We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mystic River Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$659
US$449
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
US$93
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
US$62
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Clarissa Falls Resort(San Jose Succotz)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicool Hotel(San Ignacio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Mariposa Jungle Lodge(San Antonio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveller rating
685
49
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
49
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsben cruzpalapa baratm cavemayan ruinshorseback ridingevery morningyoga deckgoat cheesezip liningdaily specialson siteour honeymoonpacked lunchowners and staffthe open air restaurantsan pedrowonderful hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 748 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We recently stayed at Mystic River to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary. We were very excited after reading the reviews on trip advisor. The place is wonderful and pretty much everything described. There were a few KEY things I wish someone had mentioned before going to better prepare me for my trip. If money is not an issue with you, then skip over

Pros:
This place is literally in the middle of the jungle. It is a 2 hour van ride from the main city. You need to arrange transport before (prepare to spend at least 150.00 USD ONE way with the resort) The rooms are wonderful! Beautiful mahogany is everywhere. Every room has a patio overlooking the river. The staff is AMAZING! Ben is absolutely the best tour guide we have ever had and Leo is wonderful at the bar! If you love animals you are set. They have dogs, horses, goats, chickens... you name it and they have it. We flew in after in was raining and the roads were a bit torn up, but Ben took us out on the Polaris and we had a BLAST! Make sure you explore the caves with Ben. He is so knowledgable about Belize and has such a passion for what he does.

Cons:
1. Since the resort is in the middle of the jungle, there are no other restaurants to go to. Your only option is to eat at the restaurant. While the food is wonderful, it is not cheap. Prepare to spend around 100.00 per day in food.
2. If you get bored easily and don't want to stay around the resort, there are a million things to do. But prepare yourself these aren't cheap. Every excursion with the resort starts around 125.00 US dollars PER person. While Ben is worth every penny, if you are staying more then 2-3 days, this adds up. We have traveled some out of the country and 125.00 per PERSON, per excursion is pretty high. Even using the resorts canoe is 50.00 (never been to a resort where they charge you for a canoe). If you love bird watching, you are set, and it is free

The resort is wonderful and we had a good time. Just pack a few extra 100.00's and you will be set!

Room Tip: The cottages are great! You can't go wrong
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Hello Ashley,
It truly was a pleasure and an honour to have you come spend some time with us recently. I am sorry to read that you felt trapped at Mystic River Resort because we are always more than happy to give our guests a ride to town should they decide to try something different. All you have to do is ask! Our tour prices are not expensive compared to everyone around here. All our equipment is new and well maintained and unfortunately there is always a cost associated with that! We always give discounts and I always encourage our guests to take a package which is much more advantageous for them. Let me know if you have any other questions. I thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Take care and have a wonderful day.
Nadege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in late October with our 2 young (and wild) sons (ages 2 and 4) and our Au Pair (we booked 2 cottages) and we had an amazing time. The resort is beautiful and private. You are deep in the jungle and it feels that way except that you get to stay in a luxury truly ecological resort with every necessary convenience including a gourmet restaurant (and I am a New York food snob), an awesome bar, daily morning coffee (and milk for our boys) delivery, daily laundry service (for a reasonable fee). Everything is designed in such a way that you are surrounded by folliage, flowers, unique trees/plants, and everything overlooks the river. Nadege arranged our trip so that it was child appropriate and my children had the time of their lives! We went to the zoo, the Iguana reserve, the butterfly farm, Xunantunich and Cahal Pech, a traditional Saturday market place, hiking (on one of the resorts myriad trails) and the zip line. I got a massage at the spa and my children splashed around in the "baby" type pool (which looks like a large pretty spa fountain). There's also a yoga theater stage that overlooks the river with hammock swings at which we all spent some time hanging out, dogs, chickens, horses, and parrots. Unfortunately, we got rained out of the caves and couldn't go tubing (river too high and crazy) but nonetheless we had so much to do there wasn't any unused time. The drivers were all wonderful (prepare for bumpy roads) and were a great source of Belize information (cultural and historical).
I'd like to point out a few things for people using this site for info (as I did before we booked):
1. I'm phobic of mosquitos and I did end up with a few bites (it was rainy season). But there are no mosquitos in the rooms because they are incredilby well built with screens everywhere. Also, somehow, you don't notice the mosquitos which is actually quite nice for a person who is scared. We all had a few bites that itched for a few days and then healed...not a big deal. We didn't use repellant.
2. The water is completely safe to drink which is important to know for parents with young children. It's no fun to go somewhere with children in diapers if they are going to get diarrhea (and then a horrible diaper rash)...this happened to us in a nice resort in the Dominican Republic but not here!
3. Wifi can only be had in the restaurant and bar and they don't have enough data for streaming (we could download email, the NYT app, and the FB app but that's it). We talked to Tom and Nadege about this. Apparently, the price to get more data is just too much and while I do understand this, it makes it difficult for internet addicts such as us! I'd definitely encourage Nadege and Tom to keep investigating this.

Thank you for such a wonderful and memorable trip!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a great time at Mystic River. The owners are fantastic and go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are beautiful and private, overlooking the river.

The food is fantastic, particularly as much of it is harvested on site. They even make their own goat cheese.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hersh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We absolutely loved this place! The owners and staff made us feel like family. The rooms, which are nestled in the jungle with well manicured walkways, are free standing with fireplaces and private patios. The view from our patio was amazing with the Macal River below and so many different birds and wildlife to watch. We loved spending early mornings lounging on the patio with our coffee and OJ that would be waiting for us outside the door. Thereafter it was breakfast in the covered, open air restaurant which also had a magnificent view of the river, and great food. Spending evenings in the palapa bar with the owners and other guests was a great way to end the day. This resort has numerous hiking trails and areas of natural old growth jungle that escaped earlier logging. Having Tom as our guide to point out the various types of trees and plants was wonderful. Yes, we may be city slickers from Orange County, California, but we would gladly give up the Disneyland resort for Mystic River! Thanks Tom and Nadege, we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. Tom and I are so happy your time with us was great and we look forward to having you come back again in the future. Take care and have a wonderful day.
Nadege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Have to give credit to our travel agent who booked Mystic River for us; however, it would have been nice if she had told us that it was a 2 hour ride to the resort. At first we were apprehensive about traveling another 2 hours by car, but we are here to tell you the resort was worth every minute it took to get there. The resort's accommodations, tranquility, food and service are second to none. Who knew you could have a top rate resort in the middle of the jungle! Wished we could have stayed longer. Guess we will just have to go back!

Room Tip: Any room is perfect!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello. "Wish we could have stayed longer" that is one of the most popular phrase our guests use when they leave us! We are thinking of having a T-shirt printed that would say just that! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We hope to see you again in the future! Take care and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews