Being half-board we only had breakfast and dinner each day, which was absolutely plenty for us.

The Island - just beautiful, paradise. Well kept grounds, an excellent house reef, complimented by stylish but low key architecture.

Finally, the kids club was great - kind and welcoming staff with many scheduled activities, or happy to welcome unscheduled arrivals for a short change of scenery (or if Mum and Dad have popped off diving). Speaking of which, the dive shop is great, and we were superbly looked after on a well appointed dive boat. The diving was excellent.

This was the best holiday we’ve ever been on. Thank you Como Maalifushi - you were perfect in every way.

Room tip: We were pleased to go for a villa over a suite - just a bit of extra space for a family of three, &the water villas face west so get sunset
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohamed Sobah, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

Dear Brendan H,

Thank you for sharing your remarkable experience at COMO Maalifushi. We are thrilled to hear that every moment of your stay was flawless, from arrival to departure. It is fantastic that you found our water villas luxurious and spacious, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the delicious culinary offerings at Madi and Tai Restaurant.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the dinner buffet and will certainly take it into consideration. It is wonderful to know that you had a great time exploring the island and that the Play by COMO and Marine Sports Center exceeded your expectations.

Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we are honored to have been a part of your holiday.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to our little slice of paradise at COMO Maalifushi

Sincerely,

Sobah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2024

We were delighted with the Como Maalifuhi
notel. We liked everything. The stay in the villa, the food, the service at the proper level. We would Iike to express special gratitude to our butler Citti, she was always in touch and fulfilled all our
wishes, keeping a certain intrigue. We would also like to note the high professionalism and care for
guests of the restaurant staff and especially the waiter Putri. Particularly unforgettable was the birthday we celebrated on a private island, with
the bonus of a delicious lunch and birthday cake.
This is an unforgettable experience! We dream of visiting this wonderful hotel again.

Igor and Yelena
Kazakhstan

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Igor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohamed Sobah, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Dear Igor Z,

Thank you for sharing your delightful experience at COMO Maalifushi. We are delighted to hear that you found every aspect of your stay enjoyable, from the villa accommodations to our dining experiences.

It is wonderful to know that Citti, your butler, went above and beyond to provide attentive service, adding an element of excitement to your time with us. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding the professionalism and care provided by our Food and Beverage Team, especially Putri. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to them.

We are honored to have been a part of your birthday celebration and we cannot wait to welcome you back for more magical moments.

Sincerely,

Sobah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2024

My husband and I stayed at Como Maalifushi for our honeymoon and had the most magical time.

The overwater villas were luxurious, spacious, and beautiful. We spent a lot of our time on our back porch swimming in our private pool and exploring the ocean off our back deck. The food and drinks were also spectacular - high quality with many options.

While we filled our schedule with a lot of the water activities offered by the resort - surfing, snorkeling adventures, paddle boarding, etc. We ended up spending a lot of our time scuba diving after getting to experience all the amazing sea life we were able to see at the various reefs around the hotel. Their dive instructor Patrik assisted us in all seven of our dives and helped us complete our PADI Advanced Open Water certification. Patrik was a ton of fun to work with and clearly had a debt of knowledge as he guided us through various skills including underwater navigation, deep diving, drift diving, peak performance buoyancy, night diving, and others! Each dive quickly became the best dive of our lives. An amazing experience we would highly highly recommend to others!

Como Maalifushi was a perfect resort and ideal location to spend our honeymoon. We will definitely be back!!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohamed Sobah, General Manager at Como Maalifushi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Dear Chelsea L,

Thank you for sharing such a breathtaking experience from your honeymoon at COMO Maalifushi. We are thrilled to hear that our overwater villas provided the perfect luxurious sanctuary for your romantic getaway and that you enjoyed the spaciousness and beauty they offered.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the magnificent culinary offerings and beverages during your stay, ensuring that every aspect of your experience was exceptional. Your adventurous spirit truly made your stay memorable, especially with scuba diving being a standout moment. We aim to provide exceptional experiences, and it is fantastic to hear that we succeeded in doing so for you. We are glad that Patrik, our dive instructor, made your dives unforgettable with his expertise and infectious enthusiasm.

We are honored to have been a part of your honeymoon memories and we cannot wait to welcome you back for more magical moments – hopefully for your anniversary.

Sincerely,

Sobah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews